We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Garden Apartment is a great choice for two.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talkeetna Treetop Chalet
Ranked #13 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Lower 48
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Garden Apartment is a great choice for two.”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked the garden apartment because it offered complete privacy for one couple, unlike the chalet, which has a shared living room. It's perfect, with its own view of Denali, a full kitchen, large bath, and large living room/bedroom area. The owner was there to get us settled, told us how to reach her if we needed anythibg, and then disappeared, which is exactly what we like. Breakfast supplies were ample, the decor attractive, and the location just isolated enough from the tourist bustle of Talkeetna.

There's a nice porch, shaded from the sun by the deck above. Openings between the deck planks let the rain come through, though.

The roads leading here are winding and unpaved, but well maintained. I wouldn't want to drive here after dark, but that doesn't happen till very late in Alaska's summer.

Bottom line: a great place to "recharge"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tangible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed one night on our way back from Denali and the mountain finally appeared in the window of the b and b. we were the only ones in the chalet so were able to stretch out and do our laundry. the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. nice furnishings. everything new and clean and owners next door for questions.

Room Tip: blue room has very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westford, ma
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I've been meaning to describe the wonderful three days my family spent at the Treetop Chalet. We rented the Chalet for the two bedrooms, two baths, and the kitchen facilities. All were great and felt like we were living in luxury. Very comfortable beds were a nice surprise. All breakfast foods were fresh with plenty of milk, OJ, eggs, etc. The location being about 10 minutes drive from Talkeetna made the chalet seem isolated when it was really close to town. The view of McKinley will be spectacular if nature permits. Kate was a wonderful hostess with lots of good stories about this part of wonderful Alaska. If I'm in need of lodging in Talkeetna, I will be sure to return to the Treetop Chalet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our family stayed here while touring the Talkeetna area. You really are at the top of the trees. There is an outstanding view of Denali from the deck. The place is well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable. Had we known what we were getting we would have stayed a couple of nights instead of one. Kate, the owner, is very friendly and works to make your stay perfect. This is a very quiet and private place, great for 1 or 2 couples or families.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank terrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Talkeetna Treetop before we took a Holland America Cruise. The place was very clean and neat. Also, it was well furnished and very close to the main Talkeetna town. The views were great and we got to see Mt. McKinely from the chalet the two days that we were there. I would just not advise this place to a family who has a lot of luggage as you need to haul the luggage up a flight of steps. We had some children and therefore, that part was not a fun. Also, I wished the owner was more generous about breakfast. Although, it was make your own breakfast with breakfast supplies provided, it was not appropriate to serve stuff which is half empty. I don't like the idea of getting someone's half gallon of milk and juice and couple of pieces of bread from the owners bread bag. All in all the place was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
3.9 km away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,003 reviews
4.2 km away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
0.2 km away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#12 of 17 in Talkeetna
10 reviews
6.4 km away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
16.4 km away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Treetop Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Treetop Chalet

Property: Talkeetna Treetop Chalet
Address: Jefferson St., Talkeetna, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price range (per night): $190
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Treetop Chalet Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing