We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
31
37
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
37
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro crossing package spa pool stayed here packed lunch upstairs bedroom package deal place to stay comfortable stay definitely recommend this place enjoyed our stay old coach road walking distance to town comfy bed great hospitality cooked breakfast friendly hosts national park
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The Motel is in a good location, just a 10 - 15 minute walk into town and numerous restaurants, which we had to do as, although we would have had dinner at the motel, the owner said unfortunately this wouldn't be possible as there was insufficient food available for our (largish) party of 10 and we hadn't pre-warned him we would like to dine in. Fair enough I suppose, but we had checked the dining options on line and there was no mention that we had to pre-book, never mid, we had breakfast there and it was very good. The facilities were really nice and clean, and although it's on a fairly main road there was little traffic to keep us awake, I slept like a log. and I'm a light sleeper. We had a mixture of "executive Queen" and "mezzanine Queen" and there didn't appear to be hardly any difference, certainly not enough to justify the extra price so the mezzanine Queen would be a choice in any future stay. We loved the dog too

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here so we could do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The service and the friendly staff were excellent. Good facilities, clean tidy rooms, worth the stay. If you like dogs they have a very friendly animal called: Brody. He's a border collie, not your usual black and white one but a blond haired dog. You will tire out playing with him sooner than he will. Not very far from the towns centre, a good place to have a meal is the Clyde Hotel in the main street. If we do the other walk in the area next year, we're still getting over doing the Alpine Crossing, we will definitely stay here again.

Room tip: All are good
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvard1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We loved our stay at Tussock Grove. Our time here started off great, the host Chris was very accommodating, staying up late in order to check us in and advise us he had noted our dietary requirements that we had sent earlier.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. We had a large upstairs bedroom and a cozy downstairs lounge, perfect for relaxing. We had a cooked breakfast both mornings we were there, and both times the food was delicious and came out very quickly. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner here too, the food was restaurant quality and delicious.

Our host Chris was amazing! Very friendly, genuine and willing to help. We were originally staying there as part of their "Tongariro Crossing Package" but due to injuries, we were unable to do the crossing. Chris used his excellent local knowledge to provide us with another track we could use, and was happy to drop us off at this location.

Overall it was a great stay and we would love to come back and stay again. The hospitality at this place is amazing! I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Ohakune, that's wanting a truly unique and relaxing experience.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briennarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely stop over hotel, especially if travelling from Auckland southwards. It is unusual, Our room was a mezzanine room with s balcony double bed and sofa with downstairs a shower room and seating . Plenty of room. Fresh milk for your tea and coffee too, which you can put in your fridge. Spa - yes Spa pool!! Brilliantly relaxing after the driving and open till 10pm! Very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was very good and at very reasonable prices. The owner is very friendly and helpful in making sure you have everything you need and suggestions if places to visit locally! This is a great hotel with very friendly feel and one that I would highly recommend. Book early though as they can get quite busy.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kenbattye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We got a grabone for this place to do the tongoriro crossing. Great place where the owners were very accomodating to stay up late for us to arrive from Auckland on a Friday after work. They had everything organised and ready for us including meal packs. The place is getting a bit dated but overall still quite comfortable. Spa pool was OK, the jets werent working. Would recommend the place to stay..

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews