We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
400
202
45
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
202
45
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareshopping mallglass doorlarge mallexcellent hoteldirect accessshower and toiletmodern hotelnespresso machinelate checkoutstar hotelthe air conditioningsouth africaturn down servicemini barbusiness triprooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 8 nights during my training in Joburg. My company booked this hotel for me and I can't think of anything unpleasant about my stay.

I will start with the hotel location. It is centrally located in a nice and safe Sandton area. The hotel is connected to Sandton City Mall, just take an elevator down and voila you're in the mall. There are many restaurants and cafes near the hotel. Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton Convention Center, and the Gautrain station are all within walking distance.

The room is pretty, clean, and nicely decorated. You will have a Nespresso machine in addition to instant coffees and tea. Daily turn down service and a newspaper are offered.

The breakfast was excellent! Lots of varieties you can choose. Eggs are made to your preference. Who doesn't like to have omelet with cheese or egg benedict for breakfast? Lots of fruits, cereals, fishes, beef, chicken, pork, sausages, potatoes, salads, pastries, you name it.

The staff were helpful especially those serving in the restaurant and lobby. The front desk always seemed busy doing something so I prefer to ask the concierge or customer service instead.

If you go to Joburg, stay here. You will love it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Dian D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and for writing such an extensive review for u

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service and, location and food to be excellent. Your wonderful comments regarding the staff will definitely be distributed to all the departments

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were on a family holiday of 11 people and this was booked by our son in law who stays here regularly on business and has found it a good place to stay.
For our 2 day stay to adjust to the time zone before a 6 hour drive to Kruger for our safari (another review) the Davinci was a very clean place our room was very spacious and clean every day, the front doorman in the bowler hat who greeted us every time we stepped from a taxi was polite and always had a smile (as did all the staff) the chap near the elevator always beat us to the up button :)
The hotel is part of the Mandela Square and Sandton mall buildings so there is lots going on near and around you.

Around the square there are many restaurants with various cuisines for all tastes to enjoy I also believe the gautrain is very close also.
We never had a problem with our room it was spotless and all amenities replaced each day.
Summary:
I would recommend this hotel everyday, mind though as with any hotel they can have their bad and great days whether 5 star or b&b level the staff are only human. Also I imagine that management look at all the reviews and are always adjusting to correct those problem areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Terry S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate all feedback from our esteemed guests. I am very glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient to all of your needs and that you found are staff to be friendly. Your kind comments will be shared amongst all.

We look forward to welcoming you back with bright smiles to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Great hotel! Amazing location! Perfect if you want to do just shopping in Sandton!
All the nice shops are only a lift away. So many food outlets: worth mentioning Wangthai restaurant. Also, try Woolworths raspberry cruffins!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Alx C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and can assure you that your feedback will be distributed to all. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in the heart of Sandton then this is the place for you. It makes shopping in the mall a lot easier as you dont need to even come out of the mall.
Had a suite so it was spacious clean and very comfy. Our only gripe was that our room wasnt cleaned ALL day. And the first time anyone enquired to see if we wanted our room cleaned was 5pm!!! (We had been out ALL morning shopping so it wasnt as if we were hogging the room)
Other than this little snag,we had a comfortable stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank irishandafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017


Dear Irishanda frican
London,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests.
I am very glad to see that you found our location to be most convenient and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the balcony was not cleaned. This is by no means the standard that we aim to achieve and Our Executive Housekeeper will be taking immediate corrective action. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel will be distributed to all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I stayed at DaVinci Hotel in September 2017. The Front desk was very friendly and helpful and accommodated our request with a smile. The room was amazing, very clean, bed was comfortable. Access to Sandton Mall from the hotel was quick and easy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 419tasneem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear 419tasneem,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests.

I am very glad to see that we were able to accommodate your requests with a smile and found our location to be most convenient. Your wonderful comments regarding the team will be distributed to all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews