We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the Black Pearl!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Maeva! Welcome to The Black Pearl! Our brand new living room. A craftsman's dream.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Maeva! Welcome to The Black Pearl!
Our brand new living room. A craftsman's dream.
A craftsman's dream!
Enjoy the view of the lagoon from the living room.
Every detail is inspiring.
Our brand new state of the art kitchen!
The perfect place to cook a meal!
All appliances are state of the art!
A beautiful CA-King sized bed, facing the lagoon!
Reading lights, art, views of the lagoon. A place to read or to dream!
The bedroom has a beautiful sitting area too.
Granite and marble accent our beautiful bathroom. A walk in shower, bathtub and washing machine!
Bubble bath, anyone?
Our huge lanai has a dining area, new gas barbecue and comfy lounge chairs!
Time for breakfast.
The view from our steps that lead to our private dock and sunning area.
The perfect place to read, take a nap or jump in the lagoon!
After your dip, an outdoor shower, surrounded by Bora Bora's heavenly lagoon.
The sun sets right in front of the bungalow.
The view from The Black Pearl living room!
Rush Hour at our bungalow!
Don't forget to see the traditional Tahitian Dances!
Sunset at The Black Pearl!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bora Bora, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alwayz_on...
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Loved the Black Pearl!”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 8 nights at the Black Pearl.
This beautiful overwater bungalow is well equipped with a nice kitchen, comfortable bed, large bathroom and shower, and a huge deck with BBQ grill.
We enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling, feeding the fish, and watching the boats go by every day.
We brought snorkels/masks and a raft with us, however, really did not need to . . . this rental had a tub on the deck filled with miscellaneous snorkel equipment, fins, rafts, life jackets, etc.
We made frequent stops at Chin Lee’s and Super U for supplies. We brought a reusable grocery bag from home because we had read they charge for them.
The French bread is delicious and inexpensive . . . but beware they charge for the bread bags.
Beer bottles have a deposit so return them to the store for money.
Buy liquor at the duty free . . . it is very expensive in French Polynesia.
We were able to get a great deal on a rental car from Europcar (right by the ferry). We paid XPF 30, 115 ($290 US) for 8 days for a Duster which is a lot larger than normal rentals on the islands. Driving around Bora Bora is slow and easy . . . just watch out for crabs crossing the road at night.
We enjoyed dining out at Mai Kai Marina, Snack Matira, The Lucky House, and Bloody Mary’s. We did not enjoy our experience at Bora Bora Yacht Club. We also enjoyed grilling delicious steaks and fish from Chin Lee’s at the bungalow a couple nights.
We did a full day snorkeling trip with Lagoon Services Bora Bora that included 3 stops including one with stingrays and another with black tip and lemon sharks as well as lunch on a private motu. They picked us up by boat at the Black Pearl dock . . . it was an amazing day.
Suggestions to improve the Black Pearl:
Beach towels and portable beach chairs that could be used on the lower dock or at the beach would be a nice addition to this rental.
A new blender. The current one is of poor quality and leaks.
Have the cleaning crew check under the bed . . . we found a small plastic bag and debris from the previous renters.
Make sure the windows are locked. We discovered several days into the trip that the windows along the walkway were unlocked . . . this could be a security issue.
We did have some “visitors” . . . a few geckos, cockroaches and a small worm type thing.

We loved our stay at the Black Pearl and would recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
I am truly surprised that you gave us a 4 star review. It sounds like you had a great time in The Black Pearl. The entire bungalow was remodeled last year. It is our home when we are there and we are extremely proud of the value we offer for the price. To find anything near the quality of The Black Pearl you would need to pay thousands of dollars a day. The cleaning was taken care of by Nir our manager when you mentioned it. I have already requested he buy a new blender. There are large towels in the bungalow. We don't like to spray too often for bugs and because you are in the tropics, that is hard to control, but we do out best. You failed to mention that you used your points with Euro-car and that is why you received that rate. Nir has three late model cars for our clients only and offers the lowest rates on the island. I, as owner have nothing to do with the rental cars. Again, I am sorry you felt the need to give us 4 stars instead of 5, I truly believe it was unwarranted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHEL V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL time.”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My new husband and I spent our honeymoon here and the entire booking process, time at the rental, the country and vacation was effortless. A wonderful time and completely remarkable. Thank you Richard,Nir and Ron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Hi Rachel! Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our best!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brissotra...
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A luxury stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The Black Pearl is a beautifully appointed overwater bungalow. It has everything you need inside and is extremely clean, comfortable and private. Sitting on the deck in the afternoon watching the sunset is so relaxing. There is a large flat screen TV but be aware the instructions provided are out of date and it is near impossible to operate. We only needed it because we had a couple of days of rain but fortunately we are able to get it fixed through Nir, the property manager. He makes the whole process of arriving/departing in Bora-Bora and getting to Black Pearl so easy. He can rent you a car at a reasonable rate and provides you with a mobile phone that you can contact him. This is one of the best parts of Nir’s service as English is not spoken widely and he is very useful to make dinner reservations for you at restaurants (a must). Only downside was the distance from restaurants and convenience stores etc and you definitely need a car. After several days the driving wears a bit thin. If you go for a walk along the road from Back Pearl, carry a few rocks. There are some aggressive mongrel dogs that can give you a hard time but can be scared off. Try shopping at Chin Lee's we found that the best place. The Yacht Club had good food (better than the marina) but the best on Bora Bora was Snack Bar Otoamana near the Intercontinental. Bloody Marys was OK but may be a bit past it’s prime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K
Mtn. Home, AR
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wonderful over water bungalo on the most beautiful island in the world”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
5
people found this review helpful

The Black Pearl is a beautiful, well-maintained and well-equipped over water bungalow. We were very pleased with our stay here and highly recommend it to others considering a trip to Bora Bora.
Having owned waterfront properties in Kauai and Florida, we are familiar with the maintenance challenges created by salt water environments. The owners are obviously dedicated to keeping this home well maintained. Although the home is not new, the appliances, furnishings, painted surfaces & electronics are all functional, fresh and new looking. The decorating scheme is peaceful, welcoming and appropriate for this beautiful island setting.
Their on-Island property manager, Nir, was very friendly and likable. Prior to our arrival, he quickly responded to each of our emails explaining the details of where we would meet him after our arrival on Bora Bora. He met us on the dock-on time-with a rental car and a big sincere smile. He gave us a loaner cell phone with his phone number, explaining that we should feel free to call him in case of emergency or if we needed help or answers to questions. Having Nir's availability was very comforting since English speakers are not always easily found.
While on island, we observed there are two general categories of tourists:
1) Those who feel uncomfortable without direct input from tour guides & activity managers for events/sites to see.
2) Those who consider themselves more independent & adventuresome, who prefer going their own way and exploring without a lot of input and scheduling. The Black Pearl is a perfect choice for this latter category of traveler. Its location on the north end of the island is not only beautiful, but very secluded & quiet. The few people we encountered were mostly natives (who were sweet, friendly & welcoming) with a smattering of other "category 2" tourists.
The car rental (we obtained from Nir) is a necessity, since town is a 12-15 minute drive to the south. Each day we cruised around the island enjoying the beauty. We would include a meal at one of the excellent restaurants and a shopping trip to Chin Lee's or SUPER U for our evening sashimi/sushi/beverages.
The worst thing about staying at the Black Pearl in Bora-Bora was... having to leave-we miss it already. What a lovely life experience this past two weeks has been!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
5
people found this review helpful

My husband and I chose Bora Bora for our 20th wedding anniversary vacation. We chose The Black Pearl because we love larger spaces and good values. We could not have been happier. There is so much usable space, both indoor and outdoor. The shower is fabulous! Hot water and fantastic water pressure, something we don't always get in the Caribbean. We enjoyed lying in the loungers in the shade with the wind keeping us cool. The snorkeling off the deck was great fun, and watching all the boat traffic was entertaining. The best snorkeling, by far, was the Romantic Tour we took out to swim with the sharks and feed the rays. We were lucky enough to jump in with a Manta ray too! We spent most mornings on Mateira Beach, which you drive too, it's a beautiful spot. You absolutely need a car and the manager Nir rented one to us. He met us at the shuttle boat, gave us the keys to the villa, we dropped him back at his house and we were off on our own. The whole process probably took 20 minutes. Nir was incredibly helpful and was available and willing to make any reservations we needed, including a day trip to a Motu where lunch was included. I recommend that as well. We visited Bloody Mary's and the MaiKai Marina and the Bora Bora Yacht club and one of the resorts casual restaurants for dinner. The food on Bora Bora is not why you visit. The Tuna Sashimi was usually good, most of the fish dishes were pretty good, the beef and chicken were hit or miss, but none of it was great. The pizza I had at the resort (think it was the Intercontinental) was good. We also did a food truck for lunch one day and a snack place in town. The snack shacks on Mateira were ok too. We would definitely stay here again , if we were to make it back to that island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing