We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand View Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Hotel(Palmer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Eagle River Motel(Eagle River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
8
27
23
24
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
27
23
24
44
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Shower heads were the worst I've ever experienced, like water torture. Rooms smelled like people had smoked in them, floors were dirty and beds were uncomfortable. The only good thing I can say is that the girls at the front desk were very nice and helped me check out early because I couldn't stand staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtschapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It was clean and rooms were fine. The management seemed fine and view in the back nice. Just what we were looking for. Maybe a bit pricey..bit most of Alaska lodging is. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njplayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The customer service didnt exist. Cold and unintrested. The quality of the Hotel itself is very bad. it is a -5 star hotel. The bad felt like the ground, the Box springs were the matress. The resturaunt was closed, there was not food. The service.....there was no service. No pictures in the rooms were on the walls....it was like you were stuck in office cubical on a concrete slab. Looks good on the outside, on the inside it is pathetic for any kind of Hotel ratings.....If you are going to get into the hotel business...at least make and effort, Very Unamerican.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANCHORAGETRUTH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed one night 5/13/11. 2nd floor room looked ok, nothing special, things like an iron but no ironing board, no coffee maker. Lower level has dining room/bar/lounge. Middle of the night there is a noisy fight......finally back to sleep. Next, area dogs all start going nuts barking, yelping and nothing done to quiet them. Very little sleep. Complained to rude desk clerk and her answer was, we document it so the police will take action on the dogs. Police documentation certainly isn't going to do us any good! Nothing in regard to help the customer who got no sleep or adjust the bill of over $125.00 accordingly or even offer breakfast. No apology. Save your sanity and go somewhere else...........no sense of customer service or appreciation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank iflyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My wife just went down to the laundry room (adjacent to the bar on the lower level). As she turned on the lights, a drunk who was passed out there said, "Is this your f&%#in' truck? Turn out the lights."

She told him it was a laundry room. Then he seemed to recall that the police had left him there. I guess that is better than letting him drive home. So much for security!

The fixtures in the rooms are cheap. If you like to read in bed, bring a flashlight...the lights (permanently attached to the wall) are not exactly well placed...you can't reach them from the bed!

One of the first things you notice, when you walk into the lobby, are all the signs explaining the extra charges you will be hit with if you break the rules. Now the rules are practical, but there is a really heavy negative vibe here.

The entertainment factor here is high...our television stopped working. Never mind, there's not much soundproofing in the walls, so we could listen to our neighbors. Funny that they couldn't hear me when I banged on the wall to thank them for waking us up at 6 AM. OK, almost forgot. If you stay on the roadside of the hotel, you can enjoy the constant rumble of traffic going by. Sound insulation on the windows isn't that good either!

The staff here is...hmmm...well, indifferent is a nice way of putting it. I wouldn't exactly call them friendly or helpful.

This qualifies as one of the worst places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Basman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews