We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Place”
other travellers have booked this property
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Maeva! Welcome to The Black Pearl! Our brand new living room. A craftsman's dream.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Black Pearl! Our 5 Star Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora!
Maeva! Welcome to The Black Pearl!
Our brand new living room. A craftsman's dream.
A craftsman's dream!
Enjoy the view of the lagoon from the living room.
Every detail is inspiring.
Our brand new state of the art kitchen!
The perfect place to cook a meal!
All appliances are state of the art!
A beautiful CA-King sized bed, facing the lagoon!
Reading lights, art, views of the lagoon. A place to read or to dream!
The bedroom has a beautiful sitting area too.
Granite and marble accent our beautiful bathroom. A walk in shower, bathtub and washing machine!
Bubble bath, anyone?
Our huge lanai has a dining area, new gas barbecue and comfy lounge chairs!
Time for breakfast.
The view from our steps that lead to our private dock and sunning area.
The perfect place to read, take a nap or jump in the lagoon!
After your dip, an outdoor shower, surrounded by Bora Bora's heavenly lagoon.
The sun sets right in front of the bungalow.
The view from The Black Pearl living room!
Rush Hour at our bungalow!
Don't forget to see the traditional Tahitian Dances!
Sunset at The Black Pearl!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bora Bora, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
seaya441
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
12
people found this review helpful

The property has been recently updated and is in great shape the location is ideal a car is a must. You can snorkel from the dock ladder and there is a fair amount of tropical reef fish along with coral heads present. However I would never visit Bora Bora again as I am very much a animal lover and the dogs on the Island are very poorly cared for many stray's starving to death, pregnant females with puppies starving and when confined to yards many have chains around there neck on 3 foot leashes. Amazing how the resorts only show you what they want you to see...Property is great but just don't drive around and see the animals....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waters
Liked least: Animal abuse
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radaNZ
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“7 night stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
8
people found this review helpful

When planning our trip to Bora Bora, I read many reviews talking about the high cost of accommodation and eating out in Bora Bora and the dangers of being trapped in a big resort and the associated costs they charge. After finding some reviews recommending the advantages of private rentals we inquired about renting the Black Pearl. Richard the owner, responded to our inquiries straight away and was a pleasure to deal with. We had to pay in full, in advance, for the whole stay but everything was as promised and more.

We stayed in the last week of January 2016., and the overwater Bungalow had just been fully renovated prior to our stay and a new kitchen with modern appliances installed. The Black Pearl is promoted as five star and we could not find fault; after a long day of activities it was great to come home to a very comfortable and quiet bungalow and relax on the private balcony on the water. For one snorkeling trip we arranged to be picked up at our private jetty, a first for us.

We were met on arrival by Nir, who is the local contact and we had arranged to hire a car from Nir for our whole 7-night stay. In our opinion hiring a car is a must, as it allows you freedom to travel around the island and the Bungalow is 10-minutes travel from the centre of town.

We had a great time in Bora Bora and staying at the Black Pearl was a big part of that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Taber, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walking into a Dream”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
12
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at The Black Pearl Over Water Bungalow in Bora Bora. It was absolutely the best choice for us. The renting process was made very easy by Richard. Every emailed question I had prior to our trip was answered quickly, usually within minutes, literally.
A cell phone was provided for us while we were there, which allowed us to make local calls and to contact Stephan ( Nir's substitute while he was out to town) should we have any concerns or questions. On arrival, we picked up our car, a process made very easy by Nir, drove to the condo, dropped our bags off, checked what the kitchen had in the way of staples and then returned to Vaitape to grocery shop ( at Chin Lee's).
The condo itself is exactly as advertised. For months I had been dreaming about and studying the photos on the website. Opening up the door was almost like walking into those photos, walking into the dream. What can't be captured by photos, or even imagined in the dream, is the experience of sliding open the glass doors onto the covered deck, stepping out, leaning on the rail with a beer in hand and gazing out onto the pristine lagoon and knowing that for a short time, this was all ours. It was our home away from home, and for the next 11 days we felt truly privileged to be able to experience Bora Bora. After a busy day, it was lovely to come "home" and relax, take a dip off our own deck, kayak slowly along the shore, come in and shower, watch the sunset, share a cocktail and prepare and eat meals at our leisure. A wonderful place to return to but also perfect if you decide to stay put for a day, or two, or three and just "be".

Suggestions: A car is absolutely essential and renting from Nir made that process very easy. Take half of the clothes you think you will need. You'll be glad of the extra baggage space for all the souvenirs and gifts you'll want to bring back with you. The condo has a clothes washer, so pack a small ziplock bag of detergent pods. We brought our own binoculars but I think there were binoculars already there. There is so much to see just sitting on the deck, and the binoculars were a great asset to that viewing. The only English TV channels we could find was CNN. You're not going to care about TV during the day but you might after sunset, which comes at about 6 pm. There is a DVD player with some movies there, but we had downloaded some rental movies through the iTunes Store before we traveled. The WiFi works fine, but to download a movie took over 24 hours on my Ipad while there.

Bora Bora was a place that my husband and I had dreamed of visiting for years. Being there was truly a dream come true.. It was hard to say good bye. The Black Pearl Over the Water Bungalow was a large part of what made our trip absolutely wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exploring and then coming
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bumbie
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect rental”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

I am reluctant to say how wonderful Black Pearl is, lest next time we want to stay here it will be fully booked. As frequent vacation home renters, I can say that everything about the house worked - all kitchen facilities, clothes washer, floor plan, outdoor spaces, etc. Bed and all furniture were very comfortable. Internet/wifi worked well, with multiple devices connected at same time. Richard (owner) and Nir (manager) were a pleasure to deal with, prior to and during the rental - flexible, knowledgeable, and helpful.

But I cannot begin to describe how special the location is. We had glorious sunsets each evening from the deck, after which we lay on the water deck and watched about 1.5 gazillion stars. During the day, the lagoon view is spectacular. Snorkeling and swimming couldn't have been easier. We never did try the kayaks, but saw many people kayak or canoe past us each day.

Don't be put off by Bora Bora's reputation for expensive food. We found wonderful, very fresh fish at the Super U and cooked it almost every day. It cost a fraction of what we pay in the States. It was fun to prepare meals and eat them out on the deck. Restaurants were almost a burden.

Car rental could not have gone more smoothly - be sure to do this through Nir rather than an agency.

In short, this was one of the most special ten days of our very long lives. We look forward longingly to our return here, though it am writing this on the outdoor deck on our last day of the rental. Do not even CONSIDER a hotel, compared to Black Pearl.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHYBOY201...
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN BORA BORA... NO BRAG; JUST FACT”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We just came back 3 days ago. Boy are we happy that we DIDN"T stay at a hotel in an " over the water bungalow" There is NO COMPARRISON... Richard's place is huge in comparison to the typical hotel deal and you are not "trapped" at the hotel. Fully equipped kitchen... Nice nice place.. We rented a car from Nir (the manager) and really were free to enjoy the entire island. Do your grocery shopping at "Chin Lee's" and pretend you live there;instead of being a tourist. Don't miss the Peking Duck at the Chinese Restaurant. Use the travel agent that Richard suggests... Really no problems at all.

I have only great things to say about the Black Pearl. I have a friend who will rent this great place for a week next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was no
Liked least: Nothing.. As above......
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing