We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
30
35
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
35
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro alpine crossing stayed here place to stay package deal definitely recommend this place enjoyed our stay old coach road great hospitality friendly hosts cooked breakfast national park chris spa bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We loved our stay at Tussock Grove. Our time here started off great, the host Chris was very accommodating, staying up late in order to check us in and advise us he had noted our dietary requirements that we had sent earlier.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. We had a large upstairs bedroom and a cozy downstairs lounge, perfect for relaxing. We had a cooked breakfast both mornings we were there, and both times the food was delicious and came out very quickly. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner here too, the food was restaurant quality and delicious.

Our host Chris was amazing! Very friendly, genuine and willing to help. We were originally staying there as part of their "Tongariro Crossing Package" but due to injuries, we were unable to do the crossing. Chris used his excellent local knowledge to provide us with another track we could use, and was happy to drop us off at this location.

Overall it was a great stay and we would love to come back and stay again. The hospitality at this place is amazing! I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Ohakune, that's wanting a truly unique and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briennarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely stop over hotel, especially if travelling from Auckland southwards. It is unusual, Our room was a mezzanine room with s balcony double bed and sofa with downstairs a shower room and seating . Plenty of room. Fresh milk for your tea and coffee too, which you can put in your fridge. Spa - yes Spa pool!! Brilliantly relaxing after the driving and open till 10pm! Very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was very good and at very reasonable prices. The owner is very friendly and helpful in making sure you have everything you need and suggestions if places to visit locally! This is a great hotel with very friendly feel and one that I would highly recommend. Book early though as they can get quite busy.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 214kenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We got a grabone for this place to do the tongoriro crossing. Great place where the owners were very accomodating to stay up late for us to arrive from Auckland on a Friday after work. They had everything organised and ready for us including meal packs. The place is getting a bit dated but overall still quite comfortable. Spa pool was OK, the jets werent working. Would recommend the place to stay..

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The hosts are very friendly and always willing to help. The room is very comfortable, so also the bed. Nice mail made by the owners and a very nice Spa pool. The only minus is that it is a litte bit noisy, you can hear the neigbours in the room beside you.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very traditional lodge. Friendly welcome. Good location close to town shops and bars. Room was strange. Half lounge downstairs that was hard to use for anything. Good for storage if skiing I guess. My title sums it up.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank craighanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews