We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have stayed in our lives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My stay was co-ordinated by Musafir Tours and was only for one night. From the moment we entered till we checked out, the staff took care of our every single need. We had booked a beach view room which was excellent - awesome decor, not a very bif room but the facilities made up for the size. (I would recommend that the hotel upgrade the TVs to flat screens).
The room service was excellent - the menu was one of the biggest and widest selection I have seen. The dinner and breakfast buffet blew us away !! The pool was unfortunately closed - so we cannot comment on that. So was the sky bar (because of rain). The private beach had umbrellas and comfortable lounging chairs - with a restaurant on the beach side which was awesome. The beach itself was not that great. The hotel also has a spa - me and my wife had mixed experiences though. (She loved it and me, not so much).

Overall we wished we stayed longer - we will definitely return when we go back to India !! This place is the definiton of luxury !!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks. We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay.

We have noted your feedback on the Pool and your experience at the Spa. It was unfortunate that the main pool was shut for annual maintainance.

We do hope to see you again and exceed your expectations in all ways.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,694 - 2,698 of 3,176 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

I had stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in the month of july. Hotel was good. service and staff was good but as compared to other 5 star hotel its not worth it. Better try Taj or some other hotel. The rooms were very small and not even properly decorated ( found much beautiful room in lower grade hotels). When we asked to upgrade our room to next level the gave some stupid reason. The main pool was closed for renovation and this was not even informed to us otherwise we cld have thougt of changing the hotel or date to travel. They had pool in near garden view room but good for nothing. Overall will never stay at Leela for sure.The bathroom products were also bad. In same price one can easily get better room in Taj for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suaveme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

It is indeed disappointing to note the contents. Some of them could have been addressed by us better. We as an organisation is driven by oice of the customer and necessary corrective steps will be taken.

We assure you of our best services and my personal attention should you choose to stay with us again. I sincerely hope we will get an chance to welcome you back.

Warm Regards
N.C.Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed in the Club for two nights in Feb. It was a winter break abroad so the hotel was packed with many non-resident Indians. The Club room was small, but very modern with an amazing ocean view. The grounds and open-air lobby were beautiful. It is a lovely downhill walk to the beach and the waves are perfect to frolic in. The Club area is intimate and has a private dining area, infinity pool, and library (which serves a complimentary afternoon tea). The food was excellent, the breakfast was delicious with many offerings as is the lunch buffet. One night we had lobster on the beach. Also, not night life as the bars close at 11 which seems a bit early. As for service, it could have been better, we had apparently had a private butler, but had little interaction with him. Room service was late in cleaning our room which was a bit annoying. Also, we had young children, but the staff at the restaurant never mentioned they had a child menu until I saw another family looking at it. It would have been much easier to order off of the child menu had we been told about it. Overall, the Leela was nice indulgence during our visit to India.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.
We have noted your feedbacks and we assure you that necessary corrective steps will be taken. We has an organization are driven by the oice of customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

i booked this star hotel for 3 days stay.i booked a beac view deluxe.
it costs more than about 6000
they recived us with a very warm welcome and they guided me to the lobby and gave us the room key in a very short time.they made it so fast and their
dealings were nice,they took our lauggages to the room.

the main attraction of kovalam leela is their constructional beauty,it spreads on a hiil valley ,and from each room we will get the view of ocean ,so we can get sunset and sunrise with a great pleasure


i have stayed in many luxaury hotels in trivandrum but the leela was tottaly different from them
the rooms were extremly clean and tidy such that we canot find not even a small bit of dirt
there.i feel the neatness is the main attraction of this hotel which is located in the middle
of trivandrum city .hte lighting arrangement was so awesome here,

the room service and laundary service was so puctual and fast.i should say about the swiming pool of this hotel or else the review wont be complete,they maintained the pool very well the food served by this hotel was so delicious and a wide variety of food stuff is avilable here.
but i felt that the airconditioning and car parcking facility is not in a level of five star hotel
and also i felt it as expensive for long stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malick4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.
We have noted your observation on the air conditioning and car parking facilities. Please be assured they would be addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was my first time to Kovalam and the Leela. I travelled for a wedding and with my family consisting of wife, mother and two young children. We had a number of requests prior to the hotel and all were taken care of beautifully and with no fuss. During the stay we had a number of needs for both the wedding and the children and all were taken care or quickly and professionally. My family were treated like friends and the warmth and hospitality we recieved was second to none. I was only able to be there for some two days as work called but we will defintely be coming back for a longer stay. Tip: Pay the extra and get a room at the Club as it is stunning! Private pool, loungfe, cafe and librabry all there for you plus the usual Club Lounge/ Executive Lounge amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your feedbacks has been a source of encouragement to my team. We do hope to see you back at The Leela Kempinski Kovalam.
Thanking you and assuring you of our best services.
Warm Regards
Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.2 km away
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
0.6 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 53 in Kovalam
1,079 reviews
1 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in Kovalam
112 reviews
1 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#27 of 53 in Kovalam
254 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 53 in Kovalam
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: AU$194 - AU$1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing