We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed 13 October 2015

A very uncomfortable bed - just cheap junk that would never have been good. No soundproofing between rooms, and the place generally feels like the sort of rubbishy construction NZ threw up in the 1990s.

A lot of traffic noise from the main road outside. The hotel is right where the traffic slows from 100 to 70 and is correspondingly noisy.

Not cheap either. It would be a poor choice at half the price and the "boutique hotel" label is utterly misleading. Not recommended.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fmfmfmfmfmfmfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015

We enjoyed our two-night stay here and would go back again for sure. Chris was a lovely personable host. Super clean and cosy room (two levels). The spa was great after a day on the mountain! Enjoyed our cooked breakfast and very tasty pizza onsite too :)

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RebeccaBecreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

spent a few days in this end of Ohakune. usually stay at the junction end so a nice change. very easy, short, flat walk to the cafes, restaurants. warm, very clean and plenty of space in the rooms. hosts Chris and christine are good company and the dog is probably the most fun loving & cute bordie collie ever. Interesting 'collectables' and antiques dotted around. watched a great DVD about the history of ski-ing on ruapehu and all the amazing people over time that have made this happen- if you stay here this is a must watch for any mountain people. the comfortable lounge has a well stocked bar ( unable to drink own beveridges here tho). Big spa (inside). Pizza availalbe in eveings and breakfasts but we went out so didnt try. Rooom had small fridge with icebox, Some plates and knives would be helpful. By the main road but did not notice road noise at all. Thankyou C & C for a comfortable stay

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kim_andrews107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Good old fashioned Cottage room with plenty of room for a large family. 2 showers, 2 toilets, washing machine and dryer, large book case with plenty of reading. Plenty of room heaters but the main bedroom could use a TV. Modern kitchen with all the mod cons plus more cupboard space and utensils than you can ever need. Just off the main highway, own car park. Will visit again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank TadvisorReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

I have to agree with an earlier reviewer regarding the owners attitude. Was all fine until we decided to check out early - then arrogant and rude. We visited for skiing but conditions were poor ie no snow and also walks were limited due to weather. Place was empty but for one other room. Charged us for two extra nights. No cancellation policy on website but apparently on sign in sheet (although not pointed out).

Beyond being charged for nights not taken - will try and be objective:

Positives: decent location, bed comfortable and rooms warm.

Negatives: Food vastly overpriced. Went to one of the best rated restaurants in Ohakune and was cheaper. Pizza was nice but for 26 dollars way too much, 8 dollars for some salad leaves. Don't do breakfast - far better places in town. Coffee bitter and pancakes with bacon was below average.

Would expect free wi Fi in these times. You have to pay for a hot spot which is limited.

Spa pool is old, luke warm and not inviting.

So combination of service and facilities - would definitely not return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Amelia785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

In response to your comments regarding your visit I would like to clear up a few points. First of all, you made a booking for a six day stay. Therefore, you entered into a contract. On day two you wished to checkout early after maybe doing a guided walk of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. This was subject to weather. The Hotel’s Cancellation Policy is very clear and on the Registration Form it states, “Early departure of stay, full cost of stay is charged.” In good faith, instead of charging the full amount for your total stay, I reduced the charge by two nights, i.e. you paid for 4 nights instead of 6.
I have checked our Website and when you make a booking on-line the Early Check Out Policy is there. However, due to your comment, I have added it to the front of the Booking Site. Thank you.
With regards to skiing and weather, -these are out of my hands. The ski field has been open (beginner’s area,) the whole week and a number of other guests have enjoyed their time up on the snow. As for the weather, -it has improved during the week, with two guests being able to do the Tongariro Crossing as a guided walk. I have to disagree regarding ‘limited walks in the area’ as there are a number of all-weather walks available.
As to some of your other points;- our menu prices are based on average prices round town. I was sorry to hear the coffee was ‘bitter.’ Had you advised me at the time, I would have re-made the coffees at no charge. The same applies to the pancakes.
As regards Wifi, -we give one hour free per day.
In conclusion, the Spa Pool temperature is set at 39C degrees which is the recommended temperature for safety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
27.2 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,732 reviews
2.3 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
27.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.3 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
204 reviews
27.8 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: $111 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing