We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for anything better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for anything better”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Kim McLean, the owner, made us feel right at home. Right away, you felt totally comfortable in her gorgeous surroundings. It was super clean, had everything you would need, and was well appointed. It was an excellent "home-base" for seeing the area, and was within walking distance of the ocean, restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were terrific and plentiful. Parking was available on the property. There was an ample supply of maps, travel brochures, etc. for touring the area. We would not have found this gem by ourselves, but it was highly recommended by Mills Africa Travel of Lynnwood, WA USA (-----------------------) who help us plan our trip. This is a place we would definitely come to again. Thank you, Kim.

Room Tip: If you not great at climbing stairs, I suggest asking for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

In a country that has many, many good B & Bs, The Anchorage will not let you down. It is owned by Kim McLean who is always friendly, pleasant and professional. The rooms are clean and comfortable and each one is a little different and remarkably private. It is walking distance to the beach and not far from shops, casino etc. We have stayed there many times.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcase, you can ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowhite22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Anchorage Guest House is fabulous! The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious, and filled with all the amenities. The guest house itself is located in a prime spot, as I was able to walk to many of the key tourist areas in Port Elizabeth, including points-of-interest, restaurants, and the Boardwalk. Plus, there is an ATM nearby. The breakfast was fresh, delicious and filling, the staff were professional and efficient, and I had a peaceful sleep both nights. To top it all off, Kim, the owner, was so accommodating. She was willing to help on a moment's notice, did what she said she was going to do with alacrity and reliability (e.g. call for a taxi, recommend restaurants, help make sightseeing arrangements, etc.), and knew exactly how and when to be engaged with her guests. There will be no reason for me to look for other housing when I return to Port Elizabeth. When I find something I like, I stick with it. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migliaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here for 9 night's, It was great, the breakfast was great and used the bar in the evening with the owner Kim who is also great ( she told me to say that).
Hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanPrintService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

With close attention to detail this guest house, provided great touches which made our stay perfect. Our large room had a kitchenette, full range bathroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were carefully cooked to order using high quality ingrediants. It is in an ideal postion on the Garden Route to enjoy an evening stroll over looking the ocean or explore nearby restaurants. We were puzzled by the 2008 entry which stated that the guest house was 'tired'. We brought our family to The Anchorage (same owner) in 2008 and certainly did not find the rooms 'tired'. I have also stayed in 2007 and 2009. The rooms were not 'tired' then either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HestorHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.7 km away
Amani Guest Lodge
Amani Guest Lodge
#4 of 74 in Port Elizabeth
76 reviews
0.3 km away
17 5th Avenue Walmer Guesthouse
17 5th Avenue Walmer Guesthouse
#25 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
43 reviews
1.0 km away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
31.1 km away
The Garden Lodge Guest House
24.8 km away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 4 in Beachview
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guesthouse

Property: Anchorage Guesthouse
Address: 7 6th Avenue, Port Elizabeth 6205, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price range (per night): $91 - $145
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, is beautiful and spacious offering luxurious lodging with true South African hospitality. The Anchorage Guesthouse has been established to offer the discerning visitor a comfortable, elegant base from which to explore the interesting and beautiful Eastern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing