We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed here so we could do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The service and the friendly staff were excellent. Good facilities, clean tidy rooms, worth the stay. If you like dogs they have a very friendly animal called: Brody. He's a border collie, not your usual black and white one but a blond haired dog. You will tire out playing with him sooner than he will. Not very far from the towns centre, a good place to have a meal is the Clyde Hotel in the main street. If we do the other walk in the area next year, we're still getting over doing the Alpine Crossing, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvard1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We loved our stay at Tussock Grove. Our time here started off great, the host Chris was very accommodating, staying up late in order to check us in and advise us he had noted our dietary requirements that we had sent earlier.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfy. We had a large upstairs bedroom and a cozy downstairs lounge, perfect for relaxing. We had a cooked breakfast both mornings we were there, and both times the food was delicious and came out very quickly. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner here too, the food was restaurant quality and delicious.

Our host Chris was amazing! Very friendly, genuine and willing to help. We were originally staying there as part of their "Tongariro Crossing Package" but due to injuries, we were unable to do the crossing. Chris used his excellent local knowledge to provide us with another track we could use, and was happy to drop us off at this location.

Overall it was a great stay and we would love to come back and stay again. The hospitality at this place is amazing! I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Ohakune, that's wanting a truly unique and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briennarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely stop over hotel, especially if travelling from Auckland southwards. It is unusual, Our room was a mezzanine room with s balcony double bed and sofa with downstairs a shower room and seating . Plenty of room. Fresh milk for your tea and coffee too, which you can put in your fridge. Spa - yes Spa pool!! Brilliantly relaxing after the driving and open till 10pm! Very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was very good and at very reasonable prices. The owner is very friendly and helpful in making sure you have everything you need and suggestions if places to visit locally! This is a great hotel with very friendly feel and one that I would highly recommend. Book early though as they can get quite busy.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 214kenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We got a grabone for this place to do the tongoriro crossing. Great place where the owners were very accomodating to stay up late for us to arrive from Auckland on a Friday after work. They had everything organised and ready for us including meal packs. The place is getting a bit dated but overall still quite comfortable. Spa pool was OK, the jets werent working. Would recommend the place to stay..

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The hosts are very friendly and always willing to help. The room is very comfortable, so also the bed. Nice mail made by the owners and a very nice Spa pool. The only minus is that it is a litte bit noisy, you can hear the neigbours in the room beside you.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herma440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
27.2 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,698 reviews
2.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
27.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
204 reviews
2 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
27.8 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $108 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing