We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Nearby Hotels
USD 310*
USD 260*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
USD 295*
USD 253*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 253*
USD 173*
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 245*
USD 204*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
USD 154*
USD 132*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 170*
USD 139*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 170*
USD 146*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 250*
USD 193*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 256*
USD 203*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 154*
USD 103*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
254
170
36
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
170
36
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern sunluce restaurantpool deckshopping centrerooftop barnorthern suburbstsogo suntop floordirect accessmodern hotelper daybusiness hotelwonderful stayexcellent hotelbusiness triprooms are spacioushome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

When you walk into the dark lobby you will be greeted by unfriendly staff. We were not even offered a porter to help with our bags. The underground parking lot next to the hotel where you will be asked to park, smells of urine. You will be charged R30 per night to leave your car there. The rooms are exceptionally dark. The bathroom door is a glass sliding contraption which opens right into the bedroom. Ours didn't close properly, it was always sliding close. So if you like a bit of privacy when sitting on the loo, forget about it. The breakfast sucks! Really tasteless, uninspired buffet drivel. But the WORST part, was discovering that the shower wasn't draining. Disgusting water was pooling up. They sent a janitor to unclog it, he said it was full of hair from the previous guests. We asked for another room, the manger was difficult to get hold of. When WE finally tracked him down he said there were no other rooms available, and that we must just make do. We demanded that a housekeeper come up, and when she did, there was nothing more than a superficial wipe. No scabbing, mopping or anything. We just hightailed out of there. This was the WORST Southern Sun Hotel I have ever stayed in. It is not worth 4 stars. I have stayed in cleaner Garden Courts and City Lodges. I do not recommend this hotel at all. There are much better choices in the same price range in Sandton and Melrose Arch.

Room Tip: Best finding another hotel. We certainly won't visit again.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Renusha N,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at during your last tavels to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in April 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations during this stay and for any inconvenience caused as a result. We are fully committed to constantly improve the quality of our facilities, offering and service levels at the hotel as we strive for perfection where ever possible however, regrettably from time to time we are faced with certain challenges of shich some are sometimes beyond our control.

We will investigate all the comments made above with teh relevant Management and staff and take corrective action where appropriate.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and we will in contact with further feedback once we have completed our investigations in the various challenges mentioned above.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have stayed here many times and do not believe them when they say WiFi will be fixed. It has been appalling for many months. The charges are exhorbitant and when you call for help you get charged as well.

A hotel of this stature should provide free WiFi.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42slarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear 42Slarty,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when travelling to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in February 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We sincerely apologise that the WIFI Service did not meet your satisfaction and your needs, as over this period, we have had numerous challenges with this service, which was escalated to the high level possible with our relevant service providers. We are fully committed to constantly improve the quality of our facilities, offering and service levels at the hotel as we strive for perfection where ever possible however, from time to time we are faced with challenges that are beyond our control, especially when in regards to technology. In this regard, I am pleased to inform you that our service providers have managed to locate the root causes of the challenges and have sinced performed a full 'load test' on the system in March, which was successful and we have not been made aware of any issues with the WIFI Service since then.

Please note that the WIFI Service is complimentary to all members of the Frequent Guest loyalty programme, for 2 hours per day, furthermore membership to the programme is free and there are no joining fees either. Please let us know if we can forward an application form to you. Currently only our 5 Star properties within our group provides free unlimited internet/WIFI services.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel on your nest visit.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for three nights. The service was really shoddy. Asked for a paper to be delivered to the room, called three times as it wasn't there in the morning. Eventually had to go to the lobby to collect the paper, only to be told that I was wrong and that it had been delivered!! I told the associate that there was no paper and why would I come down to collect one if it was there? Was also charged for it (Never been charged for a paper in a hotel before - and a 4 star?!?) Had to pay for wi-fi, it didn't work...... was charged to call the help-desk only to find out that they were working on fixing the hotel wi-fi and that they knew it wasn't working! Had to "fight" to get both the internet and phone call charges removed from my bill......

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Grahamc33,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when travelling to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in March 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are disappointed to read that certain aspect of your stay with us did not meet your satisfaction and your needs, for which we sincerely apologise. Please rest assured that we are fully committed to constantly improving the quality of our offering and service levels as we strive for perfection in a very complex industry. I do apologise if the associate's response to you came across in an inappropriate manner, we find this unacceptable and have addressed it with all the relevant staff on the front desk. It is standard to charge for Newspapers in all the Southern Sun Hotels except for Director and President card holders of our Frequent Guest Loyalty Programme where it is one of teh benefits. As for the WIFI Service, please note that it is complimentary to all members of the Frequent Guest programme for 2 hours per day, furthermore membership is free and there are no joining fees either. I also apologise that you were not informed about the maintenance shutdown on the day as this was planned in advance and there is no reason why you should not have been informed accordingly at teh time. If there is anything alse that contributed to the 'shoddy service', I would apprecaite it very much if you could afford me a few minutes of your time to forward to me some details so that we can investigate them and take the necessary corrective action where apporpriate.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to make amends and demonstrate the true Southern Sun hospitality to you on your next stay.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Trip Advisor advertised a special for this hotel which I took advantage of earlier in the year for just under a week. The rooms are conveniently spaced, and beds are large and comfortable. The rooms have that clean, modern feel to them. The room service does not offer the best menu, but the hotel is situated within a shopping centre which offers really great places to eat, as well as a great restaurant upstairs. Breakfast had a great variety. Staff were friendly. Compared to other hotels, which I often make use of in the area Melrose arch hotel and /or the Fire and Ice, the price and facilities were comparitively priced and great value. I would go back, especially with the specials advertised which are great prices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Gsuzzy,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when travelling to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in March 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are delighted that your stay with us was 'Just right' and that you find the facilities at the hotel to your satisfaction and meets your needs. We apologies that the standard Inroom Dining Menu (room Service) did not meet with your expectation. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you of the 'My Chef' option that we have at the hotel where you have direct access to the Chef on Duty via a mobile phone and you can request a special dish that you may feel like having or alternatively the Chef can offer you some suggestions for your consideration.

We thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great view from pool deck. Pity about the mediocre food and poor service. Restaurants in the adjacent shopping centre are a better option.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel M, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Dusanka,

Thank you very much for choosing the Southern Sun Hyde Park to stay at when travelling to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experiences at the hotel during your recent stay in March 2012.

Your feedback is always welcomed, valued and much appreciated indeed.

We are disappointed to read that certain aspect of your stay with us did not meet your satisfaction and your needs, for which we sincerely apologies. I make specific reference to your mention that you found the food to be mediocre and the service poor. We are fully committed to constantly improving the quality of our offering and service levels as we strive for perfection in a very complex industry. I would therefore apprecaite it very much if you could afford me a few minutes of your time to forward to me some details about your comments so that we can investigate them and take the necessary corrective action where apporpriate.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and we look forward to receiving further details about the food and service.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews