We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
eMakhosini Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The rooms looked good but they were dirty.
No WI-FI reception in our room.
Loud music and people making noise. I think they were hosting a party and it made our stay unpleasant. We had to wait for a while before we could find parking space for our vehicle.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vongani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

In general this hotel is really confortable with massive rooms. The attention to detail is not always visible though.

My lock in my room kept on jamming and I couldn't open it without assistance. Sure this was not the first time it happened.

I had no hot water in the shower, which was extremely uncomfortable.

The staff in general were super friendly and helpful except for the guy at reception who literally took over 10 minutes to print my invoice.

Not bad for a one night stay on a business trip, but I would not recommend it if you are staying for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannelizeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

For a 3 star this is a shocking hotel this hotel is dirty,old not a hotel at all! More like a dodgy hostel avoid at all costs NOT like the advitised photo's! Smells and very loud should be closed down! Would rather camp then this option.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Haylespain2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The place is falling apart. The maintenance is shocking. It's not 4 star at all! In its early days it may have been good but currently it's not at all. Expensive for a run down establishment.
Mouldy smelly rooms. Old worn pillow covers. Broken doors and locks. Worn furniture. Broken lamps and shades. Bad paint and moisture on walls.Broken toilet seats. Old stained toilet seats. Missing shower doors. Unkept gardens and pool. Everything looks tired and worn out. Even the ceiling at reception is in need of repairs.
A candidate for hotel nightmares.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Good stay , friendly and helpful staff! Will consider staying again ! Nice big rooms and clean . Pool area beautiful. Lots of parking and very safe. Check in and check out was done quickly. Price adorable

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Laureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.7 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
6.7 km away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#22 of 44 in Durban
201 reviews
3.9 km away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
2.5 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to eMakhosini Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about eMakhosini Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Lumsden Crescent, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — eMakhosini Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a four star boutique hotel located in a private residential area only minutes away from Durban's busiest entertainment street of pubs, clubs and restaurants as well as the city and beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your eMakhosini Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing