We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Marlin Hotel
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
101
115
25
10
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
115
25
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardining roomreception staffsouth coastbreakfast and dinnerfamily hotelgreat viewwalking distancesaga repfew yearsspecial mentionrelaxing holidayplay areasea viewindian oceanevening entertainmentbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

No way was the last review genuine , a rant from a serial moaner looking for a refund.This hotel is superb second visit, my room is clean, bright, spotless sheets and towels, great shower, views all our group of 9 very happy. Food very good, staff poilite and attentive. Facilities great. On!y little moan same boring entertainment could do with a change.

Room Tip: Ground floor good
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank patbI8577ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Pat

Thank you for putting the record straight. The Blue Marlin does not get high ratings by being poor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Never again. Rip off. 4 hours to check in, coz they lost the booking.Then, amazingly, it was found. No foreigner who has traveled 1000's of miles needs that . The first floor rooms look like they are the ones published on the site. Our rooms, second floor, warped doors, mould, broken fitments, cracked bath mats, yellow stains on the sheets and on doors....euwwww.

Room Tip: Close down and finish renovating, or publish the actual state of rooms
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 10gabrielew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Gabriel

This is probably the worst review I have ever read about the Blue Marlin. It is quite easy to go out of one's way to look for faults which you did quite intensively. Surely you had something good to say, after all, out TripAdvisor ratings score in excess of 4.3 out of 5 over the year.

Hope you have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The resort was amazing, it was cleaned to perfection everyday for the acceptance of the trays and dishes from room service. Some days the passage ways would be full of room service trays for hours on end before been collected. I also had my little ones foot been cut by glass that was not cleaned up around the sitting lounge by the pool side and bar. I must say that the staff are wonderful and very helpful. The grounds are well groomed and neat. The room impressed me very much. The air con and room fan work well to keep you feeling refreshed. I love the fact that towels can be changed on a daily bases if needed. The kids programs is so good that kids want to return to the resort and parents get a chance to relax knowing their kids are safe and enjoying themselves. The room service was nice, only the way they charged was incorrect and it was never dealt with. I took two kiddies meals and two adult meals but was charged for four adults, this happened twice.Other then these small things, I would say that this resort is one of the best anyone could stay at. It deserves to be rated 5 stars for its beauty, staff and accommodation. The sheets and towels were very comfortable and fluffy. The beds are so comfortable. Thank you to all at Blue Marlin for a wonderful week..

Room Tip: A small microwave would complete the room.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saL6586HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Sal658

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Marlin and we thank you for you positive comments. Thanks for the heads-up on the room service trays.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

we went to blue marlin in a family crown 6 adults and 5 children. the accommodation was lovely airconditioned rooms and nice clean bathrooms. this is a 3 star hotel so we were very satisfied with the accommodation. the pool area was lovely with a childrens and adults pool, a playground and trampolines. they also had an idoor play area for the children and a separate room for watching dvds and doing arts and crafts.
the highlight of our stay were 2 men Kevin and Gareth. they are not employed at the hotel I believe and just came to "help out". gareth was in charge of arts and crafts and I have never seen such beautiful things as the children made it was the hightlight of the day for our 5 grandchildren, I think they would have done arts and crafts twice a day at least instead of once. now Kevin is actually a dancer, and he entertained the children at the pool with music and movement and jumping into pool through hoops etc. he was just unbelievable he danced with them had little exercise sessions with them play sessions in the pool like water aerobics and water baller, there are just no words to describe how involved he was and how great he was with the kids.
we had a breakfast and dinner package and the food was really very nice a nice variety and always fresh. they were very accommodating and one morning there were only pork sausages for breakfast and we do not eat pork so no problem at all they made beef sausages for our table. one member of our party had a birthday. they set the table with cloths (usually just place mats) put balloons up covered chairs in covers put floating candles on table and even had a cake. it was much appreciated..
the only slight negative was that it doesn't have its own private beach and its across a road to go to the beach.whick over festive season was very crowded.
all in all its a real old family style hotel and one doesn't need to worry about kids running around or messing.
we had a lovely holiday there and would return BUT ONLY IF KEVIN AND GARETH ARE THERE AGAIN. (HA HA)

Room Tip: all rooms are sea facing just ask for a bath if you need one
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Brenda

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and our great entertainment. Hopefully you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

A wonderful establishment with endless entertainment provided for children and adults alike; so that even the rainy days are fun! Amazing staff, incredible atmosphere and great food and facilities make for a most memorable holiday. Best children's entertainment in town! Everyone goes the extra mile :-)

Room Tip: Check things like fridges and lamps and fans before check in :-)
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellejD3001NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8806FXgm, General Manager at Blue Marlin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Michelle

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Marlin and we thank you sincerely for your positive comments. Hopefully you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews