We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Spicery

The Spicery
Ranked #1 of 661 Restaurants in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in historic Catlin Court in downtown Glendale. Our restaurant is located in one of the oldest homes in the area, built in 1895. With large windows and beautiful hardwood floors we know you will enjoy the surroundings as you enjoy lunch or our afternoon tea (served by reservation) from 10:30 to 1:30 Monday through Saturdays.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food made on site at an historic Glendale home. A special treat for a young girls birthday is a dress-up tea party. Reservations are always advised.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jlb1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at The Spicery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Joan, Thank you for your FIVE STAR review and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our historic home and our homemade food. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Myself and 7 other ladies visited The Spicer Lunch and Tea recently. This lunch was served in a quaint, converted Victorian house. This charming tea house is located in one of the oldest homes in the historic Catlin Court area of downtown Glendale. Our menu included petite finger sandwiches, shortbread and buttermilk scones served with lemon curd and Chantilly cream, array of bite size desserts and chocolate dipped strawberries serve with fine pot of tea of your choice. This tea luncheon was only $30.00. I must say everything was very good and great service from our server. Give this place a try and will see what I mean.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at The Spicery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Barbara,
Thank you for your FIVE Star review, we take great pride in providing wonderful food and service for all of our guests. Our 3 course Tea service is available with a 48 hour advance reservation for $23 plus tax and tip. We server Lunch and Tea Monday through Saturday 11:00am to 2:30pm and we have Breakfast Saturday 8:30am to 10:30am. Stop by and see us again, it was a pleasure to have your group visit our Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

All 6 of us enjoyed our lunch for which there is a large variety which met everyone's tastes and dietary restrictions. The many dining areas are decorated differently and tastefully. The staff are courteous and attentive. The chef has a creative menu with daily selections and specials. Everything is homemade and delicious. Hours are 11 - 2:30. They are closed Sunday and Monday. 48 hour notice for reservations are recommended. Soup, salad and sandwich combos are $11 and quiche combo is $12. High tea is a per person charge which I believe to be $24. There is a free, covered parking garage 1 block away which is a bonus in this AZ summer heat. Definitely going back, especially with our out of town visitors.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Susan51az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at The Spicery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Susan,

Thank you for your detailed review and kind words, that really helps new guests get an understanding of our restaurant. Our hours are correct and we are closed Mondays Memorial Day to Labor Day, during the winter months we are open Mondays. Our Tea is $23 and requires a 48 hour advance reservation so we have time to make all the special items for our Tea.
Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

I have eaten at this restaurant for years! IT is one of my favorite downtown Glendale restaurants. Homemade entrees and desserts and amazing rolls! I just recently gave my sister a Birthday Tea for 10 ladies and everyone loved it! I highly recommend The Spicery.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ElizabethP2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at The Spicery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Elizabeth, Thank you for your Five Star review of The Spicery in Our 1895 Home. We love to have guests that have joined us for our lunch try our Tea. So glad you enjoyed both lunch and Tea. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

After Matt the owner reached out to me after my Mothers Day misfortune lunch we decided to visit again and had a lovely experience. The Afternoon Tea was awesome, service was great and the food good. I am happy that we opted to go back and give it another try and we will def return. The petite scones, sandwiches and desert tray and tea was fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tazz6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Owner at The Spicery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review and for understanding that sometimes things happen out of our control but our goal is to always make it right or fix given the opportunity. We look forward toward your 3rd and 4th and so on visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spicery also viewed

 
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Spicery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing