We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional fine dining!”
Review of Black Bamboo

Black Bamboo
Ranked #4 of 814 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Black Bamboo offers a truly unique, world-class dining experience, which celebrates the synergy between food, wine and art. An ever-changing a-la-carte menu is inspired by international delicacies with a local twist, and a carefully selected wine list offers interesting options for every palate and occasion.
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We had the pleasure in visiting the restaurant for our wedding anniversary celebration. It was exactly what we expected. The food was typical fine dining at its best. The duck breast was not as soft as I personally would have preferred, but flavourful nonetheless. The fillet melted in your mouth. The white chocolate mousse presentation was so unique and was divine!
The overall setting of this beautiful restaurant and venue makes you want to book again soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Bennie B,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for choosing such a special occasion to celebrate with us. We value your business and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the restaurant during Restaurant Week and what a good choice. The setting is beautiful and classy. The food was the real winner - tasty, full of flavor and worthwhile going back again

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Susan L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time with us and are glad that you will be returning. Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Every now and again one has to spoil ones palate with a fine dining experience. And for my Birthday this is exactly what we did.
What a great experience. One is often disillusioned by the portion size, when it comes to fine dining. However this is not the case with Black Bamboo.
Not only was each serving just enough to tantalize your taste buds, but it was an explosion of flavors.
I can highly recommend there fillet steak as well as the Kudu steaks.
Thank you for a wonderful evening and I am sincerely going to be booking a wine tasting experience in the near future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 716trudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear 716trudis,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We appreciate your feedback and recommendations. Please feel free contact us on: marketing@whleisuregroup.co.za should you like to provide any additional feedback as to how we can improve your dining experience. We value your business and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for restaurant week! We had delicious dishes - everything was flavourful and beautifully presented. Compliments to the Chef! We will be back!!!!

Thank Naude_Marelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Marelize_Schoeman,

Thank you for joining us for Restaurant Week and for taking the time to write a great review for us. Your comments will be passed on to the team and we are thrilled to hear that you will be back. We appreciate your business and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Phenomenal
Thank you for a great experience
And a bonus was a soufflé dessert to die for!
Jafta, you are awesome

Thank 268janeend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear 268janeend,

Thank you for joining us for Restaurant Week and for taking the time to write an excellent review. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bamboo also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Black Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing