We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best decision of my elective”
other traveller has booked this property
view from patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from patio
view from bottom of garden koi pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
view from patio
view from bottom of garden
koi pond
swimming pool at night
entrance to Swanage
Leopard loft
a double bed room
dining room tables seat 16
kitchen view from scullery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tim B
1 review
“Best decision of my elective”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in July 2014

I undertook a 6-week trauma elective at Chris Hani Baragwanath in Summer 2014. My first visit to Johannesburg, I was understandably anxious about where I was going to live, how I'd commute to the hospital, how safe I'd be getting around the city etc. I found this accommodation through the recommendation of a friend who'd stayed the previous year. What a brilliant tip it turned out to be. Beautiful home, a friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable host, and a great mix of other visiting elective students. I felt I got a real insight into the local area, and a huge amount of advice on how best to spend my free time. (Local restaurants, bungy jumps, safari... to name a few). The house is brilliant: spacious rooms, huge social space, well-stocked kitchen and an industrial BBQ all for the use of guests. The area seemed very safe, and I didn't have any problems during my stay. Large supermarket a few minutes walk away, with a big shopping mall, butcher and off-licence a few minutes drive away. It's an easy commute on good quality roads to the hospital, and our host helped us to organise a hire-car for our stay. The price was very competitive, and I think extremely good value for what was included. If you're looking for a proper 'home' for your stay, with a friendly sociable atmosphere and somewhere to relax after a long trauma on-call shift, this is definitely the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and welcoming atmosphere, good quality living standard, all local amenities within easy access.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thanks Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VL00000
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home :)”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay with Alan was excellent! He was a perfect host/dad to all us medical students who were visiting at the Bara and Charlotte Maxeke hospitals. We stayed for 4 weeks and had no trouble at all becoming native south africans - renting a car as parking was easy in Alan's drive and the area the house is in is very safe. Lots of shops nearby and lovely kitchen to cook in. The house has a very open vibe with everyone mingling and often having barbeque dinners together. Alan also has an excellent entertainment system with several DVDs on hand for nights in. If you end up at Swanage, do give Alan a big hug from us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you, glad to have made Swanage your home, Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notfromhe...
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Homesick after leaving Swanage - still!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in June 2014

The most fortuitous part of my trauma elective at Baragwanath was staying at Swanage. Alan is amazing - felt at home from the start.....the house is in beautiful surrounds, the suburb safe for Johannesburg (I did a 8km run most days without issues). A community feel with other doctors and medical students. Beautifully stocked kitchen, shops nearby. Local ear and advice....plus safe/ supportive as all in house medical in background. Alan gave awesome advice for travel following my elective, stayed in touch since. I plan to visit soon - plus if specialty training allows, head back to work. Would I recommend? Absolutely! (as long as youre not taking the last bed when I want to go back!!)

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thanks Sharon...we will always welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relemjo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Medical elective - April-May 2015”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed in Swanage with friends on my medical elective for 8 weeks from April to May 2015. Alan has a large property with spacious rooms and 2 bathrooms. Alan is an extremely accommodating host and really goes the extra mile to make you feel completely at home. If you get a chance I would recommend going on safari with Alan to Pilanesburg!

I will definitely be returning in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Thanks Rele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominik M
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing