We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Inn In The World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Holiday Inn In The World”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

As a Priority Club platinum member, I have stayed at many a Holiday Inn and this one is by far the nicest in the world. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is great, with a few good restaurants less than a 5 minute walk away and many many more a 15 minute walk away near the big Sandton City mall. As far as hotel restaurants go, the one at this Holiday Inn does a very good job - I had their healthy lasagna twice. I didn't get my room upgraded this trip because the hotel was so busy, but the standard room was more than adequate and the bed was extremely comfortable. Beyond all that, they have the Skye Bar on the 9th floor with a gorgeous panoramic view of Johannesburg, tasty libations and bumpin' tunes. Also on the 9th floor you'll find a small but well-appointed gym and an outdoor pool.

I would put the Holiday Inn Sandton above many Crowne Plazas that I have stayed at around the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi Geoffrey B,

The entire team at the "INN" are blown away by your kind words. Great to hear we have been able to make such a good impression on your during your stay with us, especially coming from a loyal Priority Club member such as yourself...

We cant wait to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    260
    146
    46
    34
See reviews for
40
87
59
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A good clean hotel , with a great little shopping centre next door.
Security could be an issue with an attempted break in to our room, but the hotel had a lot of security.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrenandjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Your kind feedback is truly appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back at the Holiday Inn Sandton soon!

Greetings from the "INN" team,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road is very conveniently located for most of the Sandton malls and attractions. The property itself is modern and well appointed with all the expected fittings of an international Holiday Inn. As a repeat customer and Priority Club Platinum I received vouchers for complimentary internet, complimentary drinks at the Skye Bar, a welcome snack platter, complimentary bottled water and complimentary ironing. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is also exceptionally good. What really stands out is the friendliness and excellent service from the staff. This is definitely my go-to property when in Sandton.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi sm105,

Wow... We are humbled by your "EXCELLENT" comments on your stay with us, especially as it comes from such an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer such as yourself with over 60 reviews behind your name.

Great to know you have become a true ambassador for the Holiday Inn Sandton!! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon...

At your service,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Very clean, very nice rooms. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Great breakfast selection and service (ate far too much at breakfast!). A few minutes walk to Sandton City and also close to the Gautrain station.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed our sumptious breakfast at the Holiday Inn Sandton! Greetings from the entire team at the hotel and make sure you come back to South Africa soon!

A big Holiday Inn greeting!

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winznau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I'm not a great fan normally of big chain hotels because of the lack of personality and character but the Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road made me revise my opinion. The staff is really above expectations when it comes to welcome, information, assistance, from the security guards at the gate to the breakfast cook who makes exactly what you like with a heartwarming smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THIERRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
GREAT HOTELS GUEST LOVE.... that's our motto! We are so excited to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and we have managed to turn around your perception of "big chain" hotels.

Looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to South Africa. Regards to everyone in Winznau, Switzerland!

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,264 reviews
0.9 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price range (per night): $120 - $224
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing