We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
126
132
26
13
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
132
26
13
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar dining room walking distance breakfast and dinner south coast reception staff saga rep lovely hotel family holiday a la carte menu service was excellent beautiful location sea view nature reserve indian ocean clean towels out of this world
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Worst hotel experience of my life . The barmen are so unfriendly . The gull 1 room outside door is broken . Very bad roomsevice . Overall the worst place . They only run after the overseas guests and don't worry about our locals that pay the levys. They have big groups of people coming in and literally take over the place that we can't even enjoy a drink at the pool. Stay away!!!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jacques d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Jacques

Fortunately I will not be negatively affected by your comments about the Blue Marlin because I know that the number of positive comments received far exceeds the rating of 1 which you gave us. To indicate the inaccuracy of your rant, we only had 3 overseas guests in house, the door of Gull 1 is NOT broken, a cover to the locking mechanism has fallen off, and we do not have unfriendly barmen.
Paying your levy does not entitle you to superior service as all of our guests receive the same service treatment.
If you have another look at TripAdvisor you will notice a review received on the same day as yours. Score 4/5.
Noticing this is your first review on Tripadvisor, perhaps you could take a tip from the regulars to be constructively critical, not destructive as you have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed in room 43, run down part of the hotel yet paid the same price, carpets dirty and ants everywhere, Staircase and external entrance are appalling, window doesn't close properly so monkeys got in and trashed the place, A 5cm sign hidden behind curtains warning of monkeys does not help, lost over R1000 of snacks and food items bought for the weekend, would really appreciate a refund as the brochure did not show or mention the room appalling surroundings. View pictures attached

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ssramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Ssramy

I have personally inspected room 43 which you claim to be sub-standard. For your information, this room is NOT part of the old hotel as it was totally refurbished. The "appalling" staircases are part of our current corridor refurb which we actually stop work over week-ends to allow for a more peaceful stay by our guests. .
Welcome to Africa! Monkeys are a daily occurrence and are forever opportunists. The fact that you stocked up with snacks was certainly a factor in attracting them to your room. (not to mention ants)
The mere fact that warning signage was placed on the windows is sufficient for the hotel to waive responsibility for your loss.
The filthy carpet you mentioned was a spot the size of a R5 coin and the whereas the view from your window was not of the sea it was not disturbing - a view of the mini golf and kids playground!
I do feel that a one star rating on TripAdvisor by you was really not necessary as you are bringing the Blue Marlin unnecessarily to a lower standard to what we have achieved.
To add, all the windows closed as intended and cannot be opened from outside. You obviously left one open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stayed in a Superior Room which had a king size bed and a little room with a small bunk bed for the kids. This room is ideal if you have 2 kids under the age of 12 years. The bathroom is little but serviceable with a shower in the bath, with a shower door, not shower curtain :). The room is a good size with large cupboard space and has a little safe for your valuables. The kid’s room also had a little cupboard for the kid’s clothes and bags. The little bar fridge was a nice surprise so we were able to keep the kids water and juice cold. Buffet breakfast was good. Not too many choices but perfect enough for a wholesome breakfast. There is an adult and kids swimming pool with an outdoor and indoor kids play area. The beach is a small walk away from the hotel. There is paid under-cover parking available as well as free non-sheltered parking. The hotel has lots of activities during the day and evenings and you get a discount voucher for Croc World. Overall...We had a good stay. This hotel is highly recommended. The town centre and restaurants as within walking distance if you don’t want to eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Family Superior Room which has a king-size bed an inter-leading children’s room with small bunk beds.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suayda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Suayda

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and of course for your kind comments. We hope you will one day find time to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a few days of our honeymoon at the Blue Marlin. We enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and room service was prompt. Did not enjoy the buffet though. I recommend going to Mozambik or C Breeze within a five minute drive from the hotel. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the pool alot.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NatashaS3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Natasha

Thank you for your review of the Blue Marlin, We are disappointed with your comment about not enjoying the buffet, but as your review is for your stay in April 2017 I am confident that the buffet has improved since then.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Terrible stay , terrible room . Prize was for superior room however I was given a room.belOW reception level no view , dirty sheets , dust on frames absolutely not.impressed won a 2 night stay but checked out after first night

Room Tip: Sheets should be cleaned , and dust from frames removed , also fridge should be cleaned and working , pillow should be firmer , carpets also should be cleaned . And for a superior room u would expect a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nadiafyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Nadia

Your comments are in dispute. We have investigated your allegations and find the room you stayed in a Superior room in very good condition with none of your complaints being evident at all. . Had you asked the Restaurant staff whether they could arrange Hallaal food, you would have been met with friendly willing to help staff. That's how we react to our guest needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews