We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
212
23
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
23
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird lifesue's breakfastswater liliessue paulbirding tripperfect peacepeaceful locationthe perfect hostgarden routefor making our stay so memorablefriendly hospitalitya real pleasureattention to detaileach morningrelaxing staylocal attractionsvisit plett
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The welcome was very warm and we immediately got a coffee. The possibility to go canoeing on the small river was fun. Sitting on the veranda in the evening watching the birds and drinking a bottle of wine was very relaxing. And the breakfast was unbeatable: although we were the only guests on that day, there was a huge choice of breakfast options.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slange645959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We loved sharing our river views with you... thanks for your review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Away from the hustle and bustle of central Plettenberg but well placed for all local attractions this is a wonderful place to stay if you want to combine superb attention to detail, delicious breakfasts (especially the creamed mushrooms!) and warm and friendly hospitality

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jancar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for a wonderful review! :)
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We have spent 3 nights at this magic place. Thank you Sue, for making our stay so Special. The room was very comfortable, your garden is like in paradise with all the birds, the river and the tranquility and your breakfast was wonderful. This was certainly one of the most special places we have ever been. We will never forget it and will keep the memory in our hearts. With warm regards. Andrea, Ragnar and Olivier Dietmann

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

We loved having you all to stay, Andrea - hope you'll come again!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Beautiful. Peaceful. Comfortable. Welcoming. A gorgeous spot right by the river beautifully upgraded by the owners Sue and Paul. They made us feel very welcome, with a wealth of information about local facilities as well as detailed notes on local wildlife and walks. It was a joy to sit on the terrace morning and evening to watch the birds. Canoeing along the river in the early morning a special treat. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterhimpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you for the awesome review, so well written!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The location next to the River Bitou is wondrous with canoing available and so many birds and natural wildlife to see. Sue's garden on to the river is the best place for viewing in peaceful surroundings. The room was lovely overlooking the garden and the breakfast first class. Sue is a wonderful host

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thank you for the lovely review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews