We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 1,280
USD 861
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 995/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 1,676
USD 1,615
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 918
USD 503
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Conrad Bora Bora(Bora Bora)
USD 1,751
USD 1,350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 878
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 1,694
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 2,052/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Heaven Island lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
USD 251
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sunset Hill Lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
USD 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 2,110
USD 1,854
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,877)
Filter reviews
2,877 results
Traveller rating
1,899
611
223
97
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,899
611
223
97
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle sanctuaryglass floorte avajean marieoverwater bungalowfishour honeymoonmain islandlarge glassthe miki miki barbeach hutthe activities desksea turtlespool barst regisother resortsfrench polynesia
Filter
Updating list...
1,178 - 1,183 of 2,877 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent our nine day honeymoon at Le Meridien, and loved it. We stayed in a premium overwater bungalow (#337), which was just beautiful. In particular we loved the comfortable bed, the slatted windows next to the deep soaking tub (a bath with a view of of the aqua lagoon and Mt. Otemanu is quite a treat), the huge glass panels in the floor, and the nice deck (there was a big enough overhang from the roof to sit out there even in the rain, which was lovely).

We did two paid excursions: the Reef Discovery tour with Christophe (was recommended by our travel agent and we’d highly recommend – they use small boats so it is only 8 people which is smaller than most other boats we saw), and the 4x4 island tour (interesting to learn more about the island, but I’m not sure we’d do it again, aside from getting a free ride to Vaitape out of it). We also used the hotel’s kayaks to explore a bit, enjoyed snorkeling in the hotel’s lagoon, and found the turtle talk and feeding interesting and informative. We booked through Jackie at Custom Tahiti Travel and they arranged every last detail. It was all very smooth, with no unexpected or hidden charges.

For those who complain about the cost of airport-resort transfer, definitely ask your travel agent about this before booking. Jackie assured us that all transfers were included with our package, and she also let us know that tips are not expected, so we didn’t tip at all at meals. Considering that, most food prices were comparable to a major metro region in the US (the $80pp buffet dinner being an exception – though I am not sure why anyone would choose that given that a la carte was an option).

Regarding the comments about wifi and internet connections: My idea of a honeymoon doesn’t include email! BB is one of the most gorgeous places on earth. I am amazed that so many seem to want to remain “connected” in such a locale. We used the computer room twice during our nine night stay, and it worked just fine to send a quick email letting family know we’d arrived safely.

Food & Drink: After our 4x4 Jeep tour we asked the driver to drop us at the main town to buy some groceries instead of back at the dock. This saved us half the expensive taxi fare ($35USD instead of $70) and allowed us to buy some groceries for meals and snacks. We also got to eat lunch at the Aloe Café, which makes a delicious tuna tartare ($18USD for a lot of tuna and a side salad or fries). Try it if you get the chance! We also brought some snacks with us from the US, as well as a bottle of gin from LAX for cocktails at sunset on the deck. Heavenly!

Our breakfasts were included with our package, and quite enjoyable. The buffet includes a wide variety of fresh fruit, real hot chocolate (the kind that is hard to find in the US), excellent French toast, made-to-order omelettes, yogurt, fresh pastries, etc., even miso soup and fish for the Asian guests. For lunch we tried the pool bar sandwiches (about $20USD but tasty, and big enough to split between the two of us, since they came with fries), room service (burger fries was quite good, pasta not so much), the Te Ava restaurant ($18USD pizzas were okay; entrees good but not as cheap), Aloe Café (see above) and snacks we bought at Chin Lee’s supermarket in Vaitape.

For dinner we went to Bloody Mary’s once, but otherwise ate at Le Meridien (room service or a la carte restaurant). Unlike a previous poster, we didn’t feel rushed at all at Bloody Mary’s; we thought it was good, fresh fish and reasonably priced (I think my tuna, including salad, vegetables, and a large piece of tuna, was $35USD; mahi-mahi was $30USD and there were some cheaper options as well). We would have tried other restaurants on the main island, but they only pick up from the 6:30pm ferry and return to for the 9:30pm ferry, which felt quite late to us, given that it gets dark at 6:30pm and we were waking up about 6:30am with the sun.

Ah, to live the island life again and have such a relaxed schedule!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank urbanspelunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The overall experience at Le Meridien Bora Bora was wonderful. The resort is beautifully laid out and impeccably groomed. The overwater bungalows are charming and the thrill of stepping out of your room into the aquamarine lagoon and luxuriating in warm tropical water cannot be underestimated. The resort facilities are great and most of them cost extra. The kayaking and snorkeling are no additional charge and there is an on-site turtle conservancy which is quite interesting to see. The food at the restaurant is solid, but it would be worthwhile considering some meals on the "main island" of Bora Bora to introduce some variety. The dinner is an entire evening with boat and van transportation in both directions.

The Le Meridien is not cheap. But the degree of sheer luxury and comfort makes it quite worthwhile. You are not going to solve the world's problems at this remote and improbably resort. But you just might forget about them for a week or so. The staff is uniformly friendly and the level of service is consistent and high. There is a fair amount of singing and music at the resort, but aside from the dramatic view of Mt. Otemanu, you could be just about anywhere. Internet access was not free, but it was reasonably robust (though for one day, it was completely broken).

Room Tip: If you want an overwater bungalow in a shallow area, the ones closest to the island are best. There is decent privacy and sound separation, but none of the rooms is truly isolated. The overwater feature is lovely and you really can see fish swim beneath your feet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the Le Meridien Bora Bora for 6 nights on the final leg of our honeymoon. Bora Bora and the hotel are probably the most beautiful places we have ever been. The water is spectacular.

The grounds are lovely, there are two infinity pools (a little small - can get crowded), two lagoons for swimming, and two docks with over water bungalows. There are also a few beach bungalows that actually looked very nice, a couple had plunge pools I think.

We stayed in a Premium Overwater Bungalow (329) that had a great view of the mountain on Bora Bora. I think the view and maybe the deck chairs are the only difference between the Premium Overwater Bungalow and the next step down. The rooms were great, the bed was very comfortable and the towels were fluffy. The glass bottom floor was amazing, you could see the most fish at night - very neat. I loved the deck with spiral staircase down to the water. The water was very deep under our bungalow so we could jump off and float around in the water when we got too hot. I really liked the bathtub - nice leaver windows to the lovely view of outside.

The housekeeping and turn down service were great. We didn't get complimentary water everyday not sure if we were supposed to? The WIFI is not free, but there are free computers that you can use - internet was spotty. There were a couple short periods where the power at the hotel went out, not sure how common this is but it seemed to back up in running in 15 minutes.

Everything was beautiful and the staff are very, friendly but I found the food service style quite different to North America. I don't think it was rude, just different - they just left you alone to eat your meal (no checking on you, refilling wine, you have to get their attention to get your check etc…) The food was very very expensive and there wasn't a lot of options considering that you are stuck there unless you take a boat to the main island or another hotel. The restaurants had weird hours and there wasn't very much variety and it was very expensive. The buffet breakfasts were about $50CAD and that is your only option or room service. The food was fine, not outstanding but I got tired of it. The buffet dinners are about $100 but there is also an a la carte dinner menu. The cocktails were delicious (expensive) the French wine was not bad priced probably cheaper here in Bora Bora than in Canada. The a la carte deserts were AMAZING and worth the price!

The hotel has lots of free activities: kayaks, snorkels, bocce, misc. sport and game rentals, a great Tahtitian show on Tuesday and Friday nights (highly recommend), turtle feeding everyday in their turtle rescue centre (very interesting), stocked inner lagoon with lots of fish to see etc…

The hotel boat transfer is not free and on our trip back to the airport it was delayed 45 minutes waiting for some late people - which did not cap off our week nicely. We are paying for the service so why are we waiting around for late people?! Also the boat said max 12 but there was 16 people on it.

Tip: the best deal going is the Hinano's in your mini bar, there are two and they will replace them each day. They were 400XPF, everywhere else 650XPF.

Tip: Bora Bora is actually as expensive as everyone claims. I wish we had been prepared and brought some snacks and water or gone to the main town one day to pick up some necessities so we wouldn't need to rely as much on the hotel boutique/room service/mini bar. But the taxi into town was really expensive (about $80CAD) so it might not have been worth it in the end.

Room Tip: If a view is important get the Premium Overwater Bungalow if not I think the next steps down have all the same features.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JTVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent 7 days and 6 nights of our honeymoon in this beautiful hotel. After 4 flights and long stopovers and 2 days traveling from home, the hotel was perfect for relaxing. Its location is great, in the right side of the island, where the best hotels are located.
Our water-bungalow was amazing and we had the luck it was facing north, so we had sun in the balcony all day.
Most of the staff is very kind, though some are a bit tip-hunters.
Breakfast is great. For lunch we twice tried the restaurant for pizza and salad but the pool bar is better and cheaper.
The dinner buffet is about 70 eur/pp and a rip-off, though we didn't try it, but it was always mostly empty. We ate 3 nights at the "A la carte" restaurant (very good), went to Bloody Mary's (very good - try the tuna), Kaina Hut (average) and St James (good).
No free wifi. The hotel has an internet room which is, for sure, the slowest internet ever.
I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at Le Meridien for our honeymoon from 5/8/12 - 5/18/12.

ARRIVAL: Upon arrival at the airport there was a hotel staff there waiting and directing us where to go. She was very friendly and nice. We took a boat from the airport to our hotel which was pretty cool! Upon arrival to the hotel we were provided with tasty tropical drinks and given a brief tour of the hotel. It was too early to check in so they provided a room to change in so you didn't have to miss out on any beach time. Check-in was an easy process and we were driven to our room.

ROOM: The room was AMAZING!! The portion of the floor that was glass bottom was bigger than I was expecting and the view from the balcony was stunning! The only problem we had was that our hot water heater broke but we were provided with another room for the night and the problem was fixed quickly the next day (we opted to keep our original room despite this problem because it had a much better location and view than the alternative room).

FOOD: BREAKFAST: The buffet breakfast was included in our package and overall we were content with it. Don't expect anything amazing here but we certainly did eat well each morning.

LUNCH: The lunch options are OK. Te Ava is poolside restaurant that you can sit down with your toes in the sand and eat... our experience of this was just OK. As an alternative, there are a few sandwich options from the pool bar which was what we ended up doing almost every day. It's quicker and you don't ever have to leave your lounge chair other than to order and pick up the food.

The dinner buffet is NOT WORTH IT it's over $200 USD for a couple and is very small and our experience of it was not good. The Ala Carte dinner was a 50/50 split. I really enjoyed my meal (Mahi Mahi) but my husband did not enjoy his... we both agreed however that it was a better than the buffet. We spent 6 of our nights eating at hotels on the main island and would highly recommend doing the same. You make a reservation for the restaurant with the activities desk and then you take a boat from the hotel at 6:30pm and a taxi picks you up complimentary from the restaurant of your choosing. The food in Bora Bora across the board was pretty bad, this was really our only complaint. I don't know if we have unrealistically high standards because we are from NY but we did expect better of the food situation.

ACTIVITIES: Le Meridien offers snorkels, kayaks, and other water equipment that you can use for free whenever you want which was fun. The guys in the hut where the material is were SO NICE.. probably the nicest people we met on the island. My husband found a coconut at random and they helped him open it and explained why it was no good and then gave us a coconut of theirs which they helped us open and let us keep. They do a coconut opening class every couple of days which I would recommend because the coconut is delicious!! Snorkeling in the lagoon is a pretty neat experience because there is actually a lot of coral and fish and even a little octopus in there! There is a turtle conservatory where you can watch the turtles be fed and learn about them every morning at 10:30 which we also enjoyed. We got to see a turtle be released back to the ocean which was a unique and uncommon experience. We got massages at the Spa which we really enjoyed as well (make sure you do it early in the trip to avoid a massage with sunburn!!) We did 2 excursions... one was a 4x4 Jeep Safari tour of the island which we really enjoyed and the other was the shark and ray feeding which was an AWESOME experience. I am petrified of sharks and still found it very cool and not scary so don't let fear convince you against this excursion because you'd really be missing out.

OVERALL we were very pleased with our trip and with Le Meridien. Hands down the best view in Bora Bora is from Le Meridien, the rooms were amazing, the island is amazing.. the food is not amazing but we LOVED this trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews