We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
341
38
15
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
38
15
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantupa upaoverwater villairiatai restaurantblue toothbeach grilllagoon safaripool villagolf cartfishother resortsmain islandfrench polynesiadining optionsoft openingguest servicesbreakfast buffet was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We knew we would have a good stay at the Hilton, but what happened was beyond our expectations! Laureen was so gracious when she checked us in, and she escorted us to our room and took the time to explain all the features in our amazing room. The food at the pool and the French restaurant was excellent, and the service was outstanding. We were walking to our room after an excursion, and Rudolphe was so nice to pick us up and give us a ride. He insisted on taking us to the spa for a panoramic view of the island and it was worth it! From our experience at the hotel we know that they are nice because they want to be, not because they have to be and that is what makes a stay at this hotel worth it!! We are already making plans to come back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBoraBoraNui, Responsable réception at Conrad Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Ia Orana William M,
Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Conrad Bora Bora Nui. We are so happy to receive such a great review as your satisfaction is our motivation. We are glad to read you enjoyed our Restaurant options and our genuine kindness towards our guests. We look forward having the pleasure welcoming you back,
Sunny Regards
Laureen Debrosse
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I stayed here a few years ago when it used to be Hilton Bora Bora and not Conrad Bora Bora. I highly recommend this hotel. It was one of our best hotel stay ever and the best Hilton brand stay. GM of this hotel was so nice and friendly that he met a lot of the guests. Our OWB was far from the front desk and the restaurant but the shuttles were always available for the guests. We didn't like to wait so we would walk to our room but it was a little bit tiring especially for my wife who had an accident and got foot surgery a few years ago.

OWB was beyond awesome and will highly recommend if it is in your budget. Very private and beautiful. You can jump in the ocean from your backyard and enjoy snorkeling. We rarely saw anyone else doing it and we were the only doing it.

The restaurant was very nice and had a beautiful view. I was Hilton Gold at that time so we got free breakfast. The best breakfast I have ever eaten. I don't have enough words to describe how nice the breakfast was. A lot of tropical fruits were serves always for the breakfast. Another restaurant is on the premise which had little bit wait but the food was awesome.

The only thing I hated about this place and which I highly recommend the management to change is that you should STOP taking $15 per person one-way trip to the main island. People who are paying you $600+ a night and $100s more to your restaurants shouldn't pay you more just to reach the main island, that is really cheap of such a big hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Mr_AK_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBoraBoraNui, Responsable réception at Conrad Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Ia Orana Mr_AK_82,
We thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay when it used to be Hilton Bora Bora. As we upgraded our installations and service through massive renovations, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again to show you the new Conrad Bora Bora Nui ! We are really happy to read you kept a unique memory from your stay though. We thank you for your remarks about the shuttle, however, as you may understand, this is a common practice for all the resorts in Bora Bora, and this is not meant to make money from our guests but to ensure this service is kept at a luxury level as we propose 20 different schedules per day to offer our guests the choice to move from the resort whenever they wish to do so. Also, it is not 15$ one way but 15$ roundtrip per person.
We look forward welcoming you back,
Sunny Regards
Laureen Debrosse
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

While I would have loved to come here with boyfriend - he was working - I ended up coming with my girlfriends for a little rest and relaxation. Getting off the boat from the airport was literally like arriving in a secluded paradise. Once we got checked in, we headed to our villa. To say that it was nice would be an understatement - it was absolutely beautiful. I was blown away. Our favorite part was being able to have our own pool to lay out at, where we could enjoy the privacy and listen to music while we drank wine and looked out at the ocean. The water there is the most amazing shades of turquoise and blue and the tranquility in the mornings and evenings was out of this world. We had a butler for our stay, Adrien, who was extremely helpful suggesting restaurants, scheduling our excursions and making sure we had everything we needed. He definitely made sure we had a great time and recommended things we didn’t even think of. Let’s be honest though, everyone here was so nice and accommodating. The restaurants on site were great and we loved being able to use the bikes to get back and forth from breakfast. The staff remembered us throughout our stay and made us feel very welcome. In the afternoons, we loved being able to paddle board and take walks around the property to see all the beautiful gardening, and of course watching the sunsets from the lounge with cocktails every night was icing on the cake! While this would have been an amazing place to have come with my boyfriend - and of course an amazing honeymoon spot (you would literally never have to leave your room) - my friends and I had such a great time and I would recommend this property to anyone looking to enjoy a fabulous time in this paradise on earth.

Room Tip: You definitely need an over the water villa here!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Aurelia_Franch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBoraBoraNui, Responsable réception at Conrad Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Ia Orana Aurelia_Franch,
We sincerely and deeply thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing comment regarding your recent stay at Conrad Bora Bora Nui. It is a great pleasure reading you had an Inspired stay and enjoyed our genuine kindness and private location facing the peaceful shades of blue of the unique Bora Bora's lagoon. Adrien joins me to say a huge thank you for mentionning him. We are glad to read you appreciated our restaurants and bars, and enjoyed also our resort's facilities such as the bikes to move around the island !
We look forward welcoming you back.
Sunny regards,
Laureen Debrosse
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Conrad Hilton - Bora Bora - French Polynesia March 2018
Presidential Villa (Over the water) 1001

Summary - Snapshot Review:
Resort: Bora Bora Conrad Hilton located on a motu surrounding the island of Bora Bora.
Suite: Presidential Overwater Villa. Was fantastic. Equal quality to The Brando located on Tetiaroa
Views of Sunrise and Sunset: Best in Bora Bora. Perfect view of sunset. Sunrise over Bora Bora.
Sunset Bar: Yes. Perfect full view of sunset. Also great for viewing storms. Glass floor for viewing fish.
Service: Amazing. Staff is excellent. Very responsive.
Dining: A great array of dining options. Chinese, French, Beach Bar, Wine Bar, and Lounge.
Dress Code: Resort casual. More upscale than most resorts, which you would assume.
Breakfast: Usually included. Pastries/danish cart, then a la carte cooked items ordering.
Food Quality: Best in Bora Bora (for resorts).
Lagoon Water Quality: Amazingly clear. Lots of fish to see, and snorkel right off your villa.
How to get around resort: Bikes and golf cart pickup are provided at no charge for select villas.
Over-the-water Villa: Yes. Best villas face west and with a plunge-pool.
Booking: Book through website or directly via email to reservations at the resort. Pay up-front for stay and receive a substantial discount. Confirm pricing by checking Expedia.
Didn’t Work in Villa: sauna, hottub, bathroom charge outlets (110V/220V), only 4 internet access point connections. Bikes had mostly rusted chains and hard to adjust seats (a pretty common problem for the tropics due to corrosion of sea air). Bluetooth could only be turned off by staff, and beeped when not in use.
Needed as part of Presidential Villa Experience: Sink for bar area. Kitchen. Hammock. Firepit.
Website: Cluttered and busy. Needs work. Get rid of black background. Needs better user experience.

Full Review:

The Conrad Hilton Resort is a world-class resort located on a motu surrounding Bora Bora, and in my opinion, ranks higher than the Four Season’s Bora Bora. The location, staff, and feel, is magical. The location in the crystal clear blue water, hilly terrain, and over-the-water villas put you immediately into pure bliss. As if were not enough to be in the magical Bora Bora, this resort will confirm you are indeed in paradise. Has the best resort sunset views anywhere Bora Bora of the lagoon, colors of water, sky, and sunsets.

Overall Impressions: This is my first stay at the Conrad Hilton. I’ve been coming to Bora Bora since 2002, and have somehow missed this pearl of the islands. I’ve been so enamored by the Four Season’s, that I have forgot to try new things. The Conrad resort has undergone extensive renovations recently, and it shows.

Side Track - Large Group Travel is promoted by the Four Season’s: The problem with the Four Season’s resort , is that they cater to large travel and corporate groups, which unfortunately spoil the experience for their traditional luxury traveler. I experienced this first at the Four Season’s in Punta Mita, then in Costa Rica. It’s tarnished their reputation, and quite frankly, I’ll just avoid them. Why ? Because incentive and large corporate group travel brings people to the resort, which are more accustomed to a binge-drinking Holiday Inn or all-inclusive resort, without respecting other guests. For them, rules are optional, including respect. It’s what I expect on a Carnival Cruise, but not at a top-end property. For the Four Season’s, it’s like shooting fish out of a barrel, since corporate travel spenders don’t mind spending huge amounts of money. Someone needs to coach the corporate guests on proper behavior, so it doesn’t interfere with the other guests. Ok, back to the review...

Best Stay in French Polynesia: The best luxury (very high end) traveler, will be well taken care of at The Brando and the Conrad Hilton. The perfect vacation would be a 3 day stay at The Brando, and 3-4 days at the Conrad Hilton.

Just an amazing resort. Relatively seamless transitions for check-in, activities planning, dining, and just pure relaxation.

Check-in: The still antiquated check-in still exists. Even though I had already provided my credit card (paid for stay in advance) and had emailed passports, they were still requested at time of check-in. I don’t know about you, but when I arrive, I want to get right into relaxation. The Four Season’s and The Brando are the only top-end resorts which take you directly to your villa. This is one lesson the Conrad Hilton could learn, for a better guest experience. A better process would be to have the guest complete that information via email, prior to arrival. It would organize the check-in, and provide a seamless experience. Our butler took us for a short tour of the resort on a electric golfcart, before we were shown to our Overwater Presidential Villa. This resort is unique in that it has a spa and beautiful overlook vantage point a few hundred feet above sea-level on a hill. The colors of the lagoon and coral really pop from this viewpoint, and the view is spectacular. The best of any resort in Bora Bora.

Overwater Presidential Villa: We had four in our group, which was perfect for the large Villa. There was a master bedroom with huge bathroom and a view from the vanity and bath which are to die for. The second large master had two double beds. There is a second story level, which has a third area that can be made into a bed for another two people, for a total of six. There are two master baths on the first level, then a third bathroom with shower on the top. The top level also includes a TV, living room, bathroom, sauna (didn’t work) outdoor patio deck with hottub (didn’t work), outdoor lounging area, large dining table and bar. The first level has the master bedrooms, and a living room with TV, bluetooth speakers, and bar area with fridge. The bar fridge had a selection of small airline-type liquor bottles, snacks, and mixers. For this level Villa, the contents were provided at no charge, and refilled once per day. The outdoor deck was amazing. Divided into to levels, the upper level had a outdoor lounge with cushions and a plunge pool. The deck extended to each of the master bedrooms, with chairs and access from each bedroom suite. Below the plunge pool deck level is the swim deck, which had two lounge chairs for soaking up the wonder South Pacific sunshine, and then a swim ladder which went down about six feet to reach the water. The depth is 6-8 feet, and crystal clear.

For Couples and Families: The resort is great for couples and for families. There were plenty of activities for all ages.

Feeding the Fish: While it’s probably not the best for fish food, bread worked pretty good. They do sell small bags of proper fish-food (which smelled just awful - so I suppose the fish like it) for $10 Euro per small bag. I recommend you just buy a bag at the Chinese market in Viatape for better value.

Sea Life: While not as good as the Pearl Beach Resort (one of the best for viewing rays during the day, and small fish and sharks at night), the water at the resort was very clear and great for snorkeling. The water is much clearer than the Four Season’s (which is a murky clarity below the over-the-water villas).

Dining: You have multiple options:
- Iriatai French Restaurant: Not being a big fan of French cuisine, I did not try this venue. This is also where they serve breakfast (which is excellent). 7:00am-11:00am breakfast. 6:30-9:30pm dinner.
- Banyan Chinese Restaurant: Excellent Chinese food. 6:30-9:30pm dinner.
- Tamure Beach Grill: Wonderful lunch and snacks. 11:30am-3:30pm lunch. This is where they have the Polynesian night (on a Tuesday when we were there).
- Upa Upa Lounge Bar: Features a glass floor deck to reflect the beautiful crystal green/blue water where you can watch the fish. We had some cocktails there and watched the sunset and a storm roll in. One of the most perfect views of all resorts in the South Pacific.
- Iriatai Wine Bar: Next to the French Restaurant. Didn’t have time to sample the bar.
- Tarava Pool Bar: Swim-up bar, and cocktails for the pool and beach area.
- Room Service: Since our villa was located at the end of the pontoon, it takes a bit longer for food to get there. But the food was excellent. Well prepared, and presented by our butler.

SPA: The resort spa is located near the top of the hill, with commanding (and relaxing) views of the lagoon and ocean. The facility is sparkling clean, fresh, and new. The mens changing room was good, except that the automated sensor lights turned off within a few minutes, leaving you in the dark. Recommend a simple light switch, and use LED lights if you want to save on energy consumption, without interfering with the guest experience (if you are relaxing, you’re in no rush to beat the motion sensor to keep the lights on).

Wifi: The Wifi connections throughout the resort are good, and good bandwidth, but the device limitations are poor. We were only offered four device connections for our stay, albeit our butler offered work-arounds by using other in-use villas and taking their connection.

Cell Signal: Excellent. There was also good 3G data. Save the roaming and just use the resort Wifi.

Activities: Lots of activities, which can be found on the website. We opted for the half day of shark and ray experience, which was wonderful. The sharks are docile, and just graceful to photograph. I use a Olympus TG-4 underwater camera, that provides photos with amazing clarity.

Amazing Staff: The staff was friendly, helpful, and timely. Equal to the Four Season’s and The Brando.

The Beach: Clean, groomed, and inviting.

Front Desk: Efficient and very courteous.

Housekeeping: Usually there is morning service, and then a evening turndown service. Housing keeping was excellent.

Transportation: To and from the airport, there is a power cat to transport you and your luggage dock-to-dock. There is another shuttle boat that goes to and from Viatape, the main village and port on the mainland of Bora Bora.

Tipping: While it is not customary to tip in French Polynesia, I find it a nice gesture to tip those who impress you the most (housekeeping).

Privacy: The resort is relatively exclusive. But since it is on the water, boats can go right by your villa. Villas have good separation for privacy. I find that it was more private and intimate than the Four Season’s. The ultimate privacy (for those of you who are rich and famous) then I suggest The Brando. Oddly enough, the dining and food choices at the Conrad were far better. The Brando food options are limited, and you’ll find yourself craving more variety, which is offered at the Conrad.

Buying Suggestions (extras): There is a resort store, that is expensive. When you land in PPT there is also a store you can buy suntan lotion for about $35 Euro a bottle (yes, it’s that expensive). If you’re going to buy anything, go into Viatape on the main island of Bora Bora, and go to the Chinese owned market, where you can buy suntan lotion for $5 Euro, and buy any type of more expensive items for 1/5th the price. The main market is Chin Lee’s Market located a few blocks from the main shuttle drop-off dock, which sells fresh vegetables, soda, bottles of wine, sundries, and just about anything you want for a small store.

Suggestions: While this resort ranks at the top of my list, there is always room for improvement.
- Broom. Would be nice to have a broom to sweep up any sand, before housekeeping can take care of it.
- Towel hanging line or bar outside for pool towels.
- Telescope and/or Binoculars: Have a telescope at the top floor of the villas, for stargazing at night. Have binoculars.
- Hammock: On the villa balcony.
- Wifi: Eliminate the device limitation for the Villa from 4, to unlimited.
- Firepits: A really nice feature would be gas or wood firepits.
- Villa Kitchen: Provide a basic kitchen or at least a sink for the bar area (to make it a wet bar).
- Solar or Wind Power: They did have solar hot water for all the villas, which is great. Would like to see solar PV as well.
- Villa Review: Before a guest checks in, do a villa review to make sure everything is working. In our case, at the top of the line villa (Presidential Villa), the sauna did not work, the hot tub did not work, the electrical outlets for 110/220V did not work, and the bluetooth had issues. Not something you expect when paying over $4,500 Euro a day.

Greetings in Polynesian:
Good Morning: la ora na (pronounced ur honor)
Thank You: Mauruuru (prounouced ma ru ru)
Thank You Very Much: Mauruuru roa (prounouced ma ru ru rowa)
Good-bye / Until We Meet Again: Nana (prounouced nana)
Cheers: manuia (prounouced manueea)

Getting There:

LAX-PPT: I used to exclusively fly on Air Tahiti Nui, but their service has fallen recently, and I suggest trying Air France, which has more comfortable (and newer) aircraft, and better on-time service. If you’ve ever had to wait three or more hours at the Papeete terminal in Tahiti, you’ll understand. Air France has a app which makes booking easy, allows seat selection, buying upgrades, etc. Air Tahiti is very old school, and really needs to invest in better on-time flight management, and convenient booking. Make it easy, and you’ll get more customers.

PPT-BOB: You basically only have two fight options, Air Tahiti (local commuter turboprop) or private charter. For private charter, expect to be price gauged. There used to be helicopter service, but now there is only a KingAir Turboprop, and a soon to start service using a Cessna Caravan seaplane.

Waiting in PPT for your next flight: If you get stuck on a later flight, take a quick 5 minute taxi to the Intercontinental for some breakfast or lunch. The taxi takes US cash, and Euro (but expect any change in French Polynesian Francs or just leave as a tip).

Charter Options:

Private Charter KingAir:

Sample Charter Fare:

09 mars 2018 ar 07.15AM LT
Papeete to Bora-Bora
Beechcraft 200
720kgs (220kgs maximum for the luggage)
Price One Way: $7200 (all taxes inclusive and the use of our VIP lounge for the passengers)

15 mars 2018 at 2.30PM LT
Bora-Bora to Papeete
Beechcraft 200
720kgs (220kgs maximum for the luggages)
Price One Way: $7200 (all taxes inclusive and the use of our VIP lounge for the passengers)

Room Tip: Choose a overwater villa with view of sunset.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Pepe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBoraBoraNui, Responsable réception at Conrad Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Ia Orana Pepe G,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review regarding your recent stay at Conrad Bora Bora Nui. We are extremely pleased to read you had an inspired experience and appreciated the exclusivity of our resort, in terms of location, installations and quality of service. We apologize regarding the inconvenience you had, and kindly be assured we already shared your feedbacks with the concerned managers in order to improve our quality of service. We are genuinely focused on our guests' experience and there is no better reward than getting such a nice comment. We thank you for the precise information regarding the installations of the Overwater Presidentila Villa, and we hope we will have the pleasure welcoming you back.
Sunny Regards
Laureen Debrosse
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Hello people. I just got back from my honeymoon of 8 nights. I am not a review writer so bear with me. I truly and honestly feel as though it is my duty to write this review. It has been eating at me since we arrived just Wednesday morning. I digress..... ANYWAYS. Basically, this is what happened: I (and I mean I here, hubby had more important things to do like work to pay for this whole thing) spent the last 8 months obsessing over which hotel to stay at in Bora Bora. I read every fricken forum about The Four Seasons, The St. Regis (OK, I really only researched The Four Seasons and The St Regis). NOT THE POINT OF THE STORY PEOPLE. Basically, to make a really long and boring story short, we decided to do 4 nights at The Four Seasons and four nights at The St. Regis. What does that have to do with The Conrad? Don't rush me!!! First four nights was magical (I'll spear you the details here ;) and then it was time to move over to The St. Regis. When I tell you that it was as if we were entering a horror movie, it is was if we were entering a horror movie. The St. Regis WAS. AWFUL. During the tour of the grounds my palms got sweaty, knees weak, arms were heavy. OK that's an Eminem song but you get the point. We ended up getting a full refund after talking to the manager even though we paid on Expedia (I was good cop- obviously). THEN- I had this "aha" moment of remembering seeing photos of the Conrad on my 8 month search. We decided to take a chance (I want you to think we are risky people but actually The Four Seasons was sold out which is hard to believe because I don't think we saw anyone else the entire stay). SO, we booked Conrad and begged/ pleaded/ demanded (none of that worked we had to pay) for a boat ride over. Upon arriving (drum roll please)..... WE WERE AMAZED. Holy cannoli, besides for the super drunk guy in the lobby telling us we had to have a photoshoot with Loronzo (eek) it was flawless. We were greeted by RODOLPH who is god's greatest gift to Bora Bora (ok maybe not greatest but he's at least top 5). He let us tour the rooms and pick our favorite. He even had our room decorated with roses and leaves which sorta looked like the outline of a vagina but I don't think that was on purpose. The next four nights were so beyond perfect, we didn't want to leave. Rodolph and Diane truly made our stay the most special honeymoon we could've asked for (and hopefully the only one but statistics state otherwise). :/. CASE IN POINT please stop reading all the dang forums and pick The Conrad. We are considering traveling to all The Conrad's around the world (jk we don't have money like that) (yet). Thank you for bearing with me through that I can finally take a breathhhhhhh.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Paige E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBoraBoraNui, Responsable réception at Conrad Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Ia Orana Paige E,
We sincerely thank you to take the time to share such a great comment regarding your recent stay at Conrad Bora Bora Nui. It is a pleasure reading you chose to try our Resort on the spot, and you have been pretty surprised by the quality of our services and equipments. Rodolphe and Diane join me to thank you for mentionning them, there is no better reward for our team than receiving such a great feedback and we thank you again !
We look forward welcoming you back and we wish you tons of Inspired Experiences at Conrad all around the world !

Island Regards
Laureen Debrosse
Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews