We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality, clean, friendly & safe - A++”
Review of Amanzi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanzi Guest House
Ranked #9 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality, clean, friendly & safe - A++”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

i stayed here with my wife. the place is in an excellent location, close to all the restaurants and shopping centres. The facilities were excellent, clean and new. It's very private and set in lovely gardens, you wake up to a orchestra of bird songs every day.

Pam who runs the place is an excellent host and ensure anything you need is provided, otherwise she leaves you in peace, this is like having your own luxury garden cottage in the heart of johannesburg.

I've stayed at many places in Johannesburg and can confidently say this offers the best value for money and lovely experience, second to none.

Room Tip: large garden cottage is idea for small families otherwise the studio room my wife and i shared was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing compliments about my guest house, the staff and the decor.
My staff and i are really concerned about our guests comfort and so we are delighted you enjoyed the stay with us, and look forward to a return visit! warm wishes from Pam and her staff at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarst, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I have stayed at the Amanzi for 5 weeks and really enjoyed the apartment, the neighbourhood, the hospitality. The apartment has been tidy and clean all the time, the team is perfectly nice and supportive. I would stay at the Amanzi again - no doubt!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
We at Amanzi also enjoyed your 5 week stay with us! So delighted you too (as well as a few other guests relocating to SA) have chosen to live in the area and wishing you all the best for 2012! Pam and the team at Amanzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If you are looking for a charming, quiet, quality guest house in Johannesburg, Amanzi is it. The garden is pleasantly natural with trees and shrubs, the rooms/apartments large, well-lit and clean, the staff and owner friendly and gracious. The breakfast is very good--fresh fruit, fresh juice, excellent bread, good yogurt, nicely done eggs, tasty tomato and a few other choices. I found the place peaceful and relaxing. You need a car to access it and the internet goes out at times but I understand that is a common problem in South Africa. On the whole, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw were very good. The rooms have a kitchenette.The guest house also has cottages a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyotika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments on Amanzi - and that you found it peaceful, quiet and relaxing - many people are surprised at these words to describe Johannesburg! And thank you for your breakfast remarks - I really try to provide healthy fresh delicious fruit and food!
Hope to see you back at Amanzi this year! Sincerely Pam and the team at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had worked in Johannesburg for a while which brought me to stay in various amazing guesthouses…until I found the perfect one: Amanzi.
The reasons are various and simple:
- Perfect location, in one of the most lively neighborhood in the center of JHB;
- Spacious, comfortable and nicely furbished rooms;
- Lovely garden with pool and even a “tropical forest”;
- Cleanliness.
But most of all I enjoyed the hospitality of the owner and manager who fill the atmosphere with her great energy and add to the place with her touch “quel certo non so che” which you cannot find anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I am delighted that you think Amanzi Guest House is the place to stay! I have lived in
this neighbourhood for the last 20 years, and wouldnt choose to live anywhere else in
South Africa! As you say, convenient, lively, yet still has a village feel. Thank you for your
very nice comments about the rooms - Yes, when I designed them, I ensured that space
was a priority! Look forward to seeing you in South Africa again! Sincerely Pam and the team at Amanzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empangeni
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My third stay at Amanzi guest house was undoubtedly the most wonderful. Initially, my wife and I were disappointed to find that the Belhambra Cottage which we’d become so well accustomed to was unavailable for our stay. Disappointment quickly turned into delight the moment we stepped into one of Amanzi’s apartments. Spacious, well-appointed, picturesque and clean, the apartment was a very pleasant place to be in, and has a superb view of the peaceful garden. The water feature in the garden provided a wonderful soundtrack in the evenings. Pam’s hospitality and her warm personality made this visit extra special. There’s no doubt that I will stay at Amanzi Guest House when I’m in Joburg again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phaks N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelamary52, Owner at Amanzi Guest House, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Amanzi once again! I am so pleased you loved the
apartments, and enjoyed the space, the view over the garden, and the sound of water.
The cottages have such a different feel, being on the ground and more traditionally
furnished. I loved designing the apartments, and planning the contemporary feel.
Look forward to having you and your beautiful wife stay at Amanzi for the 4th time!
Sincerely from Pam and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.5 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
3.3 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
3.6 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 297 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 297 in Johannesburg
344 reviews
1.2 km away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#3 of 297 in Johannesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Guest House

Property: Amanzi Guest House
Address: 64 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price range (per night): $114 - $152
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanzi Guest House, AA TravelGuides Superior Grading, 4 Star TGCSA, Central Johannesburg, South Africa, offers luxury bed and breakfast / guesthouse accommodation with self-catering options. Four contemporary urban chic apartments each with private entrances, and three garden cottages. Free unlimited high speed fibre optic Internet access (50 Mps), Satellite TV, secure property with undercover parking. Pool set in indigenous garden. Added luxuries like hairdryers, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and daily refilled bottles of E-spring filtered water. Convenient neighbourhood shops less than a kilometre away - a general grocer, fruit and veg, pharmacy, restaurant - minutes from Sandton, Rosebank, Melrose Arch, Johannesburg CBD. Ideal for business and leisure travelers. Amanzi Guest House specialises in long stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing