We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I were in the Phoenix area for some spring training games, and I always like Marriott properties. This, however, was not worth what it cost. The best part was the fitness center, which was a step above and larger than the average hotel FC. Complaints are that they charge $10 per night to park in their garage when you look out your window and see vacant lots everywhere! Also, our room overlooked the courtyard, and they leave music on in the courtyard all night. Even with no window or door open, when we woke up in the night, it was annoying to hear that music going. Got a drink at the pool bar and the lady couldn't get the cash register to work right. Being next to Westgate was kind of nice, since there aren't many other places to eat in the area, but it wasn't worth it. We moved across the street to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I previously stayed at the Renaissance Hotel around the corner. This is their newest place built next door to the Jobing.com Arena (Coyotes NHL Arena). I made the mistake of booking my room online not realizing this was one of two possible Renaissance Hotels in the vicinity. I was not greeted with a smile and the desk clerk did not explain to me that the adjacent parking garage is NOT included in the $ 210+ per night charge. These are the only parking spaces I saw available unless you park in the valet drive right in front of the entry way. Don't drink the bottle of water in your room unless you want to fork over another $4. My toilet wasn't working properly and the water / toilet ran for the first two hours I was there until I shut off the water supply valve. No breakfast is included either - that'll run you around $10 for anything I'd consider a meal. Better run to the gas station down the street or just plan on checking out and then going for breakfast somewhere else. The noise from the people leaving the hockey game was bad for about an hour - around 9:30 pm or so. Then I had to listen to all the people coming back from the game for another hour - slamming doors, elevators "dinging", and people talking loudly in the hall. DO NOT accept a room near the elevators - so anything like room 601, 701, etc. Too much hall traffic noise. I don't know how they set up the plumbing but every time the person in the next room ran their water I had to listen to it - I even got up the first time because I thought my bathroom had sprung a leak. I will say - the place looks really nice but it's not worth the money. I'll gladly stay somewhere else next time. Oh, parking costs $10 per night... just so you know. The nicest person there was the door man who was very friendly and had a smile on his face the whole time. Something I didn't get from any of the other staff. Interestingly enough, I didn't get smiles from any of the other guests either. I think this place is mainly for business suits who want to look impressive. Dress up - maybe you'll get a friendlier greeting?

Room Tip: Do NOT allow them to put you in a room near the elevators. The elevators have electronic greetings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaWarhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had the privilege of staying at the Renaissance Glendale in July, 2011. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. Clearly, the Renaissance staff subscribed to the philosophy that the customer is right and treated us that way. When one of the people in the group wanted an Irish Coffee, the barman went out of his way to get whipped cream. In spite of the blazing sun door men were waiting to open the door, and escort me around the nearby Westgate Mall in a golf cart. I hope to have occasion to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I just recently completed a 2 night stay here while in town on business with my main focus on being close to the arena next door for the NHL game.

I checked in a bit early, at 1230p since my flight was on time and had other minimal travel delays, the courteous front desk staff let me check in and said it was not an issue at all. While you are checking in grab a handful of complimentary caramels.

This property has a very big and expansive lobby, as well as any thing else you would see at a resort, lots of wide open spaces here, never felt cramped at all.

Every thing in my room was in order. Lots of electrical outlets, a patio, tv changed channels quickly, big closet with double doors that opened up wide, and the room was super quiet.

Everything you expect at a high end Marriott hotel, and its close to the Westgate area with multiple choices of bars and restaurants.

Breakfast at the on site restaurant was priced reasonable I thought so I ate there one morning, it was very tasty

If you stay here, refill your water bottles in the exercise room where there have bottled water dispenser, ask the "navigator" for advice on taxis, car services and local attractions..And listen for the music playing in the background of the lobby.. oh yeah, one other thing, buy a cup of regular coffee at the coffee stand and get free refills all day..And free internet in the lobby areas...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My son and I stayed here for the 2012 Fiesta Bowl. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Good flatscreen TV. The pool and jacuzzi were a plus. The bar in the lobby was a fun place to hang out and watch the other games (on a huge TV screen). Walking distance to stadium and also to plenty of shops, restaurants, and bars. We will definitely stay here again if going to a sporting event at the U of Phoenix stadium.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
0.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Glendale Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa

Address: 9495 W. Coyotes Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85305
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range: $210 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a luxury hotel in Glendale, Arizona offering 320 guest rooms including 46 suites. Our hotel, spa and conference center provides 'Everything Under the Sun' for guests visiting Glendale for play, work or mind and body rejuvenation. Our accommodations are contemporary with splashes of desert decor, offering spacious areas for sleeping and living as well as amazing opportunities for on-site dining. We give guests an ideal location from which to do business in or explore the Glendale-Phoenix area. Located near Westgate City Center, the University of Phoenix and sports arenas, Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a perfectly located hotel that offers easy access to the best Arizona destinations including restaurants, entertainment and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glendale Hotel Glendale
Renaissance Glendale Hotel And Spa
Glendale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing