We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Interior, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal farm produce
Kitchen, Merlin's Cottage
'Farm manager' Kashmir, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Anglo-Arab horses, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Watsonia (fynbos) by the lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal water hole, Angels Rest Farm
Egyptian geese at the waterhole, Angels Rest Farm
Bushbuck visiting, Angels Rest Farm
Meadow fynbos in summer, Angels Rest Farm
Maya, Angels Rest Farm
Sunset over Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlins Cottage
Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Rhode Island Red, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Sun rise over Angels Rest Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Zoë Lynne...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Piece of heaven”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fantastic weekend away at Angels Rest!! Liz warmly welcomed us as we arrived and were even treated with a basket of goodies which was really unexpected and so thoughtful. Merlin's cottage is just the place if you are looking to rest and recuperate... surrounded by the beautiful surroundings and horses that freely roam the farm added that something special! With two small children this cottage was ideal! Fitted with all the home comforts. Liz has gone out of her way to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We've been to many similar accommodation types but there is definitely something uniquely different about Angels Rest - you will not be sorry! Thanks again Liz, see you next year again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and abundance of animal life eg: Horses roaming freely
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thanks so much Zoe, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again next year, with good wishes, Liz and Hannes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thanks Alex, it was our pleasure to meet you and Beryl. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in Merlin's Cottage again soon. All best, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HartleyWD
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Merlin's cottage is spacious and comfortable. Despite being only a 15 minute drive to Plettenberg Bay and many attractions, it is a peaceful place. There is no light pollution so that on a clear night the stars are wonderful to see.

Once you are sitting on the deck it is difficult to leave the place. There are eleven horses roaming free, a wide variety of birds to see and even a troop of baboons dashed across the field one day. The horses love carrots and if you feed them they will come knocking on the door for more each day, nothing to worry about they are gentle creatures.

There is also cat called Cashmere, who has lots of character and will check you out as soon as you arrive.

Liz and Hannes are helpful and friendly. They greet you with fresh farm eggs and all the information you need about the many attractions in the area.

This was a unique experience for us, next time we are in the area we will stay in Merlin's cottage again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing