We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,610)
Filter reviews
2,610 results
Traveller rating
2,146
318
83
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,146
318
83
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reef restaurant bubbles bar diamond bungalow diamond otemanu our honeymoon fish main island sting ray feeding le corail meal plan wedding chapel french polynesia living room breakfast and dinner tea room walk in closet ambassador program
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,610 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Probably the most amazing holiday and resort I've ever been to and ever will! If you go, be sure to eat the the Corail (fine dining restaurant) and ask for Swann Sandoz as your waiter. He was so attentive and knew the whole menu and made the whole experience!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Casey R, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share such a magnificent review of your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you loved the property and you spent some memorable moments here with us.
It is with pride that I read your comments about Le Corail restaurant. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your three course meal! The staff is dedicated to our guests and the food is prepared with attention to details.

We are grateful for your support and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Mauru'uru roa,
Stéphane

Stéphane Massarini, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

- Location was the best in Bora Bora. Classic mountain views with perfectly blue lagoon
- Rooms are large, modern and spacious with the difference being the views offered from the rooms
- There is limited fish under the bungalows, however the lagoonarium provides snorkeling opportunities and the daily sting ray feeding at 2pm is also good.
- The snorkeling at sister resort le moana is better and we went there on the complimentary boat transfer during the day. We where happy we choose the motu instead of the mainland. The Thalasso felt more private and luxurious.
- We went during peak season and when the hotel was fully booked, but it never felt crowded. Always plenty of pool chairs, spots to lounge by the beach and the free canoes/paddleboards are always available when we wanted them.
- Food was ok. Expensive for what you get but we had no issues with the quality. Breakfast was very good, so take that up, particularly if you are offered a discount.
- The best thing about the resort was the service. Felt truely spoilt! Each afternoon we would receive treats/gifts for my young toddler and my husband's birthday was acknowledge with cake and then champagne and fruit the following day.
- The staff greet you and the head restaurant staff made an effort to call us by name 1hr after we had just checked in! She then bid us farewell on the day we left.
- Every one working at the resort was just so kind. Great service without being intrusive. I think they realised alot of people are here celebrating special occasions but they still manage to give everyone extra attention.
- Tip: The resort values IHG members and Ambassador members so would recommend joining and booking directly with the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear SydneyBarney; Sunny Greetings from Bora Bora

Thank you very much for your rewarding comment following your recent stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa. We are glad to read that your experience was a great success, thanks to the comfort our our villas as well as the excellent service from our teams. We are glad to read you liked the breakfast.
We are so honoured to receive such praises and acknowledgements. It is truly rewarding when our Guests recognise our commitments to offer high quality of service. It is with pleasure and pride that we shall address our thanks to our dedicated staff, who strive to provide an exceptional guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing your memories and recommendations with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon in our resort.

Mauru'uru roa,
Stéphane

Stéphane Massarini, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are world travelers, and we have to say that the beauty of Bora Bora is not overrated. Just stunning from the second you come in for the landing. The IC had a stand right in front inside the terminal and lei greeting which was nice. The boat leaves something to be desired, but it does the job. It was also crowded when we arrived so they had two boats, we got on the second one which floods at your feet as it pulls off of the dock. Once we arrived we were greeted by a guy blowing on a conk shell in traditional clothing which was pretty neat. We were wisked away to reception for check in with that lovely view of Otemanu. We were allowed to check in a couple of hours early which we were grateful for and the room was extremely spacious and gorgeous (and we only got the emerald room)! However, with everything else we found the hotel to be somewhat lacking. We booked through Costco (highly recommended) and had half board included in our package. We were glad about that as the restaurants on the property are pretty expensive and you do not have any alternative options. We found the food to be a rather disappointing though and that's despite the fact that we were starving when we got to dinner since we skipped lunch as it wasn't included in our package. The coffee was cold two of the three morning we had breakfast here. Also, as a heads up, you should ask for tap water as still water is about $7 a bottle. Although, we had to get up and ask every time we wanted our glasses refilled. They have some entertainment some nights during dinner which was pretty good, but about on par with the kind of shows you'd see at an all inclusive in Mexico. There isn't much for snorkeling here, there are some interesting fish near the chapel, but this will only entertain you for a couple of hours at best. The fish there seemed to be used to getting food as they didn't seem afraid to come right up to us and follow us around. We found out later you can get little packets of food to lure the fish, but there weren't many fish around to feed them too though. The villas have a see though panel in the floor, but we never saw a single fish swim by which I think is due to the lack of any reefs nearby. Our room was cleaned daily which meant they made our bed and left old drink glasses. The "turn down" service was taking the cover blanket at the end of the bed off and putting a laundry service reminder on the bed. Considering how much a villa here is I would expect at least a piece of chocolate on the pillow or something. There is a pillow menu though. On our last night a note was left letting us know when check out was and that we could have our luggage picked up by calling them. The morning of, we called and waited over 30 minutes before deciding to just lug our bags to reception ourselves. Two service carts drive by without saying a thing which was a bit frustrating. They also informed us that we couldn't use a day room until 45 minutes before our boat is to leave which wasn't until 6 pm. So forget doing any swimming during the day if you have a late flight. Anyway, in summary, Bora Bora is a beautiful place but if you are really looking for that next level of luxury in Paradise we'd recommended looking elsewhere. For those looking for a more budget friendly option though, this is still fairly decent depending on what you're going for. I think next time we'll probably go with our initial gut instinct and just splurge for the St Regis or four seasons though.
*A side note too: they allow kids at this resort, so if you want to avoid crying babies and kids running around this resort may also not be for you. We woke up to a screaming toddler next door on our last morning here, safe to say not a lot of sound insulation in the villas.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jebrossard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear jebrossard, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our welcome ritual, we think that the experience starts as soon as our guest land to Bora Bora. That is why we greet all our guests with a lei at the airport, our bellboys blow on a "pu" when they came in boat to our resort. After that we offer a ritual drink and propose a tour of the resort in club car.
I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with some of your experiences in our resort. Rest assured that the matters you have raised are not common in our property. We discussed the matters you have described with the heads of department concerned Housekeeping and Food and Beverage and corrected measures are already being taken in order to create a flawless guest experience.
Regarding your comment about the day room, this is true that we propose to our guest to use day room 45 minutes before your departure. Like that you can fully enjoy the resort, the beach and the pool, until your leave. You can swim and take a shower before taking your plane.

We sincerely hope you will give another opportunity to welcome you back very soon to demonstrate our commitment on improving our guest experience.

Mauru'uru roa,
Stéphane

Stéphane Massarini, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Very well located right in front of the mountain, plenty to do to spend a day, relax at the spa and rest on the beach, golf car is a plus if the room is far, staff were helpful, breath taking magnificent views, great stay overall, loved it.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Lei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Lei D, Sunny greetings from Bora Bora

Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service.
As I read you loved the location of our resort, this is true that we have the best view of the Mount Otemanu and we are very pride of it.
I am delighted to read you have the most relaxing and peaceful stay spending your days at the spa and resting at the beach.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near futur.

Mauru'uru roa,
Stéphane

Stéphane Massarini, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

In 2006 my husband and I were married at the IC Thalasso in Bora Bora, and in 2018 we returned with our two children, so they could see where our family story began (and where everyone joked that our oldest one was conceived! LOL). We had an absolutely perfect vacation. We splurged and stayed in a Brando Suite which had a living room, dining room, bar, loft, huge master shower, a bath overlooking the water, lots of TVs and two balconies. The large balcony on the back of our OWB had a pool, several lounge chairs, a table, umbrellas. The whole OWB had an integrated sound system so we could play our meeting via bluetooth. We also had a Nespresso machine. Room service was easy and speedy. Every morning when I woke up I was truly in heaven and never wanted to leave our OWB (and almost didn't except to eat, workout, snorkel, and go to the gym and on excursions).

There is an ice cream stand on site. You need to try the coconut ice cream. It's a delight! Also there's activities including snorkeling in a nearby reef and sting ray feeding. There's also a garden of love where you can hang a lock with your names and wedding date on it. Also, there's a beach on the backside of the island where you can walk and look at the beautiful shells.

The staff are all helpful and friendly. We were called by our family name almost the whole trip there. You truly feel special everywhere you go on this property.

Everyday the GM Stephane was kind enough to send us an afternoon treat, for the adults and the kids, they were even personalized. When we arrived there was also some treats for us and snacks for the kids. One evening at dinner we had the pleasure of meeting Stephane and he told us the whole story of Bora Bora and how it is sinking, and we also learned about some of the surrounding Tahitian islands. We are so happy to have met you Stephane! Thank you for making our trip so special. We plan to come back in 2023 :).

On days when it's not sunny it was still absolutely gorgeous here. I cannot wait to return again someday soon. Also, if you have children I would not hesitate to bring them here, especially if you stay in a Brando suite. Your kids will enjoy it as much as you!

Room Tip: Brando Suite has the best view of the Mountain!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews