We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 148
USD 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 71
USD 61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 94
USD 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 126
USD 89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mesami Hotel(Durban)(Great Value!)
USD 76
USD 66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 145
USD 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 167
USD 157
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Happy Hippo Accommodation(Durban)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
300
81
15
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
81
15
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barcolonial styleenglish pubold charmsmall poolbreakfast is servedlovely guesthousestayed longerexcellent servicesecure parkinggreat place to stayenjoyable stayother guestshome away from homeflorida roadcomfortable roomsindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

This relaxed Edwardian elegance will delight for both the business and a romantic couple retreat. The staff are attentive friendly and ensure you feel welcome and at home. The spacious en-suite rooms are a delight with Edwardian features and grand luxury. The breakfasts are the best in the business and the views overlooking the coast well worth making time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alanjohan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent service from our Team.
Kind regards, Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I stayed at Goble Palms for a week on business & cannot rave enough about it. Charming staff, comfy beds and a lovely setting. I stayed in the top section in a room with a small courtyard and felt very at home. My only niggle was that, as I was there on business, it would have been nice to have a bit more space to work in my room. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Buiten166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your great review. We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards, Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a stylish, safe, easy B&B in Durban, Goble Palms is the place. I’ve rarely stayed in a hotel or B&B where I’ve felt more comfortable. It’s like staying at a friends’ lovely house - while they are away. Situated in the quiet Morningside suburb, the B&B allows you to have your breakfast or evening drinks on the veranda looking out over the sea in the distance. Because of its location, you will require a car or Uber, and restaurants within walking distance are limited. Lionel and his lovely staff have created the perfect atmosphere, warm, helpful and kind, without being intrusive, but expertly run, with no detail neglected. There is a small pool, and the garden is full of sub-tropical trees, dripping flowers. If you have a baby expect it to be swept away by adoring staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments, Sandra. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards, Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

This is our second visit to the hotel, and that must say something. We continue to be impressed by helpful and pleasant staff who make the stay pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located and has an old charm. Only blemish was we found the wifi- difficult to connect.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Factfinder90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We thank you for staying at Goble Palms once again and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
( our wi-fi is being upgraded as fibre is currently being installed in our area ).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Our travel agent recommended this guesthouse as an alternative to a regular hotel and we loved it. There is more than one building with different types of rooms. Ours was a huge room with a big deck on an upper floor. Comfortable bed, clean, nice shower and good A/C. The breakfast buffet was extensive and you also have the option for made-to-order eggs. Our flight was delayed getting into Durban so we had no time to venture out to dinner, so the nice owner helped up order a pizza while we hung out in the little bar area. Overall we'd recommend this guesthouse to anyone coming to Durban and looking for a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lemur_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goblepalms, Owner at Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Your comments and recommendation are much appreciated - thank you.
Kind regards, Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews