We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just dropped in!”
Review of Pronto

Pronto
Ranked #49 of 1,387 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in for supper on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was quite busy and we got a table on the covered balcony. Definitely changed a lot since I was last here. The real Italian feel was some how lost in the reno! During the evening it was difficult to identify our waiter! It was as though anyone who happened to walk passed ‘waitered’. Consequently the service was quite abysmal. We started with a caprese salad with sour mozzarella. Not a great start. Then a waiter came with our main dished! All the dirty plates and cutlery were still on the table! He looked at us as though it was our fault they were still there and hovered waiting for us to clear them away. Eventually realizing this was not going to happen he put the main dishes on another table, cleared our dirty plates .............. don’t think we will go back in a hurry!

Thank r0bbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha M, Owner at Pronto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there. Thank you so much for your constructive criticism. I have shared it with all our team and we will do our best to use your review to better our service and standards. Consistency is indeed the aim of the game but as it is such a human business there’s is indeed always the possibility for error. I apologise on behalf of the team and hope that you will see your experience as more connected to the human element then to the upgrade of our facilities. Happy dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We were a group of around 10 people. We went to Pronto’s for a birthday dinner and we had absolutely no complains. The lady who attended us was very kind and helpful. The food is the best italian food you can find in Johanesburg, from pastas to pizzas to lasagnas. As an appetizer they served us bruschetta (on the house) which tasted really good . The food came really fast and the drinks also. The only thing I didn’t like was that the restaurant didn’t really have its own bathroom, but otherwise I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Nipi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha M, Owner at Pronto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi there - thanks so much for your lovely review. We look forward to sharing it with our team as we value kindness and being of service above all else. Apologies that we don't have our own bathrooms - something to aspire to in the future. Happy dining and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Many thanks for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We visited on the 23rd of Feb, and had Ali(hope I have the right spelling) serving us. Fortunately we did the reservation, the restaurant was packed and very busy, but we did not wait for long for our food and Ali served us well.
The starters were good but the pastas and pizza we ordered were quite average, we definitely had better somewhere else, so it’s quite a disappointment since I recommended the restaurant to my family.
The restaurant was busy and noisy maybe because it was Friday night but the atmosphere was good. However the food can definitely be improved.

Thank Citycactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha M, Owner at Pronto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi there. Thank you for letting us know that Ali served you well and that you enjoyed the ambiance but not the food. We will share this review with the staff as we do all reviews in the hope of improving our standard. Happy dining and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We visited quite a number of Mediterranean restaurants in the past but Pronto's meals were the best. The pasta was delicious and the wine the waiter suggested was excellent. Well done. ..see you soon

Thank mariodewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha M, Owner at Pronto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hello and thank you for your kind and lovely review. It is with pleasure that I will share it with all the staff. Happy dining and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Love this place & hope it is just as good our next trip to Joburg! We had brunch, lunch and dinners here. It is a easy walk from Liz at Lancaster guest house. a bit of shopping surrounding it which makes for a nice outing. The food was amazing!! Fresh pasta and flavorful sauces!

Thank mcj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha M, Owner at Pronto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are a Neighbourhood Restaurant and thankful to Liz for recommending us to you. We hope to see you on your next trip again. Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pronto also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Pronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing