We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true gem of a cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large mature garden with rare shrubs & trees makes this a woodland haven It's a real sun trap
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The large mature garden with rare shrubs & trees makes this a woodland haven
It's a real sun trap
The sitting room has huge window & real wow factor. Log burner & Sky (Sports) on TV with great HiFi
Guests love this modern airy room with antiques & local original pictures & numbered prints
Spacious well equipped kitchen for serious cooks who needn't be left out with easy chairs for drinks
The large dining room opens directly onto a decked area to take advantage of the different seasons
The pretty River Nevern from our bank of the river just below the end of the garden
One of the prettiest rivers anywhere!
A magnificent beech tree in the garden
A real sun trap for relaxing and relaxing between the house and the river
Master bedroom with king sized bed & ensuite bathroom + walk in shower & separate toilet
The ensuite bathroom for master bedroom
Upstairs bedroom is full of character & has full ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with walk in shower and separate bath for the upstairs bedroom
Bunk room with full sized single bunk beds, really comfortable mattresses
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John L
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The previous reviewers have mentioned it all, whether it is the highest quality of the content and fittings, the wonderful setting, the gardens and river, the peace and quiet (with the exception of the local owl population), the welcome we received on arrival or the helpfulness of the owner and his staff. Everything worked - including plenty of hot water. The kitchen is seriously to die for. The four bedrooms worked well for us. And the bird-life.
As for the location, a delightful thirty minutes walk up river to the nearest pub and fifteen minutes drive to superb beaches and cliff top walks.
The owner has strong concerns about the environment which are reflected throughout the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of 'haven'”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in this very comfortable warm and welcoming cottage in September 2014 lived up to all our expectations as advertised. The kitchen is amazing and so is the local butcher. The living room is spacious and very comfortable. The dining room can seat 10 and looks out onto the terrace where we enjoyed the complimentary wine (one of the many well thought out finishing touches). It is a tranquil location and totally secluded. The garden is immaculate and when the river runs you can see sea-trout and salmon as you walk along the path. We would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a stress free holiday with or without the dog. It is hard to leave the cottage but when you do the area is one of the most beautiful you will ever see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every need was catered for and it all worked.
Liked least: There was no butler.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jafarmer1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Dyffryn Tawel at Easter and in August as we couldn't stay away . The house is set in a peaceful wooded valley next to the river with beautiful grounds to sit, relax and enjoy the view. The cottage is like a home from home with everything you could wish for . The huge kitchen with seating area is ideal for a family with double doors to the sunken lounge with huge sofas , flat screen tv, DVD, hi- fi enough to keep the children happy ! The bit we love is the dinning area with double doors leading to the deck - we have many a happy evening sitting enjoying a glass of wine listening to the river flow by. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with original art work - The beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in - you will get a good nights sleep . You have the amenities of Newport a short drive away for all of your daily needs- good butchers shop and local Spa and baker. Newport sands beach and golf course are also only five minutes away . From the property you can walk the footpath to the pub in Nevern. We have stayed with 3 generations and the spaniel and we love it - keep this place a secret- once you have been you will not want to leave !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david m
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really lovely house in a great setting. Beautifully renovated with a fantastic kitchen giving you a terrific social space. Very private gardens and your own stretch of river. The wider area is fantastic. You are five minutes from a glorious beach and the local village Newport is great; superb butcher, lovely pub the Golden Lion and we really liked the Canteen a very friendly café. Local mini supermarket very good.
Your host Jonathan Heron is a fantastic character. You only ever see him exactly when you need him and you're always glad he showed up.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jond120
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful holiday home for the first time last summer. It was a fabulous home in a fabulous location. The house itself is well equipped with everything that you could need in a home-away-from-home, and the decor is tasteful and stylish. The grounds to the house were exceptional, with an abundance of wildlife. My 6yr old enjoyed learning about the different birds, bought into the garden by the plentiful bird feeders. The river was tranquil and provided many hours of fun for the adults, children and dog. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday home. The owner is most helpful and provided a lovely bottle of wine, a delicious cake and a basket of fruit, as well as information on the local area. We are returning with extended family again this summer :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing