We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not spacial than other parks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park
Reviewed 17 October 2011

During a working visit in Johannesburg, I found a few hours, which I took to nature.
Since Lions Park is located close to town I chose visited there.

Advantages of the place are:
1. Petting lion cubs.
2. The park provides a close encounter with the lions.

The disadvantages are:
1. Except lions and Wild Dog, the place does not offer any special animal viewing (maybe far away giraffe).
2. Guided tour only goes one for two hours, so if you miss it, you're stuck for two hours without doing anything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our footy team are called the Lions and we wanted to ensure we saw these magnificent creatures up close. Just as well, because we saw the rest of the Big Five in the wild but no lions.

We toured with a private driver which was good as we were able to dawdle along at our own pace and spend time just watching the animals doing their thing. There were so many lions, lionesses and cubs, and being a Monday, we were able to get up close.

We found out why they say keep your windows closed when a lioness stuck her head in a guy's window and nipped him on his belly. No harm done, but when the wife opened her door it got a lot scarier.

The cheetah was spectacular and the giraffe stuck his head over the fence and the little kids gave him a pat on the forehead.

We had an enjoyable time here and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at the Lion park on a Sunday and it was one of the best experiences of our trip. It was busy on the weekend but the next morning it was much quieter and we could have more time with the lion cubs. You can play with the lion cubs, then go and feed the giraffe with a big tongue!! You can also do a private game drive around the rest of the grounds. It would be good if you haven't done any game driving in Africa. We still enjoyed it although we had just been to Kruger. You can stay on site in luxury tents which are great, especially when you can hear the Lions at night. There is a restaurant there too so everything is covered. We would go again but make sure we go there on a weekday as it is quieter and the cubs don't get quite as grumpy

Thank DuffmanBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetaPyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndyVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
31 km away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
22.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
24.2 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#53 of 126 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
23 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
20.8 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

Address: Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing