We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Utopia in the City"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Utopia in the City"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This little gem is worth a visit. I have just spent a week there while on a business trip to East London, it is very central and made getting to my appointments very easy. My room had the most spectacular view, the service was very good especially by the evening staff in the restaurant.
I had a large screen TV in my room with a good selection of channels, but somehow I never got to view much TV as I loved every moment of sitting on the balcony enjoying the most beautiful sunsets while watching all the activity on the beach and on the river.

I highly recommend the Blue Lagoon Hotel and will be returning for another week very soon.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a river and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
37
30
7
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

The room was clean and nice. Hotel is far away from other amenities. Without a car you will not survive. Beach clean and accessible but there are no lifeguards. Staff helpful. Good for a quiet weekend with a book and beach walks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maks0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I werre needing to overnight in East London and chose this Hotel becuase of its ease to the N2. We were put in a 2 bedroom flat, which needed to be upgraded desperately. 1 small TV in lounge with about 5 channels. Bedding was clean but lumpy and towels were grey. Toilet never stopped runnning the entire night and there was way too much Mildew in the shower stall.
Would not do this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hattinghme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Keeping in mind that I am in E. London S.A., the "Lagoon" is a good as any and better than most. The rooms are about average, few t.v. channels are available, no water view from almost all of the rooms, and the cost for goods received is below average. The rooms could do with an upgrade to justify the cost of the venue.
The bar, on the other hand, is pleasant with adequate stocks. The staff is eager to please and I receive good service at a fair price.
The restaurant is somewhat above average with a good menu selection and pleasing food. The head cook is very pleasant and cares about the quality of food being served.
The wait staff is defensive, a little slow, but, under the direction of the cook staff gets the job done.
Overall, an average stay with inflated prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2332123ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having used tripadvisor for a few years now I have very rarely had to write a review of somewhere that I thought was truly terrible as I tend to avoid places which get those reviews. However as this hotel had very few reviews I took a bit of a risk and booked it anyway, I'm sorry to say that I really wish that I had not.

Rather than indulge in too much of a rambling and emotive narrative about what I felt was so very poor about this hotel I thought I would do a "pro's and con's" comparison to let other travellers make up their own minds about whether it deserves my 1 star rating:

Pro's

- Good location down on the riverside, with really excellent sunsets
- Friendly bar and restaurant staff

Con's

- Upon arrival I sat out on the terrace to enjoy the sunset only to fall backward and crack my head on the wall because the chair had only 3 legs. It was only luck that prevented me falling through the plate glass window. I took the chair to reception and explained what happened, they simply laughed. There was no apology, no conern for the guest, nothing, just laughter.

- We were told that the little grey electronic key would give us access to the beach by the river (one of the attractions of staying there). However when we went to use it we discovered that the path to the beach was cordoned off and had been entirely dug up - the beach was inaccessible. How the reception staff did NOT know this, I have no idea.

- Upon arrival I noticed that there was considerable construction work going on at the hotel - I asked whether our room was near it, "oh no" I was told. However, it was, of course, facing the construction site. Banging starts at 7.30am by the way - what a nightmare.

- Other trivial points would be that there were cockroaches in our room (nowhere else in our tour did we encounter this) and that the food is expensive for what it is.

My main concern would be that the reception staff were just so plain rude - not even a "did you enjoy your stay" on check out. Chairs can be fixed, constuction completed but if the same uncaring, incompetant staff remain then nothing really changes.

Oh...they then had the cheek to charge me for the room twice!!! (In fairness I did get the second amount refunded).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonHotel, General Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Dear Vedev,
Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay at the Blue Lagoon Hotel, it is only through honest feedback like what we recieved from you that we can rectify our short comings. We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations and rendering poor service to you.

At the time of your stay the hotel was nearing a completion of a major refurbishment, which I am delighted to say has been completed, this has included a new walkway to the beach and new patio furniture for the rooms amongst other improvements.

All feedback wether positive or negative is invaluable to us to set standards and benchmarks in order for us to improve or make improvements to our product.

Once again our sincere apologies for the poor service and facilities that you recieved.

Kind Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
5.1 km away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.2 km away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#9 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
5.5 km away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.4 km away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#12 of 13 in East London
2.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Blue Bend Place | P.O. Box 2177, East London 5205, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in East London
Price range (per night): $157 - $267
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing