We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities. VERY Disappointing on the billing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Simple rooms, perfect for the business traveler. Hotel has clean room, well maintained, and comfortable. Though the rooms in the basement where a colleague was were dark and depressing, the ones on the first floor were great.
No elevators or dining restaurants here - you can get a great breakfast from the hotel, as well as light snacks from the cafe.

Overall would have given it an extra star if it were not for the way the billing was handled.
1. The systems seemed to be down too frequently - hotel seemed to be unwilling to hand me the intermediate statement even when the systems were up.
Repeated requests ( 5 over a single day and 2 the next) were politely but firmly denied citing the backlog of work due to system downtime as a reason.
2. Friend checked out early - he returned twice to collect his bill - never got it.
3. Got combined bills - despite requesting individual bills for each room.
4. Finally got the invoice on checkout - that too had to demand it - as ; systems were down again!'
5. Since i was in a rush - cab to the airport was waiting, i didn't get time to check it - realised that I have been charged for a breakfast I never took on the last day.

This negative review on billing would never have made it to this site if the hotel took the opportunity to rectify - unfortunately multiple mails to the hotel on the issue have been ignored.
I may stay here again as it is conveniently located to my business location, however it would not be by choice and definitely wont be moving from the reception without double and triple checking my bill.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement - too dull and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind comments about our rooms, breakfast, and #Cafe coffee shop. Please accept our sincerest apologies about the billing problems that you encountered. This is not up to our usual service standard. Due to the system being off-line, we posted your friend’s breakfast onto your account in error and will gladly refund this to your account or alternatively extend it as a credit on your next stay. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel when we are confident that this billing problem will not reoccur and therefore not detract from the positive aspects of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The hotel did a steep U-turn on their discount promises and refused to honor a previously offered pricing structure. A personal altercation with the Manageress Nokulunga Mkhize left a horrible and unpleasant taste at check-in. She was rude and belligerent.
You would be better off staying somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cassette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We’re sorry to learn about the unpleasant interaction experienced between yourselves and a member of the hotel’s management team. We are normally exceptionally proud of the level of service provided and will address your concerns with the team at the hotel.

We are not sure as to the previously offered discount policy to which you refer, however the granting of discounted rates for Inns of Zimbabwe card holders are quite clear in that one membership card is required per room in order to qualify for the discounted rates – subject to availability. Our apologies for any confusion in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

If I had to rate the quality of the room, I would give 2 stars. But the full 3 stars would go to the staffs. They were amazing. We had some problem with the booking. it seemed like it didn't appear 'yet' in their system. (Because me and my husband actually stayed in different hotel a day before we came here. However the staff from the previous hotel were so rude and unconcerned of solving the problems we had in the hotel, we decided to book this hotel just couple of hours before we came here) they were trying so hard for us to get the room asap. We appreciated what they've worked.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Rooms are clean and well done up. Almost everything is in place .U have a dial service to get food from outside also delivered to your room...that was wonderful ...The morning buffet breakfast was sumptuous with an European kinda spread .The team is polite though they do not pamper you like they do in the south east region or India .The front office team was polite , friendly and easy to converse .Since this was my first visit to Johannesburg , i stayed in the vicinity of my hotel and did not venture out too often in the night . The room overlooked the swimming pool which was clean . However i did not see many using the pool . Room service on certain items which currently requests you to go to the respective sections can be improved ..May come back the next time around ....All the best wishes to the City Lodge Staff

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank satianath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

There was nothing special about my stay. The room was comfortable and serviced as required. The buffet breakfast had sufficient variety, and the evening bar menu and room service menu was good enough for my needs. The actual benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the place that I visited for work. I am happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.2 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#24 of 47 in Sandton
107 reviews
4.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#27 of 47 in Sandton
59 reviews
0.8 km away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 47 in Sandton
215 reviews
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
1.8 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#28 of 47 in Sandton
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Address: Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads | Morningside, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range: $117 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a restaurant on the property and is across the road from Morningside Clinic. It is close to a gym and 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square. The convenience of this hotel is reinforced by its close proximity to the M1 motorway and the 30 minute drive from the OR Tambo International airport. We are 2km from the Gautrain Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge - Sandton/Morningside Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Sandton Morningside
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing