We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stayed there many times over the years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bisbee
1 review
“Stayed there many times over the years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Always a pleasure. Old Town Bisbee is a beautiful and quaint area. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance along with excellent breweries. The hotel restaurant and separate bar, where you can eat also, are excellent and a memorable step into the past with all the modern entities, and the staff is efficient, accommodating and friendly . Recommend highly

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uplinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    226
    110
    53
    47
See reviews for
129
291
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend, and enjoyed parts of our stay. Since we knew it was older we did not expect all the amenities you might find in other hotels, however, for the price we paid we should at least get a decent bed. The mattress was obviously old with no support and was not comfortable. The pillows were small and lumpy. We did not mind that the room was small, but the window unit was awful! Everytime it kicked on it made loud noises which made it impossible to sleep restfully.
The restaurant was fine-staff in the restaurant were wonderful as well as the staff at check-in. However, earlier in the day, my husband was attempting to get a drink at the bar and the female bartender ignored him initially and then was rude to him.
I now know that if you are going to stay here you should definitely ask for one of the newer rooms or ones that have been remodeled. Copper Queen needs to quickly update all their rooms (expecially get some high quality mattresses) so that you feel the money you paid was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Carol,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on tripadvisor. We rely deeply on our guests to let us know of problems within our property. We have researched your reservation and have ordered a new bed for this room in question. We do take pride in our staff and it is unfortunate that you had an unpleasant experience in our saloon and we have spoken to the bartender during the time of your stay. As always, please let management know of these problems as they happen so we may promptly fix it. We hope to see you again.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great place with lots of History. Had breakfast and it was great held me over until dinner. The newer rooms to the side of the Hotel are much bigger and I would recommend those. Bisbee was great just to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
John,

Thank you for your review! We try to do everything we can to please our guests!

Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in the Copper Queen's Theodore Roosevelt Room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this grand, historical old hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, and the food and service at Angela's Restaurant was great. I stay at historical hotels whenever I get the chance, and the Copper Queen has the perfect balance between authenticity and modern conveniences. If you are looking for Las Vegas-type high rollers suite, this is not the hotel for you. In fact, Bisbee is not the town for you, either. But if you are a history buff, Bisbee and the Copper Queen are where you should be.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the haunted rooms or at least a room on the more notoriously haunted floors (3rd and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Becky,

I have to say this is one of my favorite rooms! You are indeed correct we are not a "vegas" hotel and will never be one. We are the Copper Queen Hotel, a 110 year old property and we enjoy our history.

SMR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suprise,Az
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was my first trip to Bisbee and was delighted to stay at the Copper Queen Hotel.I very much enjoyed going back in time and stay in a "unique" hotel.The staff was very helpful.The only disappointment I had was not seeing any ghosts.I would stay there again and recommend to anyone that likes the charm of days gone by.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Owner at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Roseann,

You have it right! We are a "unique" hotel. Our staff is also one of a kind and without them we would not be able to do what we do!

CF
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.3 km away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
34.7 km away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
36.4 km away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
35.8 km away
Gadsden Hotel
Gadsden Hotel
#2 of 5 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 km away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 10 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bisbee
Price range (per night): $120 - $211
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TravelClick, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing