We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
50
104
59
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
104
59
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews constitution hill rooftop bar park station top floor sky level living area rooms are spacious complimentary shuttle central location nice stay home away from home kitchenette johannesburg security gym gautrain uber
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed here for 10 days. The view was great and staff was very accommodating. The main restaurant had excellent food and the service was wonderful. It is an older hotel but overall, not bad. The location is great. You can walk to the market and do some sightseeing. The excursions were nice. The zoo and the safari were great. Very affordable place. The people were wonderful. I would visit again, maybe try another more up to date hotel though.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wanderer709145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddebbie P, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Wanderer709145. 10 days is a long time to stay in a hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. All your positive comments will be passed onto the STAFF and their Managers so that they hear they are doing a good job. You will be pleased to know that we started our refurbishment programme 2 weeks ago. This will be done floor by floor so when you visit again you will see a modernised hotel. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

This is an old building and screams that Marriot spends money on keeping it going.

Breakfast was just OK. Fresh pastries, fruit, sausages etc.

Room was lovely and big, however the decor reminds you of what is a hotel apartment. Alias, missing the microwave or stove to cook. Anyway, we ordered food in the room, as it is NOT recommended to stroll at night, my burger was an awesome patty but terrible bread, my friend's pasta he said was the worst he ever had.

Need to highlight the friendliness of all the staff working as bell boys, reception, restaurant etc. They were truely real and nice.

I would only recommend staying in this hotel or area only if u have an actually something happening in the City.

The roof top bar and gym are really small, but do offer an escape, bar man and the view were lovely to engage with. The gym I used it once, things are clean and work in there. But it mostly orbits around cardio exercises. There is an indoor rower concept2

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank georgevrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddebbie P, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear georgevrio. Your comments on the food will certainly be passed to the chef. We will ensure that your kind remarks about the STAFF are placed on the Notice Board for all to see. We have started our refurb programme floor by floor , so there will be a more modern room afterwards. We will not however not install cooking appliances as the hotel is not a self catering facility. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We phoned the hotel from Park Station upon arrival there by Gautrain, and a complimentary shuttle was sent to pick us up. The room was pie-shaped in a roundish building, a living area before the widest end being the bedroom. Good food in the convenient hotel restaurant. The service was awesome, everyone was so helpful, wish we could[ve stayed longer.

Room tip: Top floor is common area for view. Room on any floor is good as it's not noisy.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddebbie P, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear dragonmom2. It is always such a pleasure to get such positive comments from our GUESTS. Your Review will be posted at our canteen for all the STAFF to see that their hard work is indeed appreciated. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Good hotel, not so decorated.
Big room with balcony and nice view.
Wouldn’t give it 5 because small things like the showerhandle wasn’t really stuck and a few lamps didn’t work but works great overall.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lillyonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddebbie P, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Jonathan J. You will be pleased to know that we have already started with our refurbishment programme which we are doing one floor at a time. When you return in the future you will see a great improvement. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Parktonian All Suite in Braamfontein was a nice stay. The room having been placed in was on an upper floor. It had a good view of the city-scape including a few attractive buildings. The upstairs had a small infinity pool that was in operation. It was nice to look at even though the weather had not quite permitted use. The hotel is gated and secure. The television was flat screen, perhaps 40-45 inches and the room facilities were clean. They came by every day to perform housekeeping duties as well. The staff was all super friendly and helpful. Recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddebbie P, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Shane G. We are so glad you enjoyed our Skylevel, and had the opportunity of seeing Johannesburg from the sky. Positive comments about the STAFF is always so appreciated and your Review will be placed on the STAFF Notice Board. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews