We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”
Review of Lobster Trap

Lobster Trap
Ranked #291 of 1,229 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New seafood restaurant in the heart of Bryanston When the Lobster Trap opened its doors three months ago, owner Dave Woodcock had two goals - to invite customers into a unique dining space and serve innovative seafood dishes. The menu is inventive and changes every month allowing the executive chef, Ryan Magnus, to constantly create new dishes, and customers to explore different tastes. For example, for starters try the vanilla butter poached crayfish salad, or the seafood millefeuille (calamari and langoustine tails with layers of crisp phyllo in a coriander and lemongrass seafood sauce). House specialties include fresh linefish served with passion fruit coulis (instead of the usual lemon butter sauce), and kingklip bourguignon. The grilled langoustines and king Mozambique prawns are popular, as is the sushi and oyster bar. Dave's emphasis on fresh food is a priority and only select linefish from KwaZulu-Natal's North Coast is served. The wine choice is extensive, with about 80 boutique wines on offer. Customers are able to choose their wine directly off the shelves. A large selection of cocktails are also served. The restaurant makes the most of it's position: it is elevated off ground level and floor to ceiling windows allow for unobstructed views looking north, over tree tops, towards Midrand - there are no parking lots or noisy street scenes to disturb your experience. The design approach is contemporary, light and airy, making the most of the view. The restaurant seats 68 people comfortably. Dave and his team continue to introduce new items on the menu and cooking techniques. Look out in the near future for live Maine lobster, smoked fish and eel, and to end off your meal, homemade ice-cream for dessert.
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We used to go to Lord prawn for sea food the lobster trap is run by the old manager excellent seafood platter and sushi of the best quality. The prices are very reasonable

Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Lobster Trap
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2016

Visited on advice from a colleague, whilst the fish I had were excellent, I went there for their specialty, a Kilogram of prawns, and was advised not on the menu tonight, then was advised lobster was only frozen, no fresh lobster and then advise that langoustines were also not available, very disappointing for what I expected to be a seafood restaurant.
I would recommend the day of your booking call and check if they in fact have on the menu the meal you are after, i.e. their specialty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The tilt of the review says it all. Having travelled a good 30 minutes by taxi to get to this restaurant only to be told that they had no lobster our party of 5 immediately left feeling rather disappointed especially as we had researched this place on the internet specifically to go eat lobster.

    • Food
Thank Clivethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D849HXdavidw, Guest Relations Manager at Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Dear Clivethegreat

We apologise about not having any fresh lobster or crayfish at the moment but it has been quite hard to source and when we did manage to find the product it was not worth purchasing due to the high cost involved. We are waiting for the new East coast season to arrive and with that hopefully the price will drop back to normal. Once again we do apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Always wanted to go and was expecting something above average.

The service was good and my oysters were great.

However,I had a Soul fish main. Think it cost around R170. It was cooked to death and seemed very small.For that price I expect either two or one decent sized fish.

The restaurant wasn't even half full at its peak on a Saturday.... I really expected more!

Thank MikeBlue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Amazing sushi and atmosphere. Friendly service. Beautiful view of Bryanston. The main meal I had was also so good. Fresh and delicious.

1  Thank kris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lobster Trap also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing