We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
682
536
263
106
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
536
263
106
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge business lounge convention center five star hotel room service attending a conference curries business trip comrades marathon reception area south africa enjoyed my stay icc doorman security leisure sa
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is NOT a 5-Star Hotel!!!

We asked for a sea facing room, yet the room had views of the city.
When we asked about their WiFi they said you need to register on the app first and it’s not for free. Which 5-Star Hotel in today’s age doesn’t have free WiFi?!?!

They staff also failed to inform us they have an event and the noise levels was at maximum level until 12am at night! Even after I complaint several times.

There is also no complimentary water for guests in the room. Again which hotel in today’s age doesn’t have complimentary water?!?

The rates of this hotel is outrageous for the level of service you receive and the staff is super unfriendly.

Breakfast was a total let down and by 9am most of the food was finished and they didn’t even replace it.

The pool was also not working - again something they failed to mention upon check in

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank LorindaVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your review. We are truly very concerned and sorry to read the way you feel about our property and the service provided. Despite the impression created, however we want to assure you that we do care for all our guests and we aim to always provide high quality service and hospitality standards and would like to inform you that I have addressed this with our Management Team.

Once again thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we trust our Duty Manager has been in contact with you. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Stayed three nights and got what you would expect from a Hilton. Parking was a little steep considering you are a guest. Highly recommend Ernie Els's restaurant in the Hilton, great food. Hotel is very busy with the conference center next door so the lifts up to the rooms can take a while as there are only four.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. I’m glad you found our location convenient for your needs while visiting Durban, and that you enjoyed the delicious dining options available at our hotel. We hope that you’ll return to the Hilton Durban the next time you travel to our beautiful city.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Everything was spot on! Luxury at it's finest. The breakfast was amazing and lots to choose from. Parking is secure. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud. The entire hotel was clean from top to bottom. The staff has to be the best part! Every single one of them was helpful, kind and most importantly had a smile on there faces! We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel! We have a great team here and I’m happy that you were pleased with their exceptional customer service and enjoyed spending time at our hotel. It’s also great that our location, breakfast and rooms, worked out just right for you. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Durban again soon!

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

From the moment you arrive until you are in your bedroom your overall feeling is that you are been taking care of. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent stay, good size bedroom, lovely bed, mattress and linen, nice size bathroom and all you need in your room. I was absolutely bould over by the professional and kind service of the youngman at the help desk on arrival. I found the service, from arrival, to the breakfast at the restaurant to helping with a taxi fantastic. This is a hotel I will surely recommend and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on floor 9 and it was lovely and extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prof. Elain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

We love hearing from satisfied guests! I’m delighted that our location worked out perfectly for your recent visit to Durban. It’s also great to know that you were impressed with our beautifully updated rooms and our excellent service from our team members. Your recommendation of the Hilton Durban is greatly appreciated, thank you! We’re looking forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Overall good value for money stay except that entrance and parking staff need to be much more professional and better trained to deal with ALL Very valuable Diamond HHonors members always,
And amenities need to be upgraded for HHonors members.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank muhammadhashima2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.
We thank you very much for your loyalty and for spending so many nights at Hilton Hotels! Please note that your comments are well-noted and please trust us that we are continuously looking for further improvements and making your stay as comfortable as possible.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews