We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
667
215
65
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
215
65
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral gardens macaroons restocked daily the free mini bar overwater bungalow fish the main hotel our honeymoon other resorts lookout point romantic dinner baby sharks tour boats fresh coconut water coconut drink marara beach french polynesia
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We researched for sometime before deciding on this resort for my husband's 60th birthday. The view to the main island from the deck of our overwater bungalow was amazing. It is easy to snorkel around the island and the coral gardens at the end of the island were fabulous. The coral gardens are visited by many tourist boats daily all an easy snorkel from your bungalow.
There were some things with the resort though that were not up to scratch. The rooms are tired (certainly not luxury standard) particularly the bathrooms. TV coverage is patchy - working less rather than more. The air-conditioners struggle in the hot weather. Wifi is patchy in the bungalows (seems to be French Polynesia) and on our first morning there - the water was turned off for 5 hours(????).
The staff were very friendly and the shuttle boat between the private island and the main island was great. The breakfasts here were good - probably the best of our Tahitian holiday. We ate one other meal at the resort but generally ate at restaurants on the main island.
Happy hour was also good (Half price cocktails). We came and had a few drinks here most nights before heading over to the main island for dinner.
This resort is in a lovely setting. Shame there are a few things that are not quite up to the Sofitel standard.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora!
We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again! Maururu !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Well, we had a wonderful vacation at this resort the last week of March! We stayed in one of the over water bungalows for our 15th anniversary, and this trip exceeded our expectations. The accommodations in the bungalow were very comfortable, the setting is stunningly beautiful, and the resort staff from check in, to the restaurant, to the groundskeepers, to the boat drivers, was friendly, helpful, and professional. The snorkeling in the coral garden was spectacular! We were able to watch many species of fish through the porthole in the floor of the bungalow, too. On our last morning, we were treated to a large spotted Eagle Ray followed by 2 smaller ones floating right past our bungalow. It was magical, and we can't wait to return! The one suggestion I would offer is to put up small signs in the restaurants, at both this and Sofitel Bora Bora Marara properties, to politely ask patrons to silence their cell phones, like many places in the US. It's fairly distracting when someone at the next table is carrying on a texting conversation and their phone is beeping non stop. It IS paradise, after all. We really had a wonderful time! Mauruu'ruu!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DenaY602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora!
We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The best part is really the island itself. The water surrounding the island is just unreal: crystal clear, warm, calm, full of colorful fishes. There is only some 20+ overwater bungalows so it feels very relaxed, like you have the island mostly to yourself. The Aquarium reef on the south side of the island is just a short 10 mins paddle ride from the bungalows, and there are schools of fishes of all colors. Take some old bread provided by the restaurant and the fishes will be swarming around you for some nibbles, so much fun.
The restaurant is decent; our package includes breakfast buffet and dinner. They did a great job with food presentation, the dinner dishes look like a work of art.
We had unit 116 and the view is very nice, covering both the lagoon and the mountain. The water is about 8ft deep, enough for a jump from the deck.

Room Tip: Before checking in, check out the bungalows for the view, water depth, ... Ask to change if you don't like your unit.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We celebrated my 40th birthday and got married in Bora Bora. The Sofitel Private Island was fabulous! The staff is so kind and helpful. The private island is beautiful! I would highly recommend! Very easy to head over to the main island the so private! Best vacation ever! Thank you!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience to Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island!
We are very delighted to read that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We are also happy to see that you had a great 40th birthday and we would like to congratulate you for your wedding!

We will share your feedback about the staff with our teams, I am sure it will serve as an encouragement to all of them.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This was our first time in Bora Bora. My husband and I both love snorkeling and tried to pick the best location to snorkel right from our over water bungalow. Now that I've visited the island I can definitely say the Sofitel Private Island is The BEST location! The reef surrounding the island is amazing on all sides, not just the famous Coral Gardens that all the tour boats go to.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the island had beautiful landscaping.

I don't want to say anything negative because the island was beautiful and the staff was great but a few comments would be helpful to other travelers just so you know what to expect.

The Over Water Villas:
The Good: The bed was clean and very comfortable. The Deck had a wonderful view and direct access to an amazing reef. Free drinks in the fridge was a definite plus!

The Bad:The In Wall air conditioning unit only services the bedroom area. The air condition is set to not go below 75 degrees (by the hotel). We kept the bathroom doors close to get the bedroom cooler which made the bathroom, which needed a remodel, feel like a sauna. The windows don't have glass or screens, which is a problem since mosquitoes are quite numerous on the island. The windows were covered by wooden louvers but there was plenty of room between the slats to let in geckos and mosquitoes. I didn't mind the Geckos, other than them pooping in my sink and on the floor by the bed. Geckos eat mosquitoes so they do counteract each other.

Bottom line, the reef was so convenient I may stay here again, for a couple nights...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora!
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of paradise.
Please, be sure that we will consider your feedback in order to improve our guests experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews