We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holidays, amazing crew!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Walk on the white side ! Infinite beaches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Walk on the white side ! Infinite beaches
As clear as it seems
Lourdes in the sky
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fakarava, Tuamotu Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shasha561
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Amazing holidays, amazing crew!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I truly recommend this experience aboard Cinco with this amazing crew! Jaad and Lourdes are awesome hosts and very professional. The boat is super clean and well furnished for water activities. They took care of everything. They are respectful and fun. I felt really relaxed, I ate really good food (they cook very well), tasted a lot of fruits (I had a big crush on Maracuya), sea food and other tasteful local products. I also saw a huge amount of different and colorful fishes! It was really thrilling to swim in this hot and transparent water surrounded by coconut trees. I wish I could go there, like tomorrow!

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egrekao
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a 2 week trip to Panama and one of the highlights was our stay on Cinco in the San Blas Islands (the other highlight was our trip to Isla Coiba, on the Pacific coast). We had a fantastic time and Jaad, Lourdes, and Willy (the deckhand) were truly fantastic hosts. They were helpful, relaxed and knowledgeable and they really went out of their way to make us feel at home allowing us to totally relax. Even the baby, Dunia, enriched our trip…she is quite a character and provided us with a lot of entertainment!

Cinco wasn’t easy to get too…it was a horrible windy road to Carti and then there was the long boat ride out to where the yacht was moored. But it was certainly worth making the effort to get out there. The islands are of course beautiful and the waters clear and warm. We had some great snorkelling with the highlights being a large nurse shark and watching Jaad and Lourdes hunt a Grouper for dinner.

The food was truly wonderful..we didn’t know how they managed to prepare such great meals from such a small galley…and that 3 times a day! Lovely dishes from Spain and Morocco and of course the local seafood (crab and Grouper). It was really special and a bit unexpected to have such fantastic meals.

Being a real landlubber I’m not really a yacht person and tend to find them quite uncomfortable (my wife and daughters have no such problem though!) but the scenery, snorkelling, swimming, food and the hospitality more than made up for any discomfort I felt from being on a yacht. We did however have a bit of trouble sleeping as it was really hot in our cabin - but hey, that’s not too much of an issue when one can have an afternoon snooze on the deck!

We were very fortunate to have good weather - the sun shone which really bought out the beautiful tropical colours and enhanced the snorkelling. The San Blas is a really unique place.

We can thoroughly recommend Cinco and the San Blas islands. It is a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and location
Liked least: Yacht toilet!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MihirMegh...
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience. Great Hosts. Vegetarian Friendly.”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was an incredible experience, & one I would do again without a thought. This was the best combination of relaxation water & beach that I ever had. I would recommend Jaad, Lourdes, & their boat “Cinco” to everyone. Below is a detailed review.

People - Jaad & Lourdes were very friendly, helpful, patient, & accommodating. They are great hosts. They truly want to make your stay pleasant so they do what it takes to help you. During our 4 night stay in January of this year, they had their baby who was very cute, & a native of the islands helping out as part of the crew. They have the personal skills to be able to handle complicated decision making among their guests such as when guests have different ideas on what to do or eat.

Daily life - Our days on the boat were relaxing but not boring. Sleep & awake cycles go with the sunrise, sunset & weather. We got up when we were rested, & slept when sleepy. We were not checking phone or email, though Jaad has internet on board & some of the populated islands have phone service. Life moved in slow motion but it was always a pleasure taking it easy & enjoyed the expanse of islands, water, ocean, sea life, fish, other boats, & mainland Panama with its mountains & small local ports. The ocean breeze cooled us & provided a nice smell to our modern life filled nose & airways. We were truly in a private tropical paradise on the ocean, often with whole islands to ourselves & nobody else around.

Food - They are great cooks & made the kind of food we would go to top end restaurants for. They accommodated our diet - vegetarian without eggs without any problems. The food was creative, delicious & filling, & was a highlight of our trip. We had pastas, local cuisine, Mediterranean food, Asian food, breads, & tropical fruits. Timings to eat were coordinating among us, so it was always when convenient. There was plenty to drink, including non alcoholic options besides sodas. We picked up a few items Jaad requested on the drive from the airport to San Blas & he offered to reimburse for that. We generally ate on the dining table on the deck, rather than the table within the boat.

Boat - The boat is in very good shape. The front deck is a nice place to stargaze, watch the sunrise or sunset, or gaze at the water, island & sea life. The dining area was spacious enough for us all to sit, though after 6 people it can be a little tight.

Space & Privacy - Space & privacy on boats, planes & spaceships will be limited, compared to a rural home. So when booking on a boat such as Cinco, be aware that sleeping areas & bathrooms will be tight. The ceiling is several feet higher than your head when you are sleeping. The whole bathroom is the size of a small shower. If you come to the Cinco with that understanding & expectation, you will not be disappointed. But if you come to the boat expecting huge bedroom, high bedroom walls, large bathrooms, & privacy, you will not get that on a boat like this. However, Jaad & Lourdes respect your privacy & will give you your personal space if you want it or engage you with their lives & the boat operations if you want it.

Bathroom - It is very small, but clean. The ocean is the other bathroom option which I used, & was a nice experience. They have a fresh water shower to rinse salt water when you come on the boat.

Rooms - My wife & I shared one room, & my parents, the other. They can accommodate upto 8 people besides the crew. It can get hot in the day, but with windows open, it is cool at night. In the day, we did not spend much time in the room anyway.

Sailing, the water, the weather, & San Blas Islands - They were very nice. Jaad & Lourdes will review options on where to sail once you get on board. There are all sorts of islands - large with towns, small & uninhabited, small with a single family on them, islands that are mostly sand, islands with a lot of vegetation, & there are parts of the ocean that are good for snorkeling. Depending on what you want to do, they will make your itinerary. Generally, you will sail for a few hours each day & then set anchor next to one of the islands. The water was warm. There was good snorkeling, with a good variety of colorful fish, corals & other sea life. We snorkeled a shipwreck as well. Jaad will snorkel with you as well & guide you to the viewings. The Cinco has a small inflatable dinghy as well which you can use to row to an island from the Cinco. They also have a small motorized raft as well to take you from the Cinco to islands. He also provides snorkeling gear. The water was calm for the most part. Winds were mild. Clouds & rain could come at anytime, but it was only raining for short parts of the day if at all.

Getting to San Blas - Jaad arranged this nicely, including pickup, transfers along the way, & what we had to pay, so while it may appear complicated, it is a smooth multi-step process lasting a few hours. From the airport we were in one vehicle. We switched vehicles at the border to the San Blas area (has to do with cars being licenses/registered with the provincial authorities), then boarded a small dinghy which took us to the Cinco.

Communication - Jaad is very much available by phone & email. He has a lot of patience to answer questions.

Things to bring - Travel very light. Space again is limited. Be sure to bring swimwear, sunscreen, & cash for small purchases like coconuts on the islands & tips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounded by skies, wind, water & islands. Great hosts.
Liked least: That I did not stay more.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafBenN
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with kids on Cinco”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Even though we're quite adventurous, we were a little apprehensive having never been sailing before, and especially with 2 young kids (age 3 and 5). However this was a simply fantastic, memorable experience and I am so pleased we did it.

The captain, Jaad is an accomplished sailor, speaks English, French, Spanish perfectly, and is a great cook with local Panamanian influences, as well as Moroccan, French, Spanish. You spend the days on Cinco hopping the short distances from one deserted paradise tropical island to another. The food is excellent. On one sail Jaad caught a fish and the next day we had sashimi.

Jaad's wife Lourdes stayed on another boat with their young baby so Jaad was accompanied by Gwili, a charming local Kuna indian, so we got to learn a little about their way of life.

A few things to note
- If you can, pack light (we didn't). Even with just 2 adult + 2 kids the boat is cosy inside the cabin. All you need is swimming shorts and t-shirts.
- San Blas is very remote. Jaad has all the obvious things onboard (food, water, beer, wine) but there are no shops except for the occasional Kuna family selling bracelets and coconuts! Even the most basic items are a logistical challenge.
- Getting to the boat is a bit of an adventure. You get picked up in Panama City before dawn (not optional). It's a 2 hour SUV drive on a well paved but roller coaster road through the jungle hills to a chaotic dock where you endure 10 minutes of stress while you, your luggage, probably your wife, will all head in separate directions, but somehow you all end up on the right motor-launch going to the right place. It's ~1 hr on the launch to get to Cinco. We were unlucky and on the way out the sea was bumpy and we arrived at Cinco drenched. On the way back it was calm. The SUV, boat and tax cost around $60 per person each way and you need USD cash only.
- It is very warm in the boat at night, especially if there isn't much wind.
- Bring lots of sun screen. It's very easy to get burnt on a boat.
- If your kids can't swim, Jaad provides life jackets for when you are sailing but bring some flotation for them for the islands. The water is very calm and shallow.
- It is very safe. San Blas waters are very calm, almost flat. Cinco is in very good condition. It is a British registered boat. Jaad has British certifications.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
designjun...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 days of spontaneous fun + sun.”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Where do I begin? I almost want to keep this a secret but an authentic traveler shares a hidden gem, right?

I traveled to San Blas with a group of friends, my mom, two teenagers and a week of volunteer work in Nicaragua to ponder and celebrate. I can not say enough nice things about Jaad + Lourdes and the hospitality they treated us to while aboard CINCO. The wonderful company, accommodations, delicious and gorgeous food creations (Lourdes's molten chocolate cake was to die for!) the snorkeling, connecting with local Kuna indians, white sand, clear waters, all of it... seems surreal.

I'm back home in Chicago admiring my stash of molay cloths and daydreaming of our time in San Blas aboard CINCO; laughing, cannon-balling off the boat, watching my mom take tequila shots while swaying in the hammock. It was brilliant, all of it. GO. And go now before the secret is out. It's a hike to get there, but well worth the journey.

Jaad, Lourdes, you two are truly a one of a kind duo! Good luck with the bambino :)

Thanks again for an extra special trip of a lifetime. XX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing