We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at 'The Club' room with a sumptuous view of the Arabian sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked 'The Club' room at this amazing property for a 3-day stay in November 2017 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Our booking consisted of some complimentary services from the hotel which were, a pickup and drop from the airport in a luxury sedan, breakfast buffet, high tea and a private butler.
As soon as we landed at the airport, we were greeted by a warm welcome from 'Saajan', our driver. It was a short drive to the hotel and we reached there in less than half an hour.
The Club rooms are located in a totally separate area of the hotel with its own infinity pool and the Cafe restaurant. The hotel staff was nice enough to accommodate our early check-in request. As we entered the reception area, we were captivated with the view of the Arabian sea. As we relaxed, the reception manager 'Hema' quickly arranged for our room and our private butler 'Arun' greeted us with a welcome drink.
We were then escorted to our room. The hotel has a modern architecture with an international spa as well. To our surprise, an anniversary cake and a bouquet of roses were waiting for us in our room. The view from our room was to die for. A vast view of the Arabian sea from a terrace with 2 sofa seats and a table. The room was spacious enough with all the amenities of a 5-star hotel. Special thanks to Arun for guiding us to local places to visit and taking care of our needs whilst being courteous and welcoming.
We explored the full property and will recommend, breakfast at The Cafe restaurant. The breakfast spread is quite large with a vast array of options but the highlight is the view while having the breakfast. 'Goken' was serving us at the breakfast table and she was really courteous. In fact, the whole staff is courteous and welcoming.
The evening sunset at the sky bar is highly recommended too. Soothing music, rooftop bar overlooking the Arabian sea with a clear sunset view is the most romantic setup. Take a walk to the Tides restaurant and enjoy the waves. On the way to the Tides restaurant, there are 2 benches placed for a perfect view of the shoreline too.
The yoga sessions and ayurvedic massage at the spa are quite relaxing and refreshing.
To summarise our stay, luxurious, refreshing and relaxing with a view to die for.
We will surely be paying a visit soon as it is hard to stay away for long.

Room Tip: Choose the Club rooms for a premium view and some premium services. Our room was 1414 which was amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Devansh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samson_Amit, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate the time and effort you have spent in articulating feedback for each area of the hotel as you experienced. I am sure that a lot of travelers will benefit from your review.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the The Club, Favourite Kerala Ayurveda & Spa, Restaurants and team and services.

Also, thank you very much for recognizing Sajjan, Hema, Arun & Goken.

While thanking you once again for your feedback, we also look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to “God’s Own Country” and to The Leela Kovalam where our philosophy is Athithi Devo Bhava – the guest is God. Also, we hope that you will recommend the hotel to your friends and relatives.

Warm regards,

Amit Samson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 3,013 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such a wonderful site in kovalam.it is near to kovalam beach.Hotel staffs are helpful and good.U definetly go to the poovar boating it is amazing.its 15 km away from leela hotel.They are providing good service in boating also.Dont be foolish because of local drivers.You can contact such a verified drivers.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bharathjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samson_Amit, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Leela Raviz Kovalam.

I really appreciate your positive feedback about our resort and services. We take pride in catering for our guests needs the best way we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Amit Samson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was the most soothing experience i had in a very long time in this hotel.
The view of the site, the luxurious service and the loving and supporting staff was cherry on top.
I was hoping for a relax session but rather it was a complete life experience and would recommend others to visit here for the same.
The staff was very supportive and always had a smile throughout my stay. Especially that one guy named Neeraj Kumar who helped me a lot and was always supportive.
Thank you for this experience and I would definitely visit here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shailendra195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samson_Amit, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Leela Raviz Kovalam.

We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleased by the overall ambiance and service of the hotel.

Thank you very much for recognizing Neeraj Kumar – he is amongst our star employees and really makes us proud.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the The Leela Raviz Kovalam.

Warm regards,

Amit Samson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Leela for 5 nights in the first week of November with our 6 year old daughter. The hotel is set high up on the cliff with nice views of the beach. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though set underground within the cliff so do feel quite dark, and there is a slight damp smell.

Staff were all kind and friendly, and willing to help in any way necessary.

There was plenty of food choice, and we enjoyed a nice meal also at the Thai restaurant set on the beach.

The pool area at first glance looks nice, but we found this to be quite dirty and needing repairs and updating. The steps to the pool were loose and unsteady. The plastic grill around the pool is also loose, and lifted, which can cause accidents. Below this grill is very dirty looking, which is off putting. There was also a piece of unidentifiable food on the bottom of the pool, which we think was dropped by a bird. Unfortunately this remained present for 3 days, despite us mentioning it to staff. Much of the tile grout is loose or missing also. Pool staff do very little. There is no complimentary water, towels just handed out on arrival, but no real attention after you are handed these. Poolside care for a hotel of this standard is poor. While not a massive issue, this area does need attention.

We went down to the beach, but found it unpleasant, dirty and un-inviting. Which did mean we spent most days around the pool, and became familiar with the problems.

The other thing to mention, which is not only about this hotel, but a common theme in India, is the slow or forgetful service in restaurants, hotels etc. Food and/or drink often takes at least 30 minutes to arrive, and is often wrong when it does arrive. Travelling with children makes this a bit of a problem so always plan to order at least 30 minutes earlier than you really want your food.




Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samson_Amit, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Leela Raviz Kovalam.

We are delighted to read that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We have noted some of your important insights regarding maintenance and services at the swimming pool area, slow service at the restaurants etc - we will definitely address the same with concerned departments who will ensure that such instances are not repeated in future. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm regards,

Amit Samson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Words are not sufficient to express the experience!
Its awesome!
We had garden view room which has a view of garden & beach ahead! It has better view than ocean view, because ocean view rooms are above the surface, so view has obstacles of trees. So, i will suggest to have garden view room!
Rooms are clean, neat & well decorated. All the required amenities were provided. Buggy facility is available to reach reception from room.
Hotel has beautiful location & maintained properly. They have their private beach.
Swimming pool is available with beautiful view!
All rooms, swimming pool, restaurant have direct ocean view!
Indoor games, outdoor games, spa & shop are available.
Restaurant is good. But North Indian food was not much tasty. South Indian food & bakery items were better!
They have Chinese & Thai food available near beach with live music!
Open, under the sky bar is available!
Different paintings & artifacts are used for decoration!
Hotel staff is very polite & supportive!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samson_Amit, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about The Garden View Rooms, Swimming Pool, Activities, Restaurants, Sky Bar and services. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivations to achieve the expectations.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you once again for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Amit Samson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.6 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,040 reviews
1 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
585 reviews
2.6 km away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $296 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing