We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fifteen years on”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lindsay Loft

Bright, spacious bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright, spacious bedroom
Comfortable living area Spacious apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bright, spacious bedroom
Comfortable living area
Spacious apartment
large dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen through to bedroom
King size bed
View from bedroom to dressing room
Dressing room
Bath / Shower combined
Verandah
Entrance Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MvR43
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fifteen years on”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It has been more than 15 years now (at least once a year for a month or so, and twice in a year a couple of times) and you can't say better than that. The right blend of comfort, the IT stuff that everyone needs now, style, and all the facilities that you'd need to make it like home; excellent support from Caroline and Pepi. Great light and sense of space. Good location and very easy to get around. Add Betty's perfect laundry service and who would want to leave and go home?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We so enjoy it when you are in the Loft and we look forward to seeing you again next February. Keep well, Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our second visit,felt like coming home.
A fantastic place to stay and relax,Accommodation is first class,everything you could need for self catering.Caroline even leaves a welcome bottle of wine and breakfast to get you started.
We would not stay anywhere else when in Durban.Book early because it is such a great place to stay and a very helpful and friendly couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
How kind of you to send in a review - we really do appreciate it., It is very important to us to know that our guests are happy and we certainly do hope we will see you again. Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful time staying at Lindsay Loft. The suite is large and comfortable, we felt very spoilt. Has great views of Durban. We love the owners dogs who reside on the property, such characters. Will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CD_Ryder
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second visit. It's still excellent!”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had such a good experience here last year - we decided to book it again for our family visit in Durban.
It hasn't changed! and neither has our opinion of it. we'd definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a classy self catering base in Durban, A little off the beaten track (but close enough to most things in Durban as long as you have a car). Very spacious, well equipped an very quiet.
Unfortunately they were having a small problem with ants while we were there. Definitely necessary to keep food and drink under wraps or in the fridge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and quiet
Liked least: Those ants!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed Lindsay Loft and we certainly hope that we will see you again. I do apologise about the ants but the whole area seems to have been plagued by them this year but we seem to be winning the war so all should be well in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenman...
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Lindsay Loft is a lovely place to stay if you are looking for an affordable, self-service place for a long-term stay. The place is close to Mitchell Park and Florida Road. It's in a residential area, which is a little tricky to find, but the property is secured with a gate, and you are able to park right in front of the loft. We stayed for a week and had everything we needed to live as if we were living at home.

Caroline puts some very nice touches to the place, stocking the fridge with milk, juice, yogurt, and a complimentary bottle of wine. The pantry also had a fresh loaf of bread and cookies. The kitchen was adequately equipped with pans, pots, and utensils. We had pretty much everything we needed to cook all of our meals.

The bedroom was nice and spacious, and there was air conditioning if needed. There was also a balcony that had a nice view of the city.

The only drawbacks was the WiFi, which was not very strong and kept cutting in and out. The place could also benefit from some upkeep, as the toilet sometimes didn't work properly and the washing machine was not very clean.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personalized service
Liked least: WiFi, upkeep of the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your review - I really do appreciate your comments as unless our guests tell us there is a problem we can't fix it. I am so sorry about the Wi-Fi, if I had known it would have been dealt with right away and I will see to the washing machine and loo immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing