We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good option in Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Leaving aside the rather unusual lift service from the main entrance (basically,you take the lift up to the Reception floor, where you take a different lift to get to your room), probably due to the hotel being on top of the shopping centre, this hotel is an excellent choice in Sandton. It is literally on the mall and a step away from Mandela Square, where you will find good options to have a meal, the Butcher Shop being one of my favorites!).
The room was spacious, clean, well mantained, insolated, safe, and had everything you would want in a hotel room of a hotel of this category. Only as an FYI, mini bar of hotel is empty, but the room service is extremely fast to serve orders. The gym was pretty good, too, as well as the breakfast, where I would recommend taking a table at the far end of the restaurant where it’s served, next to wher the buffet is located.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madrid-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Madrid-spain,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and for writing such an extensive review for us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service and, location and food to be excellent. Your wonderful comments regarding the staff will definitely be distributed to all the departments.

I would like to apologise if ths was not As a standard, the mini bars in the hotel are empty and thus only stocked on request. I have made a note on your profile so that for future stays we will stock the mini bar for you. Are there any specific items that you wish to have the mini bar stocked with?

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 8 nights during my training in Joburg. My company booked this hotel for me and I can't think of anything unpleasant about my stay.

I will start with the hotel location. It is centrally located in a nice and safe Sandton area. The hotel is connected to Sandton City Mall, just take an elevator down and voila you're in the mall. There are many restaurants and cafes near the hotel. Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton Convention Center, and the Gautrain station are all within walking distance.

The room is pretty, clean, and nicely decorated. You will have a Nespresso machine in addition to instant coffees and tea. Daily turn down service and a newspaper are offered.

The breakfast was excellent! Lots of varieties you can choose. Eggs are made to your preference. Who doesn't like to have omelet with cheese or egg benedict for breakfast? Lots of fruits, cereals, fishes, beef, chicken, pork, sausages, potatoes, salads, pastries, you name it.

The staff were helpful especially those serving in the restaurant and lobby. The front desk always seemed busy doing something so I prefer to ask the concierge or customer service instead.

If you go to Joburg, stay here. You will love it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Dian D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and for writing such an extensive review for u

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service and, location and food to be excellent. Your wonderful comments regarding the staff will definitely be distributed to all the departments

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We were on a family holiday of 11 people and this was booked by our son in law who stays here regularly on business and has found it a good place to stay.
For our 2 day stay to adjust to the time zone before a 6 hour drive to Kruger for our safari (another review) the Davinci was a very clean place our room was very spacious and clean every day, the front doorman in the bowler hat who greeted us every time we stepped from a taxi was polite and always had a smile (as did all the staff) the chap near the elevator always beat us to the up button :)
The hotel is part of the Mandela Square and Sandton mall buildings so there is lots going on near and around you.

Around the square there are many restaurants with various cuisines for all tastes to enjoy I also believe the gautrain is very close also.
We never had a problem with our room it was spotless and all amenities replaced each day.
Summary:
I would recommend this hotel everyday, mind though as with any hotel they can have their bad and great days whether 5 star or b&b level the staff are only human. Also I imagine that management look at all the reviews and are always adjusting to correct those problem areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Terry S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate all feedback from our esteemed guests. I am very glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient to all of your needs and that you found are staff to be friendly. Your kind comments will be shared amongst all.

We look forward to welcoming you back with bright smiles to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Great hotel! Amazing location! Perfect if you want to do just shopping in Sandton!
All the nice shops are only a lift away. So many food outlets: worth mentioning Wangthai restaurant. Also, try Woolworths raspberry cruffins!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Alx C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and can assure you that your feedback will be distributed to all. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in the heart of Sandton then this is the place for you. It makes shopping in the mall a lot easier as you dont need to even come out of the mall.
Had a suite so it was spacious clean and very comfy. Our only gripe was that our room wasnt cleaned ALL day. And the first time anyone enquired to see if we wanted our room cleaned was 5pm!!! (We had been out ALL morning shopping so it wasnt as if we were hogging the room)
Other than this little snag,we had a comfortable stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank irishandafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017


Dear Irishanda frican
London,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests.
I am very glad to see that you found our location to be most convenient and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the balcony was not cleaned. This is by no means the standard that we aim to achieve and Our Executive Housekeeper will be taking immediate corrective action. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel will be distributed to all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
992 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.9 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.1 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#8 of 46 in Sandton
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $225 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing