We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan's Delight”
Review of Leafy Greens Cafe

Leafy Greens Cafe
Ranked #38 of 1,477 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 May 2018

This restaurant is in a garden setting with some tables inside. It has a "cafe" feel. The food is delicious and very filling! It's such a delight to know that all the items on the menu are vegan / plant based. The vanilla ice cream is particularly good. We opted for the buffet. Service was good even 'though they were busy. My 6 year old came with us and explored the farm of vegetables and nuts that is part of the property. Great health shop inside too.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank U6469LAdebbiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2018

Although I am a meat eater I enjoy Leafy Greens Vegan menu. The atmosphere is cosy whether you sit inside the small restaurant or outside in the lovely garden. The Buffet Breakfasts and Lunches are a total treat or you may order from the Menu. Everything is so tasty and refreshing. We often find Ourselves very reluctant to leave, thus my title , you always want to Linger Longer. The Owner and staff are absolutely fabulous.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DebbieB4130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

This Sunday lunch was a vegan's culinary paradise. The variety of the dishes was really fantastic. Everything tasted good - fresh and yummy. My favourites were the rosemary roast potatoes and the Italian pizza bites. We were a bit nervous about trying the dairy free, sugar free, gluten free (usually taste free) desserts but we were once again amazed at how delicious the chocolate tart, cheesecake, chocolate log and apple crumble were. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative was the pesky free ranging chickens.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Kangarou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

May be a good vegetarian option, but I was disappointed. Menu has very few a la carte options, and pretty much all the options are also on the buffet. So buffet it was, which I don’t like as nothing gets prepared freshly for you. For buffet it was better than most. Service was friendly but slow. Not in a rush to go back. And that is not because it is vegetarian.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank AchimKlennert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

What a pleasure to find so much on the menu - it makes a change from all the meat loving places, plus has gluten free to boot.A little pricey but worth it for the fresh produce and great choices available. The service was a little slow but as the place was full and we were not in a hurry, it was fine.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leafy Greens Cafe also viewed

Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 
Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Leafy Greens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing