We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
111
39
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
39
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket self catering went out of her way water hole game farm clay pigeon shooting the reserve the cottages lovely break going the extra mile game viewing city life peace and tranquility watering hole awesome place next morning thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Tranquility was what was needed, enjoyed it so much. Kids enjoyed the floating beds and seeing different animals in the yard while drove around. It's a nice a different environment from your normal everyday Gauteng rush and peaceful. We actually arrived late but the man who welcomed us was very nice and showed us the place.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmothi325747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Immaculate chalet, excellent value for money. Clean and tidy with everything you need, even the firewood for a cold Winter's evening. Beautiful views, a really pleasant experience. Thank you to Ukuthula Lodge for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank npiete213744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ukuthula lodge. It is a short trip from Pietermaritzburg to the lodge. The self catering chalet is well equipped for a weekend stay with a stoep and braai supplied, all overlooking the surrounding beauty of the veld, farms further on and the Albert Falls dam. At night one can hear the call of the jackals and in the mornings one can enjoy sitting on the stoep with a cup of coffee, watching the buck and giraffe walking by and hearing the songs of the birds.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Ukuthula Lodge with 2 other families for 4 nights while our kids played hockey at Maritzburg college.
It was really beautiful. We managed to go for 2 runs while we were there and I loved having to hide behind a tree while a giraffe slowly walked past us.
We passed baby warthogs, zebras and impalas too.
We were in villa 5 which worked really well for us because there were 4 beds upstairs.
We had lovely braais on the balcony’s.
My only additions would be a shelf in the bathroom for wash bags, and an electric socket upstairs.
Thanks Sandra.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, Manager at Ukuthula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

appreciate your feedback - hope we see you again soon thank you for your support appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Cosy cottage, stunning sunrise and sunsets, stars, plenty animals roaming around including the tame warthog who loves apples. A picnic lunch at the river boma is so relaxing.
Taakenplenty books and relax on the veranda watching the day go by

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank CraigW2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews