We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brevisbrook(Pietermaritzburg)
USD 52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ukuthula Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ascot Inn(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Africa's Eden B&B(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Acacia Bush Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Albert Falls Country Estate(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
54
76
37
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
76
37
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartvalue for moneymouth wateringone nightersmall fridgebeautiful scenerygo the extra mileenjoyed my staydouble bedfamily and friendsroom was spaciousnight staybusiness triprondavelaccommodationluggagecoz
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Overall friendly, helpful and courteous staff. The facilities were very clan and presentable. The attire of your waiter - shorts and slops - could be more professional. The food was of a high quality.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank togle893165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We stayed at Ascot Bush Lodge for 3 days, the place is very neat, clean and beautiful but the service is awful. The food is awful, breakfast doesn't matter if you ask for fried eggs or an omelette the eggs is raw. Bacon is sour and the price for dinner is ridiculous for what you get. The owner of the guest house preach for you what to do with your life and the highway situated 100m away from this lodge is such a pain because you don't get any sleep in the evenings at all.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank elna662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotBushLodge, Owner at Ascot Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Good day Sbusisiwe,

Thank you for the positive comments, i do not understand when you say the eggs were raw as the chef prepares the eggs rite before you for that very reason to specifically say how you prefer your meal prepared and in particular eggs, all you had to do is ask and more surprising that you mention that i as the owner preached to you... i was not at the lodge for your entire stay and in all my 40 in the hospitality trade years never preach to a sole.

Sbusisiwe, there are times that there is more noise from the road then normal and i do apologize for that inconvenience, hope to see you back soon from you travels abroad - Vernon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

room had very bad smell,white powder all over the floor,basin coming away from the wall,most items on dinner menu not available,orded t bone steak and chips all that was available ,steak too tough to eat,did not bother with breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewestwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotBushLodge, Owner at Ascot Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Never a truer saying... when it rains it pours.. Good evening Andrew, This is the real world and things do happen, however, please except my apologies, if i may explain.. the room in question was marked down for maintenance for two days as a water pipe was leaking and as you mentioned that the wash hand basin had pulled away from the wall. The room was let out by mistake by a junior staff member learning the ropes of on line bookings, as for the dinner the chef became sick and the dinner was cooked by the receptionist.

Im delighted to report that all is speck and span, the room is in perfect condition no more ants, wash hand basin bolted to the wall and no more wet carpet, the chef is as right as rain and in good health.

Andrew, i have no other way to apologize other then to offer you a complementary night and dinner and breakfast the next time you in Pietermaritzburg and hope to see you soon - Vernon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Everything was excellent right from the start. just name it : The friendly service we received when we booked in, The outstanding service of the bartender, as well as the service in the dining room. The food was prepared to perfection!! The room itself was great!! Very spacious and tidy. I will always stay at Acot Bush Lodge whenever we visit Pietermaritzburg again. Keep up the good work guys. You all deserve a standing ovation.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dalene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotBushLodge, Owner at Ascot Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Good day to you Dalenne,
Thank you so very much for all the good things you said about the Ascot bush lodge, as the owner i live on site and am = aware of all the short comings and i can truly say we try hard to make things work and our guests feel at home and comfortable, hope to see you back soon - Vernon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Unfortunately, although advertised, there was no restaurant! Breakfast was poor as was the service. The stock of wines in the 'pub' was virtually none existent.
Although, the staff were very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E3611OAmaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscotBushLodge, Owner at Ascot Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Good evening to you,
I do not know how to respond to you saying that there was no restaurant as it is 3 meter past the bar and with dimensions of 20x12, and the night in question you mention, we had run out of two red wines and i do apologize for that, well for the breakfast not to your liking i do hope the next time you stay we could do something write. Hope to see you soon - Vernon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews