We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
117
98
32
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
98
32
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmidlands meanderseparate toiletlovely hotelgrand old ladyold world charmgeneral managerideal locationcurrya la carte menurooms are spaciousclean hotelroom servicefood was fantasticwill stay there againour honeymoonnatal midlandsprawns
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Besides the unexpected R 20 tourist fee in my own country upon checkout, great visit. Clean rooms!

Make sure to pack smart dinner clothes, as you are only allowed smart casual in dinning.

Beautiful old trimmings, felt like I was on titanic.

Most important - CLEAN!

Room Tip: Pool View Room, great.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KayleyP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Hilton for your recent travels to Hilton.

Commitment to service and GUEST satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel TEAM takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued GUESTS speaks strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.”

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback on the GUEST Satisfaction Survey and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel feels outdated and didn’t stand out as anything special but it’s in a good location and does what you need it to. Staff were friendly and the room had everything you needed.

We didn’t eat at the hotel but it’s worthwhile mentioning that you have to dress smart casual to dine there (breakfast or dinner).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marshall_claudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Good Day,


Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton through the GUEST Satisfaction Survey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Good accommodation, the rooms are nice and spacious and very well appointed. The dining room however lacks atmosphere in the evenings, very bland and ‘cold’ and poor lighting. This can quite easily be changed with a little creativity and minimal effort and in so doing, I’m sure that the guests will appreciate a better evening dining experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Mr Behn,

Thank you for taking time to complete the comment form on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, we appreciate your feedback, we have shared it with Restaurant Manager who has to brainstorm on how to bring perfect ambience in the restaurant.

Thank you once again for bring it to our attention. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Faith L Mabele
033 343 3311

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Our stay at the Hotel was very pleasant - The reception and staff was very helpful and friendly - The rooms were very neat and clean and the bed and bedding was of high quality. It was great to have a restaurant and room service available.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer and want to sleep late, choose a room not overlooking the swimming pool for the children start to swim early.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edv560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Good Day

Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Hilton for your recent travels to Hilton.

Commitment to service and GUEST satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel TEAM takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued GUESTS speaks strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.”

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback on the GUEST Satisfaction Survey and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

The Protea Hilton hotel, situated about 30 minutes drive out of Pietermaritzburg city, is well-established, recently revamped, and effectively managed. Rooms are spacious, staff are friendly, food is varied . Overall, good value , especially if you are a Prokard member.

Room Tip: Preferably not a room overlooking the parking areas.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Good Day,
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

We really appreciate your good comment. We will share with the entire TEAM to motivate them to always exceed GUEST expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews