We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
21
40
20
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
40
20
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanaged hotelfirst floorgreat facilitiescomfortable roomsbusinesshousekeepingmontecasino
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The hotel did a steep U-turn on their discount promises and refused to honor a previously offered pricing structure. A personal altercation with the Manageress Nokulunga Mkhize left a horrible and unpleasant taste at check-in. She was rude and belligerent.
You would be better off staying somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cassette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We’re sorry to learn about the unpleasant interaction experienced between yourselves and a member of the hotel’s management team. We are normally exceptionally proud of the level of service provided and will address your concerns with the team at the hotel.

We are not sure as to the previously offered discount policy to which you refer, however the granting of discounted rates for Inns of Zimbabwe card holders are quite clear in that one membership card is required per room in order to qualify for the discounted rates – subject to availability. Our apologies for any confusion in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

If I had to rate the quality of the room, I would give 2 stars. But the full 3 stars would go to the staffs. They were amazing. We had some problem with the booking. it seemed like it didn't appear 'yet' in their system. (Because me and my husband actually stayed in different hotel a day before we came here. However the staff from the previous hotel were so rude and unconcerned of solving the problems we had in the hotel, we decided to book this hotel just couple of hours before we came here) they were trying so hard for us to get the room asap. We appreciated what they've worked.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Rooms are clean and well done up. Almost everything is in place .U have a dial service to get food from outside also delivered to your room...that was wonderful ...The morning buffet breakfast was sumptuous with an European kinda spread .The team is polite though they do not pamper you like they do in the south east region or India .The front office team was polite , friendly and easy to converse .Since this was my first visit to Johannesburg , i stayed in the vicinity of my hotel and did not venture out too often in the night . The room overlooked the swimming pool which was clean . However i did not see many using the pool . Room service on certain items which currently requests you to go to the respective sections can be improved ..May come back the next time around ....All the best wishes to the City Lodge Staff

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank satianath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

There was nothing special about my stay. The room was comfortable and serviced as required. The buffet breakfast had sufficient variety, and the evening bar menu and room service menu was good enough for my needs. The actual benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the place that I visited for work. I am happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

The City Lodge in Morningside is in a great location for doing business in Sandton and the surrounds. We took an Uber from the airport which took about 40 minutes to get to the hotel. The room was simple but neat and clean and had all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. I used the gym which has a bike, treadmill, stepping machine and a few dumbbells and matts. Breakfast was great. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The only small pedantic detail I can constructively criticize was that the two beautiful modern chandeliers in the dining area had a whole bunch of bulbs not working.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brenden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews