We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but still good”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 487 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy some of the best steaks in Johannesburg, peruse the extensive wine list or sip a signature cocktail in the centre of the city’s financial district.
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant several times in the past but this time we were disappointed for several reasons but still went there two nights in a row because the food and service is good.
The extensive building taking place in the vicinity spoils the atmosphere and driving there and parking is a problem.
The first night we both ordered filler steak with French fries. The stem was great, the sauce was inadequate and hardly covered the steak and the chips were the worst I have ever tasted. The second night I ordered the ribs which were delicious but had to order mashed potato because I could not face those terrible chips again. My wife ordered the "Christmas in July "special set menu which included turkey and gammon. She enjoyed her 3 course meal.
The service was excellent on both nights that we dined at the restaurant.

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'Peter H'

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your meal.

Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening?
Please feel free to contact Andriano or Thobile under info@thebullrun.co.za for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We only had the one night at the hotel next door. After looking at a few reviews in the area it became clear that this was the place to be. We had two entrees along with two fillet steaks and a good bottle of red wine. The service was exceptional and the food didn't disappoint either.The best steak ive had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank An_Em25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'An_Em25'

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Very professional management. It's a well decorated place with a historic taste. We tried Ostrich and deer meat which were not great. So go with beef :)

Thank letmetellyou90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'letmetellyou90'

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your ostrich and dear meat.

Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening?
Please feel free to contact Andriano or Thobile under info@thebullrun.co.za for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

The ambience of the restaurant is lovely especially the fire place for winter.
The waiters are super friendly and highly efficient. We also didn't wait forever for our food.
The food was well presented and tasty. I was disappointed with the quality of meat though. For the price we were paying, I expected soft-like-butter melt-in-your-mouth soft meat. Alas, my medium sirloin and my husband's fillet on the bone was somewhat chewy. We have paid less for better meat before. i can't complain about the flavor of the meat though.
The chips were done perfectly and the accompanying sauces were also very delicious.

Thank Rulenetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear 'Rulenetjie'

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your steak.

Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening?
Please feel free to contact Andriano or Thobile under info@thebullrun.co.za for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Service was initially slow but we eventually got Petros who looked after us well. I chose ostrich since I've never eaten it before. It was very 'meaty' tasting for a bird. My husband had a Sirloin steak which was tender and delicious. Each dish was served with grilled vegetables. A bottle of Shiraz from Stellenbosch was a good accompaniment. My husband enjoyed a local beer before the meal. Our table, 51, was ideally located near the fire in a cozy spot. The overall cost plus tip was R1000 which I consider reasonable for a delicious meal with good service. I'm keen on trying one of the salads, perhaps steak and Camembert, so will return to the Bull Run restaurant once more during our stay at Protea Balalaika.

Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Karen R

Thank you for such a positive review.

Customer service is an ongoing practice at The Bull Run and we pride our self in keeping our customer happy.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing