We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food no atmosphere”

Ocean Basket Lakefield
Ranked #65 of 90 Restaurants in Benoni
Description: At Ocean Basket Lakefield you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Restaurant details
Description: At Ocean Basket Lakefield you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

My son and I went to the Ocean Basket in Lakefield the food was good as always just lacks a bit of atmosphere, other than that the service was very good and staff very friendly.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Lakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Hey there Tana D,

Thanks for the review. We appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

So yet again after a previous bad experience where food was sent back twice came for a quick lunch. Poor service, stale bread. Ordered a prawn and mussel combo with spinach and butternut only after moving inside from outside was I then served stale bread and told that they did not order spinach and butternut so would I like stirfry veg....
After all the bad reviews I have seen and about management you would expect them to ensure they improve. Even just saw the 1 other table with customers return food now. Here is to hoping mine is at least right and tastes good!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NikitaMartin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Ordered a takeaway. Grilled Kingklip Medium 200g with salad. (R109.00) I arrived 15 minutes before closing time and the manager was kind to allow the waiter to take my order. Good friendly service and was offered a drink whist waiting. The fish was well prepared and succulent.
Delicious food. Safe, secure and free parking.Worth a try when you are in Benoni.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank Sewpersads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The food was ok as was the service- but it was freezing and there was a huge wide open door that stayed open, even though the signage was blew over??

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank gillv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We ordered. Only saw our waitress once. 49min later one dish arrives. 10min after the 2nd dish arrives and then we were told that in 2min the 3rd one would be here... 25min later we still waiting. Went to debonairs and the service was top notch

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank SuperCallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Lakefield also viewed

Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Daveyton, Benoni
 
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ocean Basket Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing