We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night romantic fling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2 night romantic fling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The service and style that I have come to expect from the Intercontinental hotel brand the world over did not fail to impress. I was utilising my Ambassador membership stay for two nights and pay for one perk. I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a corner room with more space at check in. The service and attention to detail by the eager and professional staff made our stay a joyous one. The Sally Williams Nougat, free refreshments and fruit platter added to the occassion. The only gripe was that we had to call housekeeping several times to turn down our room the one evening.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Rather late response than never. Kindly accept my sincere apology for the late response

Thank you for your most valued feedback. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the staff were most helpful and nothing was difficult or impossible to be done. I have also addressed the turn down servive issue with the respective department head

On behalf of the management and staff, I wish you a heatlhy and prosperous 2012
Looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future

Josiah Montsho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    216
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
50
113
41
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

From check in everything was excellent, a true five star treatment. I was traveling with my two daughters over the festive season. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. We had a problem with the DVD player in our room and they fixed it in no time. The staff is always willing to help. The food was excellent, I am a vegetarian and was a bit worried that the menu won't be too accommodative. But every time we ordered room service the chef was always willing to make anything I desired, even if it is not on the menu, that was a plus for me. And it is a good value for money. I would stay at this hotel anytime and would highly recommend it. The location is excellent especially if you like to shop, because the Sandton mall is just a walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phumzile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Please kindly accpet my sincere apologies for the late response. I have been away and only came back to the office today.

Thank you for your valued feedback. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was excellent. It really through our guests feedback that we can be made aware of our service shortfalls and to improve on our service delivery.

On behalf of the management and staff, I wish you a healthy and prosperous 2012

Looking forward to seeing you our hotel in the near future

Kind regards,

Josiah Montsho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Excellent location. Ideal for exploring the restaurants in Mandella square. Rooms are good and service excellent

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Despo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apoly for the late response.

I would like to thank you for taking your most valued time and giving us feedback on your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay was most enjoyable and unforgetable one. I really value your feedback as it makes us to be aware of our service shortfalls and to improve on service delivery

On behalf of the management and staff, I wish you and your loved ones a heathly and prosperous 2012

Kind regards,

Josiah Montsho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, Ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed Christmas night. The staff could not have been friendlier. The hotel was beautiful as were the room. They accomodated us with a late check out the next day to help with the time gap flying back to the states.They use an independent car service for airport pickup. That was very expensive and man was late by 15 minutes. Breakfast was more expensive than room serice dining-that was a surprise. We had steaks for dinner in room service and they were so tough you could hardly cut them. We didn't complain as the hour was late. The stay itself was quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLosGatos_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

All I expected and more!!

Here are the things I like the most:

-Bath calls your name... it even has a candle for a better ambiance
- quick room service
- Perfectly located to go shopping in ur spare time
-Nice lobby
- Great room, and confortable bed!!
- Is one of those hotels you remember and want to go back to

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price range (per night): $257 - $545
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing