We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Tongariro Crossing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Very hospitable host. Well organised for Tongariro Crossing groups with everything clearly detailed.
Accommodation was certainly fit for purpose, but not high class. The rooms were two levels with an internal stair which meant the layout was not as good as it could have been for the total floor area involved. Bathroom was certainly adequate but not great. Noise from the main road was a minor problem as was noise between adjacent rooms.
These negative comments should not put off those on Tongariro Crossing packages or skiers who will appreciate the availability of the drying room. The rooms were clean suitably equipped and well maintained although not modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with 2 bathrooms. It was very spacious and very well equipped with very comfortable beds and good hot water for the showers. The lighting in the living area was very poor making it hard to read, bedroom lighting was better. We appreciated being able to use the spa pool in the hotel, although this was a little tired and the jets were a bit feeble. It was a bit untidy outside the cottage with some things which needed tidying away. Chris the owner, and his lovely dog were very welcoming, we would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This hotel offers an excellent package for the Tongariro Crossing. Everything is well organised and clearly outlined to you when checking in. From there on it was plain sailing. The meals and lunch provided were very good. Chris and Christine were extremely hospitable. We appreciated the special touches, especially the spa and a selection of up to date magazines.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I booked three grab one deals for our family to stay and do the crossing. Right from the start Chris our host was very accommodating. This really is a great base for doing the crossing. Our dinner , lunch and two breakfasts were provided and enjoyed. We took advantage of using the lounge area to have a few drinks with friends. Everything was taken care of. Rooms are clean and comfortable although a little dated in decor. No complaints from us - a great stay and excellent value. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilbery50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We booked a Grab One deal with the intention of walking the Tongariro Crossing, which sadly didn't eventuate because of the weather. No matter, Chris was an excellent host and we had a great stay! Our room was perfect; well kitted out and the bed very comfortable. Had dinner with the other guests which was a nice touch. Will happily stay again. Take up the Grab One offe; it's a winner.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
27.2 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,696 reviews
2.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
27.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
204 reviews
2 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
27.8 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $108 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing