We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and great view...could have stayed all month” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gym Club Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gym Club Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and great view...could have stayed all month”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Have stayed here about 3 times and liked it every time. Angel is a great hostess. Good value. Funky and comfortable. Kitchen, coffee maker. One thing, if you stay on the north side of the building, bring eyemask to block the security light outside. Also several steps in many rooms make it a bit tough to negotiate in the dark. For us, it's fine. Big balcony this time (not all have balconies) for enjoying the view and fresh air (as long as neighboring guests aren't smoking out there; not a private balcony, just separated by railings). Our neighbor played her guitar with soft tunes. Nice.

Room Tip: Maybe specify room not on north side. If stairs or steps are a problem for you, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great room for two couples. Great location, beautiful private deck, large kitchen and living area. Very comfortable and spacious. Left behind something and Angel mailed it that day. Bisbee is the best and this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: photoes on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Have stayed here many times and love the rooms and Angel is great to work with. I love having a refrigerator, microwave, and kitchen in the room. All the rooms are very tastely decorated and great for a couple or if you are traveling with family or kids. Who wants to eat out all the time! Stay in, relax, and enjoy the views. Lots of history in this place. And a rare elevator in Bisbee! The only reason we don't stay here now is because we live locally, but we tell our our friends to stay here. Easy distance to downtown and you will love being away from the noise at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakeddogdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Our writers group (Saguaro Romance Writers, Tucson, Arizona --) has its retreat there once a year therefore we are in the building most of the day. There were thirteen of us, we used one room as a hospitality suite and we bring food for breakfast and lunch Saturday, breakfast on Sunday. We can easily split into work groups and go to different rooms to brainstorm and write.

Any dislikes about the place? None. The owner, Angel Hsiung is great, if members of our group have mild handicaps, but understand, there are stairs within every room and no ramps, so severe handicaps might be an issue. There are front steps (about ten altogether to the front lobby. There is a side alley, but you already have to have your room key to access it and the pavement is broken getting to it. There are some steps within there and steps and corridors on every floor.
Check in is limited between, 3-7 PM on a lower doorway on Howell Avenue. Check out is at 11 AM, You have to settle your bill when you arrive, You return your key in a black box in the main lobby. Top locks on the doors can be a little problematic (there are two locks on each door) but you get used to them.
The Internet worked, the TV was huge (we were in room 103) and we could have camped in the room and never come out.

Parking is a few spaces on Howell Avenue and the municipal parking lot, so it is limited, but this is Bisbee. Parking is limited everywhere.
Shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance. Just remember it is Bisbee and it is hilly.

The views are fantastic. What you would expect in this interesting former mining town. In Room 201, where we had our hospitality suite, there was a porch you could sit on. Nice views of interesting houses on surrounding mountains during the day, if you know your constellations you could watch the stars at night.

To sum up, for our purposes, it is great. It is a good place for a couple of nights. The hotel cat is a gray cat who hangs around the main entrance. She will greet you but there is no question whose property it is.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LURAY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We had suites #303 and 402. Both were affordable and spacious, very clean and quiet, with small private decks. This place has great character and comfy beds. Angel treated us like visiting royalty.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tidewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.1 km away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 km away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 km away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
34.6 km away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
36.3 km away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gym Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gym Club Suites

Property: Gym Club Suites
Address: 39 Howell, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price range (per night): $112 - $164
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gym Club Suites, an Historic Bisbee Landmark provides charming comfortable lodging for the night or an extended stay. It is located in the heart of Old Bisbee Arizona a short walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Each suite has a full kitchen. Some feature decks with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gym Club Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing