We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once off stay”
Review of Kennaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kennaway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in East London
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

The place is not in a good condition it is very old, and not very clean. The elevator is stone age....if you are impatient, better take the stairs. They should consider changing the shower heads. One thing I did enjoy was the view of the ocean and the sound of the ocean it was very relaxing...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Roczanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2016

Walking into the modern reception area raises expectations - although it does end up being an eclectic mix beyond the facade. The lift doesn't always stop level with the floor, and the rooms still echo the 70s in many respects – for example, the lampshades. One does edge into the 90s with a square box television. The room was nonetheless comfortable and spacious, and included a seating area. Water pressure was low and unfortunately, not much sea view from my room on the side of the building.

Our late arrival for the buffet dinner seemed to compete with the process of staff removing the left-overs. There was no red wine available, and drinks were served in tins with a glass having to be requested.

The parking area around the back is unmaintained and the rear entrance is unassuming. A bit more sprucing up needed overall, along with improving staff skills.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WP664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

A beautiful and very spacious room # 310 with wide sea views. Situated on the promenade and the room is very well furnished for with a double bed, a bar (...?) And nice seats at the window.. Too bad the bathroom is a bit old, but otherwise a very good hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

After a most dismal first night in a hotel just up the road, I had to spend another night in the city and opted for this property at a very fair and reasonable rate.

The Kennaway has been a beacon on East London's esplanade for many decades and it was a pleasure adorning its presence again after many years.

The room assigned to me was well-appointed with beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. All rooms in the hotel have sea views. The hotel is situated on the Esplanade and in walking distance of fairly good restaurants (Guido's is part of the building serving fabulous pizzas and other meals). A superette and ATM is close by.

The room was clean and fresh. It had a flat screen tv, coffee station and lounge area with views of the ocean.

After a tremendous sleep, one is awakened with the sounds of the ocean and crisp sea air.

The breakfast is average, but freshness was at the order of the day.

All in all, a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing, making this a unique destination!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MC_Hammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Okay, this is not entirely true: you receive 30min free wifi when you check in and thereafter you have to pay R50 for every hour. If you want to be connected the whole day - as most normal people might - that could cost you up to R800 ($50) per day, which is more than I pay for wifi in a month. It is more than the hotel room costs per day. Since we were there on a conference for a week, and all delegates except me where international, this was super challenging: people couldn't whatsapp, email or Skype their offices nor families. I bought a couple of extra data bundles, but even so am stressed out about my cellphone bill at the end of this month. We asked the hotel if they'd be willing to negotiate some kind of conference package regarding internet access, but no go. Seriously, guys, please change your policy on this matter if you want to attract international business in future.
Why the four stars? Well, it is superb value for money, superbly situated (I watched a pod of bottlenose dolphins playing in the surf from my bedroom window one morning), and the rooms are spacious, clean and very nicely laid out. I love the fact that my suite had two levels and an uninterrupted view of the Indian Ocean. The conference venues are also pretty neat, and the staff are professional, friendly and approachable.
It's a tough choice between which I appreciated more - the layout of the venue or the people, but I think the people deserve a special mention. The hotel is currently understaffed but even so, the friendly professionalism of the staff was outstanding. They were consistently approachable, friendly and helpful - even with a large, and very demanding, group like ours.
I enjoyed my stay here and should I travel to East London again, I would choose to stay at the Kennaway.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
654 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
203 reviews
3.9 km away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 km away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 14 in East London
191 reviews
2.8 km away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennaway Hotel

Address: Esplanade | Orient Beach, East London, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: $112 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennaway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kennaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing