We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
530
422
235
143
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
422
235
143
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island hurricane bar main island overwater bungalow our honeymoon fish coral gardens local market french polynesia small market romantic dinner grocery store breakfast and dinner snorkel gear boat shuttle macaroons infinity pool
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I have to mention Zophia. She was like our personal concierge, taking care of every request from planning excursions to room upgrades and everything in between. She provided a very personal and memorable experience.

We started off with a beach bungalow. This was great with a view of the private motu. The room was very spacious, clean and even came with an anole or lizard (our host to welcome and protect us from mosquitoes. There's a place to rinse off the sand before getting into the room. I appreciated the short walk from our room to the beach to the dock to the restaurant. The layout feels personal and private while not isolated. The beach is nice and good for snorkeling from the room.

Then there was the private motu. I learned that this is its own resort apart from the main part. Instantly, my wife and I wondered why we didn't just stay here the entire time. It's adults only-not that it was an issue the the main resort. When you stay here the shuttle between the main resort and the private island is included in price of your private island stay and as often as you need.

The private motu overwater bungalow was amazing! To emphasized, this is the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Private Island, not the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort. My wife loved the amenities and knowing that we would have real privacy. I loved that all I had to do was walk down our own personal stairs from our balcony and find myself in 2 feet of crystal clear water. We would snorkel from our room, underneath the bungalows and up to the reception dock. We were visited by grey and eagle rays. By the beach at the reception, you'll be surrounded by hundreds of hungry butterflyfish and the beach by the dock is apparently a baby black tip sanctuary where the babies live until they get big enough to hang out with the big fish. Nothing to fear there. The restaurant and staff were great, but if you chose to go to some other restaurants, some will pick you up and drop you off from the resort. A quick paddle to the back side of the motu will lead you to the coral garden. You can save little by doing this on your own. Its a 10 minute leisure paddle from the dock, or you can take the EcoTour. This was recommended and I would strongly agree. If you only do one excursion, it should be the EcoTour.

What an amazing resort among one of the most beautiful places in the world. To top it off, the private island has a small peak where you can watch the sun set over Matira Beach. Worth noting, the sun sets quickly there so you might miss it if you're not early.

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank JAbello937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for taking time to share with us such a memorable experience ! We are very delighted that you had a wonderful stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort and Private Island. Thank you for mentionning Zophia, she is very happy and proud thanks to the feedback of your comment. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The location of the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is among the best on Bora Bora island, the room on the water are spacious good view on the lagoon and the ocean in the back drop.
swim strait in the natural aquarium under the bungalow full of colorful fishes.
The staff of the hotel made our stay something special to remember.
we were in paradise on earth.
Dot not miss the eco tour excursion swim with friendly sharks and sting rays all in a relax polinaisienne ambiance.
Breakfast and dinner are excellent . If you fill to know more about the seafood available on the island or to test Pearl Meat ask the super friendly executive chef of the hotel Mr Jacques. Him and is time in the kitchen spoiled us.
On the Friday night we ad a very special romantic dinner on the Motu Sofitel Private Island. 10 out of 10 for the food,service and romance.
The Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is a super 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 54 and 55 great view
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Iaorana and thank you for your visit at sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort. Our Ambassadors are very proud and delighted thanks to the feedback of your comment. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mauruuru and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Bora Bora is a perfect location, turquoise seas, coral and tropical fish and sandy beaches and the Sofitel Marara Beach is an affordable hotel compared to others on the island to be able to enjoy these. We were stretched financially to be able to visit here and couldn't afford the very expensive trips out but still had a wonderful time. The breakfast was as good as any 5 star hotel and kept us going all day. There is a supermarket just down the road (turn left out the main entrance) and we filled the fridge in our delightful garden bungalow with drinks from there. We caught the shuttle bus (chargeable £10 each) to Vaitape for the 2 hours allowed and had a good look around there and walked out in both directions from the hotel which took us to public beaches and past other restaurants. The beach is beautiful and unspoilt so there is no need to go elsewhere. The wifi worked perfectly when there were few people in the hotel but crashed all the time during the busy weekend we were there when they had a band from Tahiti playing and all the locals attended - great for people watching. There is a charge to go over to the island Sofitel resort which isn't reported in the books on the area so we didn't go there but felt rather left out as another couple we were talking to had been invited to look around free of charge. We were also not told that all the outside restaurants offered a free collection shuttle service bookable at reception so we used this on the last night and had a lovely meal at the Yacht Club. The staff we came across were lovely and friendly and when we had a cleaning problem with the room, they sorted it out and recompensed us. One last tip, the hotel advertise that the only way to get to the hotel is via their expensive boat shuttle service but this isn't true, you can catch the free Air Tahiti shuttle boat to Vaitape and get a taxi to and from there. Just in case you are on a budget like us. But it is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: The garden bungalows were as lovely as the over water bungalows in our opinion and much cheaper.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolinexxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are very delighted that you had a "Magnifique séjour " at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort. Thanks again and come back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Great location (but no sunset views), beautiful beachside bungalows with the sand just a few steps outside your door.

One caveat .... The wifi is lame, not sure if this is the case all across the island or just Sofitel, they advertise high speed wifi but's it's not, constantly get kicked off, they either need to upgrade their tech or change their advertising

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront bungalow, the porch overlooks the water just a few steps from the sand.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us ! We are very delighted that you had a "Wonderful retreat " in our resort. The beach front Bungalow is a unique place to enjoy magnifique panoramic views and the private white sand beach. We want to apologize for the wifi connection problem, at that time the whole Island of Bora Bora had a bad wifi signal due to a main problem in Tahiti. We offer of course a high speed wifi connection to all of our guests. Tahnk you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon ! Mauruur maitai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Our stay did not begin so well. We had asked for a bungalow away from the restaurant. When we arrived, in front of the restaurant was exactly where they put us. The staff worked quickly to move us, but we did wait an additional hour and a half for our new room to be cleaned.

That night the gate to our bungalow was broken and we were locked out in the middle of the night. We figured out a way in only to find the card key to our bungalow door did not work either.

The experience was not perfect, but it was a great reminder that not everything always is or even should be. We laughed a lot and still do when we think about our creative solutions to our lockouts.

Here's the kicker. We never once had cause to dislike this staff, their motives or intentions. We had a wonderful time with the staff, who genuinely cared about our experience.

A few people that we would like to highlight are Pipi, Haka, and Peggy. Pipi was right, island people are different and they underscored all of the ways that statement is a hundred percent correct. Peggy, Pipi and Haka made us smile or laugh every day! Thanks to the three of them for their kindness and genuine friendliness. They work hard and it did not go unnoticed.

Two other people that made all of the difference were the two interns. Mograine from France and Sofia from Australia, who were in their own way exploring a new part of the world as they complete their studies. Their understanding of customer service will certainly propel their careers to the highest ranks.

We stayed in a couple of locations on the island and we would say that this resort was the best of the experiences. The food was excellent. We especially enjoyed breakfast time as Pipi, Haka and Peggy made us feel so welcome we felt we were having breakfast with them.

We stayed in bungalow 63, which we recommend for its views and privacy. We were able to sunbathe at our discretion right on our private deck. We also paddled our kayak right to our bungalow's deck and explored the island at our leisure.

We enjoyed our couple's massage on the terrace over on the private island. We kayaked and did snorkel about the island. We biked and jet-skied. We rented a solar powered two seater vehicle to tour the island.

How could our experience have been improved? I would say that management should have taken an interest in our predicaments. Unfortunately, management never reached out for our feedback or to remedy our situation with a personal touch. At one point, the manager was sitting three feet away from us and never approached us about our experience.

The Polynesian performances would be enhanced if we were given explanations of the origin, era and meaning of the songs. The Polynesian culture is so beautiful and it would help the audience connect with the performers.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Iaorana from Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique stay in our Resort. Our Ambassadors ( especially Pipi, Peggy and Haka ) are very happy and proud thanks to the feedback of your revue. We also took in consideration the points you have highlighted in your comment, and give us the opportunity to improve our guests' experience immediately. Thanks again and best regards from all the team of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort. Mauruuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews